We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Korean Hanok Stay and Andong Cultural Tour”
Review of Rakkojae Seoul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seoul
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rakkojae Seoul
Ranked #17 of 948 Seoul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Outstanding Korean Hanok Stay and Andong Cultural Tour”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our 2 nights stay in Rakkojae Seoul and 2 days/1 night cultural tour of Hahoe Folk Village complete with a stay in Rakkojae Andong was flawless. We must thank Whoopi and all the staff in Rakkojae for their exemplary attitude in looking after their guests. We were spoilt by them.
We felt that Rakkojae deserves to rank on top in Tripadvisor as a boutique hotel instead of a B&B. The ambience in Rakkojae was traditionally refined, natural and serene. Hallyu stars such as Lee Joon Gi, Jang Geun Suk and SHINee has filmed in Rakkojae Seoul.
I also recommend their program to the Suwon Hwaseong Fortress and the Hahoe Folk Village etc. I love it that this cultural experience tour pampered our visual and taste buds too because we had delicious Korean-themed meals in architectural buildings.
We have visited Seoul thrice but only been to Rakkojae once. We would definitely return again when we next visit Seoul.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candyhohoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    25
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
30
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

With thanks to the owner, Whoopi and staff for making our 2 night stay such a joy. The warm, personal welcome sets the tone for the rest of the stay. The team really care that you experience the best of traditional Korean hospitality, from the wonderful rooms to the cuisine.
This is a gem, and highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tk_mos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My sister and I loved our 2 night stay in Rakkojae Seoul. If you want to experience the traditional hanok stay, this is the place to go. So peaceful and quiet, and your privacy is ensured. You can expect that they will not let other people just enter the place. The food was delish! We had the korean breakfast of porridge, fish that's to die for, crunchy skin and moist inside, and the blueberry yougurt, just the food makes us want to go back. Whoopi, the manager was so accommodating. They made my sister's birthday a memorable one. They have staffs that can speak english, japanese, chinese, and a little tagalog. If you're looking for a place to relax in, this is the place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSPerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We spent a night there in April. Very peaceful and quiet. The walk around the area is nice. Cafe and Korean restaurants not far. The breakfast is served in our room. Hearty and comfort food. Would love to stay longer.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LegendLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed in a separate "suite" that had 2 rooms, 2 bathrooms, a living area and a small pantry. The moment we stepped in Rakkojae, it was like a trip back in time to the olden days. As you walk in, you feel calm and peaceful. It is a description beyond words that you have to experience for yourself.

Staff are friendly and attentive. Breakfast was fantastic. Loved the abalone porridge, grilled mackerel and banchan. Do try out the mud sauna. Learning to tie the hair bind that you see in korean dramas was fun. Another highlight was trying on Hanbok. It was an interesting experience.

One thing to note though. If staying here, do bring insect repellent. They got some huge mosquitoes there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eelms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We decided to book a night at Rakkojae to try out the hanok experience during out 10 day trip to Korea. While pricy, we definitely have not regrets! Other hanoks are more backpacker style. Rakkojae is extremely well maintained and the grounds are spectacular. Location wise, very near anguk station.

We got the master bedroom with heated jade floors. Sleeping the floor was a great experience, mattresses are thick enough to get a good night's rest. The food is excellent! We had ginseng chicken soup for dinner and a traditional korean breakfast. We also tried out their sauna which was great on a cold night. They even taught us how to tie our hairs up with a towel!

Excellent place to stay if you want to experience a hanok.

Room Tip: The one with the balcony is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crystalgoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The 4 of us stayed in 'separate house' at RakKoJae Seoul for 2 nights. Staff were really helpful and service was good without being too intrusive. The place is beautiful and gave us a feeling of old times. We had lots of fun trying out the natural mud sauna and photo taking while wearing Hanbok.

Breakfast was delicious. We had a choice of Korean or western and we chose Korean menu for both morning (the mains were different for the 2 days but unfortunately the sides were the same for all 3 meals). We could also enjoy traditional dinner on our 2nd night at their related restaurant in Myeongdong...complete with traditional instrument performance.

Our unit has 2 rooms and a common sitting area. The common area is really warm as it has a glass roof...we had to stay in the rooms with air conditioner when we're back in the afternoons. Will be perfect if there's a cloth or blind to block the sunlight coming in during warm weather.

The staff room/kitchen is located right between our 2 rooms...which is kind of odd. We could hear the staff when they go about their daily work. We didn't mind that much since it's not loud and we were out most of the day. We were bitten by mosquitoes at night...so better to bring mosquito repellent stickers.

Nevertheless, it was a fantastic experience for us and we will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wen96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Namsan
The Shilla Seoul
The Shilla Seoul
#12 of 472 in Seoul
1,524 reviews
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#56 of 472 in Seoul
3,245 reviews
Samcheongdong / Bukchon
Bukchonmaru Hanok Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sopoong Guest House
#4 of 948 in Seoul
174 reviews
Samcheongdong / Bukchon
Chiwoonjung
Chiwoonjung
#123 of 948 in Seoul
13 reviews
Samcheongdong / Bukchon
Cheong Yeon Jae Hanok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rakkojae Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rakkojae Seoul

Property: Rakkojae Seoul
Address: 49-23, Gyedong-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul 03056, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Samcheongdong / Bukchon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 948 B&Bs / Inns in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meaning "a place where one can enjoy the traditions of times past and rest one's soul," Rakkojae Seoul is a Korean traditional culture space with a history of 130 years. It was renovated by Human National Treasure-Master Carpenter Young Jin Chung in 2003 and has since received international acclaim. Here, the harmony created between traditional Korean architecture and nature has created on opportunity for the true beauty of Hanok to shine. Upon passing the graceful main gate, one can see neat cozy Hanok. The bamboo and pine trees scattered in the garden add to its natural beauty and the rubber shoes placed on each terrace stone bring back the scent of old memories. Standing in a square formation around the yard, the elegance of ancient noblemen can be felt in each crevice of Rakkojae. The pavilion, lotus pond and patio that past scholars enjoyed were carefully revived to draw out the beautiful elegance of traditional Korean architecture. The Patio, in particular, adds to the beauty of the Hanok's refreshing empty spaces. When sitting on the patio like scholars of the past, time itself seems to slow down and the smallest sounds coupled with the cool breeze become special. In slowly looking up, one can only see the blue sky and white clouds-while the complications of life in today's modern society seem to become insignificant. As the place to enjoy the true elegance of Korean traditional culture, Rakkojae also offers the opportunity to experience the traditional beauty of Korea. One can encounter such beauty through savoring a traditional Korean course meal, experiencing a tea ceremony, relaxing in the yellow-mud sauna, trying on a Hanbok, or making your own Kimchi. Reminiscent of an aristocratic house of the Chosun Dynasty, Rakkojae's accommodations are as tidy and as comfortable as those found at top class hotels. Going above and beyond, we offer our guests a healthy voyage by sleeping on a natural jade ondol floor or relaxing in a yellow-mud sauna that is heated with firewood. Create unforgettable memories by experiencing Korea's beauty through the simplest of scenes, such as the faint moonlight sinking into your room through a door left ajar. We are confident that a night at Rakkojae will deliver special inspiration. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rakkojae Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing