We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very unexpectedly, this was an excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Pearl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Pearl
Ranked #272 of 459 Hotels in Seoul
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very unexpectedly, this was an excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

I came to Seoul for a big conference in May 2012. On a tight budget and having registered late, not only were all the low to mid-range rooms offered by the conference taken, but the other hotels in the vicinity of Coex also had little room. In the end we went a bit over our budget and booked the Blue Pearl hotel, which was far from our first choice, as it was farther than walking distance from the conference and was higher priced than some of the other options we had marked earlier. From the short list of available places, it seemed to have okay reviews, but we were still expecting a very low quality, budget hotel. Very unexpectedly, we found a very high quality place that I would easily rate 4 stars.
To start, the rooms are very spacious. Due to our lack of funds, we ordered two twin rooms, shared between four of us. Each room came with a large, queen size bed, and a smaller, twin sized bed. Both were extremely comfortable.
The room was clean as can be and equipped with a very large LCD with a multitude of HD channels; a computer with internet; a very good wi-fi connection (used extensively for skype calls); free mineral water; a lighting control panel; a large bathroom with a fancy hi-tech toilet with integrated bidet.
The location was a 3-minute taxi ride to the Coex for minimum price (2400 Won) and close to several restaurants and shops. The subway was a bit farther away - maybe a ten minute walk. The staff was generally helpful, and helped us find an amazing Korean barbecue restaurant right down the street that I will write up in a separate entry.
In general, it was a very nice hotel - much fancier than I expected. The only very small complaint I have is that the light in the bathroom was rather dim, making it difficult to shave. But other than that, I highly recommend staying here for any sort of trip (business or pleasure).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hadidas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    25
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
7
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights during a business trip in Seoul and found this hotel is an excellent service provider for its guests. Staffs are very much helpful, cordial and smiley. Location is also great to get connected with rest of the Seoul. The only point I would like to bring attention of the hotel management is very poor lighting in the room. They should improve it. Other than this location, service and breakfast are good. Last but not the least, WI FI speed is wonderful and which is free. A big screen television is also enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank baul_154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Pros:
The view is stunning. We had a room facing the large road that comes straight toward the hotel: it was a fantastic urban view, especially at night with the lights. There was a bit of noise from the traffic, but not much.
The room, bed and bathroom were all large and well-proportioned.
The lighting was good, and there was a mini-bar and a computer with internet access in the room.
There was a long desk/table all along the wall under the wall-to-wall windows, good closet space and plenty of shelf space around the sink and shower/bath to put down soap, towels, shampoo etc.
Everything looked fairly new and stylish and sheets and towels were clean and looked pristine.
Staff were helpful, including coming to our room immediately when there was a problem with the computer.

Cons:
Nothing too bad, just a few things:
Our shower/bath was very difficult to get into. There was a very wide ledge surrounding the spa-type bath that was difficult to climb over, and after using the shower this ledge was covered in a huge puddle, making it slippery as well.
Apart from the bathroom mirror, there was only one small mirror, which was a tabletop mirror which you had to sit down to look at. There was no full-length mirror in the room.
Although, or maybe because, of the large streets next to the hotel, there isn't much character at street level: it is only cars, you rarely see any people walking around, and there isn't much for them to do anyway (like restaurants, cafes). As another reviewer said, it is more of a business hotel than a tourist hotel, judging by the location and other guests.

We didn't have breakfast, so don't know what that was like.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoastalBreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

This hotel was visited late at night so I could not tell you everything about it. But the facilities in the room were more than adequate, the water was hot, there were amenities, there was a separate shower and bath, there were plenty of TV channels (only 2 channels for our child though), the free wireless internet was adequate - a very comfortable stay.

The location in the city was very convenient if you need to be in the city early the next morning - we did.

I felt that it was more of a 'business' hotel than a hotel for tourists. The breakfast was very similar to a standard hotel BUT the service was far better.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timinphuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

After searching for a place to stay that was not actually a love motel in disguise. We finally found the Blue Pearl. It was a bit above our budget but we needed to stay in a proper hotel with professional staff.

The room was spacious and it had a real nice view over the river. The bathroom had a nice bathtub but some of the tiles on the wall were loose. It wasn't any problem however.

The area surrounding the hotel was quiet. The restaurants were more posh and also quite expensive. There were not really any sights in the vicinity and the subway was also far away. But we needed the quiet and staying at the Blue Pearl was very relaxing. The staff spoke English and all our encounters with them went smooth. All in all it was a pleasant stay and I would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kliim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Hotel Blue Pearl is located near Coex Mall, Seven Luck Casino and also closer to Lotte World than the hotel that we stayed in downtown Seoul.

The room was large and our stay was a comfortable. From our room we are able to see the Han River as well as the buzzing road below us which we loved.

The only drawback about the room is that guests of neighbouring Ellui Hotel can see us from their rooms as we can see them in theirs. Draw the curtains for some privacy.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room for good views by beware of prying eyes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chengleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

The hotel is recommended by my friend. We stayed there four days. The room was enough large for us. The room was clean and well appointed, free internet and a very good bathroom. The staff very kind and helped us with their best though a bit difficulty of language. However we would stay again if we come back Seoul next time.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sightbyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Apgujeong / Cheongdam
Hotel Ellui
Hotel Ellui
#381 of 459 in Seoul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Apgujeong / Cheongdam
Hotel Prima Seoul
Hotel Prima Seoul
#173 of 459 in Seoul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Apgujeong / Cheongdam
Hotel Riviera Seoul
Hotel Riviera Seoul
#104 of 459 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Apgujeong / Cheongdam
Aloft Seoul Gangnam
Aloft Seoul Gangnam
#85 of 459 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Hotel Entra Gangnam
#150 of 459 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Apgujeong / Cheongdam
Hotel Princess
Hotel Princess
#199 of 459 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Pearl

Property: Blue Pearl
Address: 129-3 Cheongdam-Dong, Gangnam-Gu, Seoul 135-957, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Apgujeong / Cheongdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #272 of 459 Hotels in Seoul
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Pearl 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Also Known As:
Blue Pearl Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing