We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Town - Shame about this Hotel / Restuarant”
Review of Hotel Kopala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kopala
Ranked #37 of 136 Hotels in Tbilisi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I stayed at this place for 4 nights on business and it is quite typical of the hotels I come across in the old eastern bloc countries.
The first night someone thought it was a good idea to dig up the courtyard and mend (by much hammering) the underground water pipe. I also asked for Coca Cola Light and told they had none - I later found that Coca Cola zero was readily available,
The second night I asked for chips - the waiter did not say he did not know what they were, I just didn't get them with the meal I had ordered. "French Fries" he apparently understood and these came after quite another wait, presumably being cooked?
The Third night I went out with my hosts, however on the 4th night I waited over 1 hour for my food order to arrive. I have already told my hosts NOT to book this Hotel ever again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayperks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

Hotel Kopala-highly recommend for location, ease of check in/out, great shower and lovely balcony with view. Sergey at Reception was very kind and friendly. He ensured a smooth check in. Young lady at checkout also very nice and mailed a postcard for me (thank you!). Interesting building with beautiful views from restaurant. Only one slight negative: you need to provide wash cloths and one extra hand towel, but not a big deal. Toiletries very nice but bottles were not sealed, again not a problem as it is good to recycle.

Room Tip: Ask for deluxe room with city/river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SilverFox9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Experience Hotel Kopala in Old Town of Tbilisi, capital of Georgia (just for the US readers: it is NOT YOUR Georgia, meaning "sweet Georgia in my mind", although this one in Caucasus Range is at least as sweet as yours one!)
During your stay over there, need to spend one evening on the top restaurant and one morning too, view to the old town is unforgettable and unique. It is worth a bag of money you will pay for stay and for nice rich dinner with couple of bottles of great Georgian wine....
To be serious at the end, experience of Georgia and its beauty will last loooong time, need to try. And Hotel Kopala is excellent choice, at least one dinner on the top floor restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Racacar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Great location, breathtaking city views, great terrace for morning or afternoon coffee, friendly staff and much more! Breakfast included - pretty decent with a very friendly hostess. Ask to stay in the "old" building for the views though...we vacationed with three other couples and each one of our rooms was very different. So, if you don't like yours ask to see another. Staff was pretty helpful. Will definitely stay here upon return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights on 2 occasions - total 4 nights - and got the same room 324 which had a balcony looking out on broken down buildings and the river below. Room and bathroom were fine, and the room cleaned daily.
There is a lift up to the third floor - handy for luggage.
Breakfast had real coffee, not instant, but the croissant was of the doughy variety - there were eggs and frankfurters some days, with bread, cereal, cheeses, jam, tomato, cucumber and yoghurt.
In the main hotel just down the road the view from the rooftop restaurant is excellent, and so was the food and wine - you can also just go for a drink there to see the view.
Location just up from the river and easy walking all around, also for the sulphur baths.
It was quite hot while I was there, but there is air conditioning, which you can turn down to silent, as it was quite noisy.
I paid €60 for the room which had 2 beds. Perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margo37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stayed here 3 nights in total in 2 different rooms in the same hotel block (there are 3 parts to the hotel), one rather larger and nicer than the other. The hotel is a 25 minute or so drive from the airport and you can easily walk to the old town and sulphur baths. My first room was large, with a sitting area, room safe and kettle with tea and coffee and a decent view of the old part of the city none of which came with my second room. Both had aircon, flatscreen tv with some English channels, a fridge/mini bar and hairdryer. Both rooms were quiet. Smoking appeared to be permitted in the rooms. There is free wi-fi and a computer available for guest use. Reception seemed reasonably helpful. Breakfast started at 8am and was rather disappointing. On the first morning real coffee, as opposed to instant, appeared only at the insistence of one of the guests, the bread was dry, the food was put out in small portions/bowls and there was little variety (one cereal, one type of fruit) so it felt rather like rationing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LDB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Kopala C; there are three buildings close together. Reception was fine and helpful. Rooms were a good size and comfortable, but rather dark; they need more lighting and lighter coloured walls. Bathrooms fine. Breakfast was good. Location is a little away from the centre of the city, but only a few minutes walk from the historic quarter.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a good view on the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tbilisi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Orion Old Town
Hotel Orion Old Town
#43 of 136 in Tbilisi
52 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Boombully
Hotel Boombully
#14 of 136 in Tbilisi
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boutique Villa Mtiebi
Boutique Villa Mtiebi
#24 of 136 in Tbilisi
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Demi Hotel
Demi Hotel
#29 of 136 in Tbilisi
92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#49 of 136 in Tbilisi
7 reviews
1.5 mi away
Betsy's Hotel
Betsy's Hotel
#19 of 136 in Tbilisi
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kopala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kopala

Address: Chekhov str. 8 10, Tbilisi 380103, Georgia
Region: Georgia > Tbilisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 136 Hotels in Tbilisi
Price Range: £42 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kopala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Kopala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing