We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded Glory”
Review of Hotel Dodo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dodo
Ranked #390 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Gyeongju, South Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Faded Glory”
Reviewed 26 November 2010

Sadly, one of the main things that sold me on the Dodo and was really looking forward to was the Jacuzzi ... and the bubbles didn't work.
My friend and I asked about it, if we could please change to a room with a working Jacuzzi, but nothing was available. I then asked if they could give us a small discount due to the fact that the hotel IS advertised as having a Jacuzzi, and was told that booking.com had a lot of it's facts wrong about the Dodo (it says they have broadband for example and they don't, they have slow net). They then looked at me helplessly, as if it were my fault they had the wrong advertising out there. I said they needed to take responsibility for the broken Jacuzzi, that the online booking company obviously have no idea they haven't fixed it.

How ridiculous. Customer service is very much a new concept in most of Korea, so if you're here for a visit, keep that in mind. You could get served crap on toast here but they will be surprised if you send it back.

I asked very very nicely if they would please consider the small discount or something in lieu of the broken jacuzzi (the cost of the hotel is reasonable, but as an English teacher in Korea this was still a big treat for me) and they smiled and nodded and then forgot about us. Couldn't have given a rat's.

The place is a fading glory, clean and spacious with very nice beds. If you don't mind a broken jacuzzi then this place might be good enough for you, and I admit, it was still nice to have a bath.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seahorse70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    10
    14
    6
    0
See reviews for
3
6
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Staff - very helpful but dont speak good English so you need to be patient with them.
Room - Clean and value for money.
(Lots of free goodies to use - Night suit, slippers, Jacuzi which you cannot expect in such less room rate.)
Free water- as much as you want and free coffee, tea, orange juice in room
Free high speed internet - already connected with a big screen tv
PC with video on demand facility so download any movie in seconds and watch it on TV.
Room service till 10 PM only so rush to get that as the locality does not have restaurants around. If late either order Pizza from Dominos etc or eat something frozen !
* Towels looked very used - so next time when I stay in this hotel I would take my own.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdmundHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

After laughing about the name, and marveling that it was the only hotel with 1 room left in the entire area, I was surprised at the size of the room, good in room ammenities, jacuzzi tub, etc. Priced right too. Not a bad deal.. The one small window was a bummer though. Grea aside from the lack of view

Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

Nice cozy hotel, safe , secure, near train station, convenience store next door, Free parking. Only bad is that it is in a industrial area (heavy equipment supply & trade supply store area.) My Yobo (Honey) didn't quite like the local but I'm in construction so I didn't mind. Hotel is an excellence value and rooms are cozy and seem suited for couples.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2009

This hotel is remarkably good value for money. The room is clean, quiet, spacious and well-equipped, with some nice surprises like a jacuzzi, bidet and PC with 5.1 surround sound (though it doesn't work). A couple of disadvantages, though: there is no closet or drawers for storage of clothes, the window is masked with a board, so there is no daylight (though it can be opened) and the chair and sofa are not particularly comfortable.

Internet (cable) is fast and free, but TV is a disappointment, with only one English channel (CNN).

The location is perhaps not ideal, being 10-15 minutes walk from each of three metro stations, and the neighbourhood is full of engineering workshops (could be full of worse things, though). However, there are lots of interesting places to eat nearby, a convenience store right outside, and a big market just a few minutes' walk away.

All told, this hotel is a good option if you don't mind not being really close to the metro.

Final note: this hotel is not where it showed up on Google map. I have moved the marker 'A' to the correct location near Yeongdeungpo Rotary (roundabout).

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prokofievlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beijing,china
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

guest room is new and well furnished, with modern fercilities. very well equipped. shuttle service and receiption service are both nice. many TV channels available and free.
internet speed is extremely fast!!!
walk to the nearest subway station is about 10-15 mins,cross many street but not to hard to find,haha.
nearby is a police station,so it's safe!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vavalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Yeoido
Kensington Hotel Yoido
Kensington Hotel Yoido
#78 of 472 in Seoul
219 reviews
SB Hotel
#369 of 472 in Seoul
5 reviews
Yeoido
Hotel The Designers Yeouido
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yeoido
Hotel M
Hotel M
#298 of 472 in Seoul
33 reviews
Shilla Stay Guro
#79 of 472 in Seoul
139 reviews
Yeoido
GLAD Hotel Yeouido
GLAD Hotel Yeouido
#47 of 472 in Seoul
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dodo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dodo

Property: Hotel Dodo
Address: 23, Beodeunaru-ro, Yeongdeungpo-gu, Seoul, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #390 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dodo 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dodo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing