We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cooking tonight!”
Review of Hotel Rainbow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rainbow
Ranked #401 of 471 Hotels in Seoul
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cooking tonight!”
Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

We used the hotel as it was good price and excellent location for both Seoul train station and Yongsan train station (both one stop away). Rooms quite good and clean but the under floor was on full blast
This is common thing in Korea and not good for fresh air freaks like me. And get used to rock hard mattresses!


  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ppw-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    28
    30
    13
    12
See reviews for
11
15
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We read some pretty good reviews and were recommended this hotel before we booked. Upon entering the hotel, the receptionist was rude. Once in our room, we immediately saw lots of hair in each of the beds. There were also stains on the sheets. In the bathroom there was hair on the wall, floor and in the bathtub. There was no toilet paper and a wet towel had been left. We were under the impression the room had not been cleaned between guests. We were told there would be a computer in our room, but there was none. The air conditioning did not work. Overall, I'm not entirely sure what we paid for, besides dirty beds and bathroom and bad service.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Niemelel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seoul hotels

Cheongju, South Korea
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I have stayed here a number of times because of the location and price. The clientele are usually multinational so the hotel front desk is accustomed to dealing with foreigners. Their English was impressive.

The rooms have always been satisfactory. Nothing fancy but clean enough for a comfortable stay. The rooms, I must add, look very different from what is shown on the hotel's website. Unfortunately, it seems as though the staff do the bare minimum to keep the place running.

You won't be terribly disappointed with the hotel but don't expect to be blown away either.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KtotheX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Spent two nights here in a 3-bed room.

Pros:
- Clean room
- Good air-conditioner
- Water filter in the room with hot and cold options (complimentary tea and coffee packets, although with Paris Baguette right around the corner, I'd recommend going there instead).
- Bathroom was clean as well.
- Checked out early, but we were able to leave our bags there and explore the city for one more day before our train departure.
- Great location in that: it is close to Seoul Station (so if you are taking the KTX that's nice). There are bakeries and restaurants nearby. Right next to Namyeong Station.

Cons:
- No Wi-Fi (After paying less in Vietnam and having Wi-Fi in every hotel there, we were feeling a bit spoiled!)
- It is close to Seoul Station, but keep in account the amount of transfer time you will need if you want to go to Myeongdong, Itaewon or other popular spots.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atinart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aveiro
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This hotel is not suitable for people.
When we arrived we were met by a bit rude lady which treated me as a second class person (I should mention that the second receptionist was very friendly and helpful). We received a triple room on the first flow. There was a window in the room but it exited directly to a wall and a lot of tubes, so we had to close it permanently (resulting in difficult acclimatization process). When we decided to go to beds we discovered that the beds are full of hairs and the sheets are stained. I do not know how many people did sleep there before me but definitely the bed linen was not changed before our arrival. We asked to change the sheets and received the answer that it was changed "just this morning". We insisted and managed to change one of the sheets. The maid was old, unfriendly and unpleasant. There are just under sheets and nothing to cover up, so it is better to bring your own linen (like we did).
The bathroom has so many short black hairs (especially around a hand wash basin) that makes me suppose that this room was used as a barber's shop.
The bathtub was completely blocked not allowing for water to drain out.
But the worst thing came during the night. A strong stench appeared from the toilet and tortured us all the night.
We had another reservation in this hotel for the way back (after a 2-week long trip around South Korea) but fortunately we found a room in nearby Kaya hotel (because of typhoon there were a lot of cancellations - at our first attempt in the middle of August, Kaya hotel was completely booked out). I should say that Kaya is incomparably better and understandably cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iouA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We had one night here and we picked it because it was two minutes away from the USO at 7am and a trip to the DMZ. There are much better hotels in the area (the Elle (150 000w per night) and the Kaya (58 000w per night) right next door) and this one wasn't worth 60 000w per night. It's 7.7km by taxi from the Express Bus Terminal (13 000w by taxi in the middle of the day, 1 150w by metro) and next door to the Namyeong metro station. We had a double room 206 - we had booked a non-smoker but none of the rooms are non-smokers and this one stank; so did the other one they showed us! It had a double bed and an ensuite although that should have been refurbished ten years ago - the tiles were coming off the wall. There's a fridge and a computer but don't expect to get onto the internet; we were told "the internet has been down since yesterday"! And the pneumatic drill from just outside the main door didn't put us in a restful mood either.

Outside there are plenty of restaurants, convenience stores, internet cafes and shops. The location was fine - pity about the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliechariot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I spent two nights at the Hotel Rainbow in downtown Seoul. The nicest thing about the hotel is its location--it's right near the subway line and surrounded by bakeries and places to eat. The rooms were clean, but there was no internet in them, and no wifi in the hotel. I asked the receptionist why, and he told me that it was an old building...and that's why there is a computer in the room. No one could get the computer to go online, so they moved me to a different room. But even there, I never was able to read one email or send one message. Quite frustrating. For that reason, I don't think I'd ever consider staying there again although it was a good hotel for the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommytompkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Hotel Elle Inn
#313 of 471 in Seoul
69 reviews
Hill House Hotel
#138 of 471 in Seoul
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Biz Jongno Insadong
Hotel Biz Jongno Insadong
#181 of 471 in Seoul
108 reviews
Hotel Mido
#144 of 471 in Seoul
48 reviews
Hotel New World
#377 of 950 in Seoul
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rainbow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rainbow

Property: Hotel Rainbow
Address: 48, Hangang-daero 71-gil, Yongsan-gu, Seoul 04322, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #401 of 471 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rainbow 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ctrip TA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rainbow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing