We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place under the holy mountain Mtatsminda”
Review of Betsy's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Betsy's Hotel
Ranked #19 of 138 Hotels in Tbilisi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

From the very first moment you get in contact with Betsy's you will enjoy their absolute service minded staff. When you arrive, you enjoy the nice and modern hotel. The room I had (#604) was splendid, wit a balcony overlooking the whole city.

The breakfast in the morning needs its own praise. They do eggs in whatever way you want, even poached eggs on toast, and you can enjoy your meal outside on the terrace. The breakfast area has, like the rest of the hotel, a fast and wireless internet connection (free of charge) witch allows you to surf your local newspaper along with your morning coffee. The breakfast staff is pleasantly present and always smiling.

The star speaks fluently English, with no exceptions. I even heard them give service in German to some guests.

They are also flexible whenever you would like to make change in your plans, for instance leave the hotel for some days. Then they without discussion withdraw nights from your bill. Their flexibility and friendliness is worth a whole lot.

Concerning the location of the hotel, it is a steep walk up from the big Mc Donald's Restaurant (stay away from the McDondalds restaurant, but choose the Georgian Cuisine just across the street, that's great). Taxis are cheap, but the walk is better. And for the early birds of you travellers: get up early in the morning, turn left after the hotel gate. After 60-70 meters you'll find a steep footpath heading for the TV tower on Mtatsminda. Put on some good shoes, and head for the top. It is really steep, and there are a lot of track choices. As long as you head for the tower, you'll find your way to the top. You can also walk the cobblestone stairs from Pantheon graveyard nearby. That is easier, but steep enough. There, you will also meet and greet the old Tbilisians who are old just because they spend their mornings like this.

I have only one negative remark to my stay, and that is that they allow people to smoke in the reception area and especially in the bar. I chose to stay out of the bar because of this.

When you get back to the hotel, you may find Jansug Kakhidzes song "The Moon over Mtatsminda" on YouTube and enjoy the fact that you are there right now. Enjoy Betsy's. It is great value, and I can almost promise that you will be happy.

Room Tip: Find a room with a view, and preferably a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norjanpoika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel is quite close to the city centre. The rooms are nice and of good size. The view from my room was great - I could see the entire city. Food was great too - especially I liked sitting outside and enjoying the beautiful morning view of the city. Also, what I liked about this hotel is the atmosphere - feels home...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gulbahor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a charming small hotel. The room was small but nicely decorated with a lot of charming details. The bathroom was a little outdated and already required some renovation, but everything was working porperly. The hotel has a restaurant with a big terrace. The view on the city is absolutely fantastic. There is no free wifi at the hotel, which was a bit annoying since I was on a duty travel.
A swimming pool in front of the hotel was very small and looked more like a decoration.
Overall, the stay was pleasant and I would recommend this hotel if one is fine with the cons listed above.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elle_Wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I spent 1 week visiting friends and family in the city, this was my first stay in the hotel. The hotel is located on the hill looking over the city and if your room is looking above it it is a nice relaxing moment in the evening to look out on the city lights and the buzz of the city below. It is really strategically convenient as close to most embassies and international businesses and if you happen to fall ill across the street there is a well renown Irish doctor who can assist you for any issues. A safe bet!
Rooms are simple but clean, the staff are local and probably not used to the customs of serving international needs but with a bit of assistance they will always try to sort things out to the best. The reception area unfortunately allows people to smoke and it is an unpleasant reminder of being 20 years back when smokers would just take over in public areas. There is an British pub on the ground floor with good international and local beers. Friday evening was quite busy and noisy but after midnight the Betsy got quiet again. Breakfast is good and there is enough to eat.
Over all good value for money and positioned.

Room Tip: get a room with a view on the higher floors. avoid being on the ground floor next to the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

No matter what the star rate is, when the staff is polite/smiling and above all helpful, then I feel welcomed.

Everything is normal. The view is great. Has very warm restaurant with fantastic view, where you may feel incredible atmosphere around with candles and etc. And you may be surprised how delicious the meals are...

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Orkhan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

a good place to go for a easy and simple hotel, business or pleasure. a little walk from the old town but taxis are cheap. rooms spacious. breakfast ok, nice cafe bar with funny books. swimming pool, but small

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Staffs are friendly, rooms are big with nice views, Quiet place!
The location is excellent, you can visit almost every where by foot from hotel as I did.
As it is on the hill, may be it is difficult for old people.

Room Tip: Upper floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxana2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tbilisi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel British House
Hotel British House
#2 of 138 in Tbilisi
373 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mirobelle Hotel
Mirobelle Hotel
#20 of 138 in Tbilisi
180 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tbilisi Marriott Hotel
Tbilisi Marriott Hotel
#7 of 138 in Tbilisi
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Cron Palace Hotel
Cron Palace Hotel
#12 of 138 in Tbilisi
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rooms Hotel Tbilisi
Rooms Hotel Tbilisi
#1 of 138 in Tbilisi
747 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Tbilisi
Holiday Inn Tbilisi
#4 of 138 in Tbilisi
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Betsy's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betsy's Hotel

Address: 32 - 34 Makashvili Street, Tbilisi, Georgia
Region: Georgia > Tbilisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Tbilisi
Price Range: £48 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Betsy's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Betsy’s Hotel has a prime location just a few steps-literally-from Rustaveli Avenue known as the center of Tbilisi nightlife, culture and commerce.Centrally located on the lower slopes of Tbilisi’s landmark Mtatsminda Mountain, Betsy’s stunning views over the whole city gives you a great sense of orientation for Tbilisi’s layout as you plan your movements about Tbilisi, the capital.Even if you are just reading a book or enjoying coffee on the balcony, our unique vantage point guarantees your full enjoyment of the true colors of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Betsy's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsys Hotel Tbilisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing