We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location excellent!”
Review of Saerim Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Saerim Hotel
Ranked #155 of 504 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Don't expect luxury. The room is smallish with a double bed. The bed is rock hard... But this hotel is in a quiet location, off the main road, near to all the tourist sights, just off the great pedestrian street of Insadong-gil and is a great price. No breakfast but plenty of options close by. Good wi-fi in room which was free. Also computer in room and huge TV (useless as no English channels). Small window and no view to speak of.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank LanaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

I stayed in hotel for 4 nights.The hotel location is very good.
The price is reasonable. Hotel hasn't restaurant and many services but I think many travelers don't need and don't use many of these services.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Morteza N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights over Chuseok weekend and we loved it. The hotel is difficult to find (we had people on the street trying to help us after the taxi got lost), but once you know where it is it's easy to find again! It is an older style hotel but that's obviously what you get for the price. Great value, great location - we love the Insadong area. Very quiet at night which we were happy with. Only downside was no water cooler in the room, unlike other cheap hotels we've stayed at in Korea. We will definitely be back as we live in Gwangju and will be making regular trips to Seoul :) Looking forward to it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Hotel isn't as hard to find as I thought,, but I would recommend printing a map to take with you. Easy to get to from either line 3 or 5 on subway so no worries there. Room is small but completely adequate, clean and quiet. Location just off the busy streets with loads of shopping and restaurants so you can't go wrong. Definitely recommend it, we are going back there for our last night in Seoul. Wifi only in the hotel foyer which has no seating so a bit of a pain.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SallyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The Saerim Hotel has everything that a budget traveler would need - clean rooms, cheap rates, and a fantastic location. Let's start with the positives:
-Very central location in Insadong with a subway station and an airport bus stop about a 5-10 minutes walk away
-Lots of restaurants, cafes, and bakeries nearby
-Lively and safe location, feels safe at night
-Clean, functional rooms
-Cheap!

And a few cons:
-My only interaction with staff involved checking in and out. It all felt transactional without any charm
-There is no shower curtain in the bathroom, so water sprays everywhere
-Wifi is only in the lobby, but there was a computer in the room

So to wrap things up, I would certainly stay at Saerim again, but it wouldn't be my first choice. Location is great, but the hotel is kind of meh...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Othello491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Searim hotel had everything we needed. It is right in the middle of Insadong and easy to find. The room was clean and neat, and the staff provided everything we needed. The big TV was a nice treat. There are many tourist attractions in the immediate vicinity of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L-Afriqee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I am a single older woman and very much enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Subway and bus stops are very nearby, interesting shops are on the pedestrian street half a block away, and two historical palaces are within walking distance to the hotel.
The room was clean and big. Big tv screen and computer in the room on 4th floor. Reception desk workers spoke minimal English but then I did not speak any Korean. They were very helpful when I needed it.
Be aware, my taxi driver had a hard time finding the place. But once there, you won't understand why. It is very centrally located, though on an alley. I walked home at midnight one night and felt very safe. 7-11 stores at both ends of the street.l

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank traveling_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Benikea Noble Hotel
Benikea Noble Hotel
#145 of 504 in Seoul
143 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Icon
Hotel Icon
#114 of 504 in Seoul
355 reviews
Hill House Hotel
#143 of 504 in Seoul
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sinchon / Ewha
WS Hotel
WS Hotel
#412 of 504 in Seoul
128 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Biz Jongno Insadong
Hotel Biz Jongno Insadong
#192 of 504 in Seoul
111 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
HOTEL GS
HOTEL GS
#102 of 504 in Seoul
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saerim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saerim Hotel

Address: 37-11, Insadong-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul 03149, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Insadong
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 504 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range: £29 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Saerim Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saerim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing