We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Soviet style meets good views and silent street”
Review of Kolkhi Hotel

Kolkhi Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kolkhi Hotel
Ranked #73 of 120 Hotels in Tbilisi
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Soviet style meets good views and silent street”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The rooms were very basic soviet style, but spacious.

We enjoyed a great view and the hotel itself is located in quite private, quiet neighbourhood. In fact taxi drivers might have challenges to find it.

The beds, however, are comfortable.

Internet is available only in corridors and lobby, ask for password from host.

The breakfast is sumptous and you get a great friendly service if served by the owners. Pay workers are not that eager with service. Ask for omlette and Nescafe (they don't have any "fancy" coffee).

Their English skills are basic, better speak in Russian.

Room Tip: Rooms towards street have MUCH better view. Avoid the "garden view" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eluhea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    0
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
3
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
256 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I wish I could give this hotel a 2.5 stars, but let me try to describe it well. One has the feeling of stepping back in time many decades when one enters the lobby and settles in. The positive note is that my room was very clean and it didn't smell of smoke. As another writer said, there is reliable hot water. There is nothing of note nearby, but in fairness the city is very walkable and it's easy to get around since the hotel is just a few short blocks off Rustaveli Avenue, the main thoroughfare.

That being said, you could probably do better, unless you are in a pinch. There is a fair bit of street noise; I think the hotel is very near an elementary school playground. There are cracks in the window glass and a very weary sense to all the furnishings. The breakfasts are indeed unique culinary experiences - early September saw intermittent juice and yogurt, a very odd omelet (more like a greasy scramble), bread and cheese, and the worst Nescafe ever with curdled milk. Tea is also an option, thankfully. There is WIFI in the lobby, where bottled water is available for low prices. The establishment prefers to be paid in dollars, and the proprietress speaks Russian.

I hear tell there is a hostel further down towards Freedom Square - if/when I go back, I'll investigate it. I paid US 55/night; the hostel is rumored to be around US 28/night, shared bath.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side deal with the very bright lights of the decorated cell phone toward as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pen_Princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbilisi, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

its a very nice hotel, near the city center... there is very friendly atmosphere... prices are very cheap, and service is high... i think you can make your choice on this Hotel...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nati_v77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

There are better places to stay in Tibilisi but this place is okay. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable although the furnishings were a bit worn out. Staff were fine and the bathroom was good with a decent shower and reliable hot water.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 622travelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2009

We did not like anything about this hotel. The reception was bad, the staff unhelpful and unfriendly, it was smoky, the breakfast was horrible. The accommodations were old and very worn. We were overcharged for what we got. We found out later that their website quoted a lower price that we were charged.

We understood that we had to pay for a double room, but upon checking the hotel's website later, we realized we were charged more than the rate quoted on the website. The double room had one pillow, a single duvet, and towels for one person. We believe that the hotel took advantage of us and of the situation.

Look carefully, there are better deals in town.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaWorldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tbilisi hotels

Oswestry, Shropshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Hotels in Tbilisi seem to be either grand or humble with not much in between. The Kolkhi is a budget hotel with no frills at all apart from its position - my room had access to a balcony that commanded a panoramic view of the city. There are five floors, with an efficient lift. The room very basic but clean, with a reasonable bathroom that provided ample hot water. Contrary to what the guidebooks say, nobody spoke English, but this is typical of Tbilisi and was not an insurmountable problem. It is a ten-minute walk to the modern town centre, with the alternative of hundreds of cheap taxis, many of which pass the door. Breakfast is an ample meal, with the option of a substantial omelette, plus cold meat, cheese, salad, bread, honey and plenty of tea or coffee. I paid $55 a night. If you want sealed-in luxury go to one of the big American chain hotels. If you want value and a feeling of being in touch with city life you can do a lot worse than stay at the Kolkhi.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyprian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2008

We stayed here twice during our trip around the country. Although the first room had ants and mice, it was almost normal.
Our second room was worse had BEDBUGS. I think it is enough to tell. There were more problems in this hotel: all the time we could hear leaking water or every morning had fried eggs for breakfast:) an so on...

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank zvag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tbilisi hotels
1.9 mi away
Tbilotel
Tbilotel
#37 of 120 in Tbilisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Eastern Hotel Classic
Best Eastern Hotel Classic
#65 of 120 in Tbilisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel  Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#75 of 120 in Tbilisi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Orion Econom
Hotel Orion Econom
#49 of 120 in Tbilisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tbilisi Central by Mgzavrebi
1.0 mi away
Shota Rustaveli Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kolkhi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolkhi Hotel

Property: Kolkhi Hotel
Address: 31 Shanidze St, Tbilisi 0177, Georgia
Region: Georgia > Tbilisi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 120 Hotels in Tbilisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kolkhi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL KOLKHI **Hotel "Kolkhi" is located in the downtown of Tbilisi close to many consulates and foreign representations. It is renowned for its comfort and cordial service. The host creates a friendly atmosphere and all the conditions to make your stay unforgettable. The hotel has 30 en-suite rooms with satellite TV, internet and a conference hall for 60-70 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kolkhi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing