We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are looking for a friendly budget hotel in a good location you will not find better in Tbilisi.”
Review of Hotel Diplomat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Diplomat
Ranked #51 of 131 Hotels in Tbilisi
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“If you are looking for a friendly budget hotel in a good location you will not find better in Tbilisi.”
Reviewed 30 January 2011

I have been coming to work in Tbilisi since November 2009 around one year and have stayed in the Diplomat hotel many times. The Diplomat is in the 'Old Town' part of Tbilisi, on the way to the mountains. The staff and owners are the nicest people I have ever met in any hotel, just like a family. They are so friendly they have made all of my business trips seem like holidays. If you are looking for a friendly budget hotel in a good location you will not find better in Tbilisi.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gk2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    13
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
9
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

very good hotel we injoy and file like at home we weill came back

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marina4800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

The position: 5 minutes walk from Rustaveli avenue, Freedom square and Old Tbilisi were all the best restaurants, pubs and clubs are. There is also a very close metro stop but taxis are so cheap that you'll rarely get in it.
The rooms are very very clean, with good showers high speed internet and cable tv. The sight from the room I had was wonderfull: all the hills around the city.
The staff is kind and flexible. I was in Tbilisi making some research for my university and they helped me a lot with the various needs I had. They are always willing to help and ready to offer you a cup of good Georgian tea.
The breakfast is huge and various: almost everyday there is a new georgian speciality on the table. They have a wonderfull lady preparing it and you can feel it as being real georgian home food.
Rates are very good. I had to spend a long period of time in Georgia and they have been very nice offering me a great discount. I spoke with lots of both Georgian and international friends living in Tbilisi and everybody agreed that this is probably the cheapest hotel of this chategory .
I really advice this hotel for both short and long period of time. You wont regret coming here.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank italianstyleRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

We often stay in this hotel during our working visits in Tbilisi. And we can stay that it became our second home:)) Stuff is very friendly, food is very good and different. Location is also nice it`s in the old and historical part of Tbilisi and almost in the centre but quiete and good air.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eldarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

I love hotel Diplomat.they have the greatest castumer service in tbilisi.when i will go to back to georgia again, this is the hotel i wil go to.thank you very much

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank offclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

I have been comming to Tbilisi since October 2007 and have staid in the Diplomat hotel many times, for up to three weeks, often with my wife. The Diplomat is in the 'Old Town' part of Tbilisi, on the way to the mountains. It is a Georgiian 3 start hotel, well priced (about a third of the Europrean/US 4 star hotels near by) with free internet access. The old saying "you get what you pay for" is very true in Tbilisi. What sets this hotel appart from all the others in competition with it are the people. The staff and owners are the nicest people I have ever met in any hotel. Nothing is too much trouble, quite lterally. They are so friendly they have made all of my business trips seem like holidays. If you are looking for a friendly budget hotel in a good location you will not find better in Tbilisi.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TwoBritsAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2007

Most avoidable hotel. Lousy rooms. They promise bed & breakfast - but without a cook...!! There is nobody in the hotel - except the lady at front desk & occassionally a temporary helper.
Maybe - eggs & bread may be available after 9 am - that too with advance notice...!!
Taxis booked through this hotel are much costly than others...
this hotel must close donw & make way for a mall....the location is also desolate with lot of old buildings around & desetred area.

Helpful?
3 Thank xanadu06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tbilisi hotels
0.0 mi away
Rustaveli Palace
Rustaveli Palace
#52 of 131 in Tbilisi
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tbilisi Laerton Hotel
Tbilisi Laerton Hotel
#39 of 131 in Tbilisi
74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Iliani
Hotel Iliani
#103 of 131 in Tbilisi
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mercure Tbilisi Old Town
Mercure Tbilisi Old Town
#5 of 131 in Tbilisi
240 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Tbilisi Art Hotel
0.0 mi away
Diamond Hotel
Diamond Hotel
#59 of 131 in Tbilisi
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diplomat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomat

Property: Hotel Diplomat
Address: 4, Bolo Agmarti, Tbilisi, Georgia
Region: Georgia > Tbilisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Tbilisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diplomat 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Diplomat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Tbilisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing