We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home! <3”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel British House
Ranked #4 of 116 Hotels in Tbilisi
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
262 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Home away from home! <3”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Yes, it is a home away from home! The hotel is located in the city, 30-40mins drive from the airport and 10-15 minutes walk to the famous Rustaveli avenue. İ have stayed here during the EİD holidays in July, honestly İ just randomly picked a country where İ can have a refreshing vacation and thanks to this hotel as it made me feel very welcome all throughout my stay. They will make you feel as real family and yes they also think about your welfare and all. Best hotel İ have ever stayed in! İ chose to stay here with the help of this TripAdvisor and with the excellent feedback from the other guests who already experienced it and İ guess İ made the right choice. :)

The owner Mr. Shoty who always offer you something to drink like juice or tea as well as their Receptionist (Eka) who has been very friendly & helpful since the beginning when İ was just inquiring about the hotel and till İ arrived. İ have stayed for 4 days and 3 nights and they gave me the best room with balcony, very cozy room, big enough as well as the bathroom, comfortable bed and they fix my room everyday and refill amenities and change towels. The room is on the top floor using stairs, advantage for me because İ didn't mind going up and down as its an exercise too. This room cost me 70Euro per night including a free-wifi everywhere in the hotel and free BİG breakfast, depends on which time you want to have your breakfast. İ'm also very grateful to them as on my last day they allowed me to check-out late because my flight is in the night. İ asked for pick up and drop off for 20Euro per way.

They also have their Receptionist Levani, who is also the Tour Guide & Driver for hire (excellent one) if you would like too. İ tried it and for 2 days he drove me around the far but very beautiful places and temples in Georgia. İ have seen the most beautiful landscapes and greenery, the more İ fell in love with the country. :) These 2 days trip cost me 290USD and it is worth it.

Definitely, İ will stay here again and again if İ decided to come back to Georgia! :)

Room Tip: Room with a balcony is always the best part as you get to sit there to get some fresh air after a wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guzeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    57
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
60
93
67
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Nothing was too much trouble for the family owners and staff that run this hotel, even happy to organise the return to Uk of treasures we had left in the room. Our group had three rooms in the hotel. All were comfortable, clean, well furnished. The hallways and rear courtyard was crammed with plants and grape vines. A good night's sleep was easy in the large, cozy beds. Breakfast plentiful and sets you up well for the day. Water cooler in hallway which was particularly welcome very after the interesting walk up to the hotel in the recent high summer temperatures, as was the air conditioning in bedrooms and dining area. We discovered (thankfully) that the hotel has a generator. One night at around 10pm There was elec failure across the city. Unusual these days, the first in eight years. Power was restored in a few short hours. I was happy to call British House my home for the six day stay in this fascinating city.

Room Tip: We had the suite which was a large room, a smaller adjoining area that leads to bathroom. Plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cymorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My partner, my son and I together with two friends came to Tbilisi for my eldest son's wedding. After a fair amount of research on TripAdvisor and elsewhere we opted to stay at the Hotel British House.
We did not regret our choice for a single second and can only agree with the overwhelmingly positive views expressed in other reviews.
Our rooms were very large, comfortably furnished and with beds guaranteed to give you a good night's sleep. Everything was scrupulously clean. Staying at one of the hottest times of the year we were grateful for an effective air-con unit.
Breakfast is large and varied. Exercise restraint or you will put on pounds!
This is not your average hotel -- thank goodness. It is small, quiet and beautifully done out.
The staff are outstanding. They are friendly, helpful at every turn and genuinely care about you and your welfare. There are few places I can think of where, on your return after a good evening out, the owner will chat and offer you fruit and juice on the house. Even more impressive was the fact that the staff made a link between our being there for a wedding and a piece on local tv about my son and his now wife. They not only drew this to our attention, but dug out the URL where we could access it on the equivalent of iPlayer. Wow!
The hotel is located on a side street off one of the main drags in town within a gentle stroll of most of the central amenities. The only down side is that this street is pretty steep providing a few minutes wholesome cardiovascular exercise after a visit to the city's fleshpots.
Tbilisi is a fantastic city to visit and this is one of -- if not the best hotel to stay at whilst you are there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
106 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were received at airport by an efficient driver who took us to the hotel at a reasonable price.
At the hotel we were given welcome-tea in the cozy breakfast area.
We stayed in two different rooms, one great cozy double room where the bathroom was at a different level and the room was really big. I think it was room number 5.
Then we moved to room 8 which was a big suite at the corner with a balcony. Really nice room this one as well. The bathroom in 5 was bigger and cooler, but otherwise the bigger room wins. Both rooms were large and with all one needs from a hotel room (and more).
Breakfast was great every day. Well above expectations and with possibilities for individual adjustments.
Good, working WiFi internet.
Good TV with many channels.
Only thing not perfect is that the hotel is a 5 minute walk from the main road up a steep hill that perhaps not suits all.
I can strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ragnar_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I am so glad I stayed at the Hotel British House during my week in Tbilisi. I was in Tbilisi as a tourist and to visit my nephew who was there for the summer. I hadn't traveled in a while and was a bit nervous about coming to a place as unfamiliar (to me) as Tbilisi. I did not want to stay in guesthouse yet I didn't want a homogenized American hotel experience either. The Hotel British House met my needs perfectly.

It is a small 8-room hotel run by the most lovely Georgian staff. They were so welcoming and accomodating. My flight got in at 4am. The hotel driver was there to greet me. I was hungry when I arrived and Irakli, the night manager, served me warm kachapuri and orange juice. I had no problem falling asleep in the comfy bed.

My room was large and very comfortable with a powerful A.C. (it was very hot when I was there). The bathroom was nice and clean with good water pressure and perfect lighting for applying make-up!

They serve a huge breakfast at the time that works for you. The cucumber and tomato salad (ubiquitous in Georgia) was one of the best I tasted during my visit.

The hotel is also in a great location. Walkable to many things and very close to a metro stop. I can't recommend Hotel British House enough. It certainly made my trip to Tbilisi even more special.

Just two points of information: 1) If you are very tall person, ask for a bed with out a footboard. I am tall (5'9") and my feet touched the footboard. 2) You can pay your bill in cash and they will offer you a discount if you do. Unfortunately, I did not know this until my last day and wasn't able to get out enough cash to pay the bill. Plan accordingly if you would like to pay in cash.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We and our family again decided to stay in the Hotel British House during our second visit to Tbilisi, Georgia. We had a wonderful experience during our stay there. Our room was spacious, extremely clean, and the beds were very comfortable. Every morning we were served a delicious breakfast. The hotel itself is very charming, with an elegant interior. The location of the hotel is perfect, close to everything. The staff of the hotel was extremely nice and helpful. This hotel definitely deserves the #1 spot on trip advisor! We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UsaMr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel makes you feel at home, the staff is very helpful and friendly. It is a small hotel, with only eight rooms. Our room was large and had everything we needed during our stay. A small balcony, sitting groups in two rooms, a fridge and so on. It is about 35 min walk from old Tbilisi, or you can take a taxi for about 1,5 Euro (make a deal before you drive, the fare should be around 3 GEL- we paid 5 because we think that is a minium of what they need to make a living). The Hotel also provide tours, we had to daytrips with the guide Levan to various sites. The first daytrip to Mtskheta, Javri chuch, the anciant cave city Uplistshike and Anteni Sioni will be a fantastic memory for life. The second trip to the Kakheti region was also nice, but was not as good as the previous. Levan was an excellent guide, and did his best to keep us safe on the crazy roads. We are very happy for choosing this hotel, the only downside is that the bed was a bit to hard for sidelayers, if you sleep on the back you will have no probles getting a good nights sleep. It is possible to find cheaper hotels, but I would not look for anything else for our next stay in Tbilisi.

Room Tip: We had a suite, but I believe that all roms are comfortable and quiet in this neighborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LarsCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tbilisi hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Iveria Hotel, Tbilisi
0.2 mi away
Rooms Hotel Tbilisi
Rooms Hotel Tbilisi
#1 of 116 in Tbilisi
511 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tbilisi Marriott Hotel
Tbilisi Marriott Hotel
#6 of 116 in Tbilisi
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Betsy's Hotel
Betsy's Hotel
#14 of 116 in Tbilisi
308 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Tbilisi
Holiday Inn Tbilisi
#3 of 116 in Tbilisi
562 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mirobelle Hotel
Mirobelle Hotel
#15 of 116 in Tbilisi
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel British House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel British House

Property: Hotel British House
Address: 32 Chovelidze | Belinski St. 32, Tbilisi 0108, Georgia
Phone Number:
Region: Georgia > Tbilisi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tbilisi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tbilisi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tbilisi
#5 Business Hotel in Tbilisi
#8 Best Value Hotel in Tbilisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel British House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
British House is a finely decorated four star hotel, located in the most elegant neighborhood Central Tbilisi, which is recognized as the most ecologically free area of the city, in close proximity to embassies, government offices, business and entertainment centers. The hotel is owned and operated by a citizen of Great Britain - Mr. John Etchells. It combines tasteful, cozy atmosphere and service of high European standards with original Georgian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel British House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel British

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing