We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my second home!”
Review of Backpackers Inside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Backpackers Inside
Ranked #3 of 546 Speciality Lodging in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Incheon, South Korea
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“my second home!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

really! i love this dorm so much.. just like my second home in Korea
thanks for super friendlly staffs.. even i just talk so rarely.. but they are so nice!
Minyoung, Mia, Roy and Brit! hwaiting for you guys!
i really enjoyed stay in InSide!

i will come again.. wait for me! hahahah

Room Tip: Female Dorm! new freind everyday! enjoy SEOUL!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrenGie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    75
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
17
118
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The things that I found really positive about this hostel were that the owner ran it (so obviously the service is better), free laundry and cheap dryer, you're able to print for cheap ( can be a huge hassle when not available I've found), friendly and warm atmosphere, couch and tv area, free breakfast (toast, jam, eggs, coffee), good location, helpful and caring staff, cheap, and cozy/ feels like home type of hostel. The things that I didn't like were that it is a very small hostel. I prefer to stay in hostels that hold 50 plus people. Also you need to go downstairs and outside to smoke. It's not far, but it'd be better if there were a balcony.

Room Tip: Know that the private rooms are extremely small. I prefer to stay in the dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coreen930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is perhaps the best place I've been for encouraging connections with other travelers. Having access to a free breakfast every morning really forces everyone to interact with each other. The staff also worked to promote a festive environment, and were also helpful with everything from recommendations to setting up tours and even helping me mail a package back to my home country. Some areas could have been cleaner, but overall, this is a great place to stay. -BP

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main building rather than one of the annexes down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Staying here is quite representative of my short Seoul vacation. There are some good parts, a few great ones, sometimes bad, and the unavoidable terrible ones. Read on.

PROS:
- Price. Quite cheap single room as compare to all the other hostels I've surveyed.
- Location. Although a few blocks from the subway, it's still pretty good because there are loads of shopping and eating places around. Also, the limousine bus to/from the airport is pretty accessible (easier to use than doing multiple transfers on Seoul Metro)
- Staff. It's a family owned hostel so expect a wholesome and friendly environment. I got sick on my third day (my own fault) and when I asked where the drugstore could be, they didn't hesitate to give me some free medications.
- Service. The information email being sent after booking confirmation is quite useful and handy. Also they have quite a lot more handouts given once you've checked in like which eateries around Hyehwa would be recommended, etc
- Facilities. There's a fridge, couches, tv, computers, wifi, washing machine. All good!

CONS:
- Room. I've seen pictures of the room and I knew that the small single room is what I'm booking. Anyway, I've found it a bit small but I guess just right if you just plan to sleep on it. There's just a bit of space for your luggage, there are some hangers which are a bonus. Good thing it was cold so I didn't really need to use the fan (it was not a/c). The walls are so thin everytime I move on the bed I'm thinking I might have been heard on the adjacent rooms.
- Bed. It's a bit creaky and had some bumps. If you're really really tired, you won't notice.

TIP: Take the 6100 bus to/from the airport instead of the subway when transferring. Unless you want to cry on Seoul station.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verargulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed in Inside Backpackers in June 2011. And I like the area where is it located, many affordable restaurants since it is near a university and it is 10 minute walk from the nearest train station Hyehwa and about 7 minutes from the airport bus stop. It is also near Daehakro, a nice place to hang out to watch street performances. Too bad, we found out too late. We stayed in a building separate from the main hostel. I did not mind that since it felt like we were staying in a community. The staff were also helpful and friendly. The hostel’s facilities are just average, I have seen hostels at lower rates, that have better amenities. Overall, I’d recommend the hostel for its location and good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I have stayed here twice, in spring 2011 and summer 2012, in the rooms with attached bathrooms. The heater is warm enough for during April in spring. Towels and hairdryers are provided and there's even a small kitchen if you want to cook. The only issue we had was with the shower that couldn't get hot water but that was quickly resolved by Britt. Even the shared bathrooms are clean and well-maintained. Great location, with cheap eateries and cafes nearby. A short walk to the palace and Hyehwa Station. It's almost like staying in Myeongdong, with the cosmetic shops and cat cafe, minus the constant influx of tourists. The airport shuttle bus stop is also just along the main road. I would definitely stay here again on my next trip to Seoul!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fsheey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

It's cheap so don't expect too much. Free wifi. No hair dryer. There's a computer you can use it to surf net or watch tv in your room. The floor is heated which really nice to keep us warm during cold days. There's a university nearby so I guess that's the reason cheap food cheap restaurant around the hostel. They have pick up service from airport at reasonable rate, you just need to call them up. The staff can speak good English.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iva I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Hongdae
Birdsnest Hostel
Birdsnest Hostel
#10 of 546 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Itaewon
G Itaewon Guest House
G Itaewon Guest House
#7 of 546 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Hongdae
Oasis Guesthouse Seoul
Oasis Guesthouse Seoul
#2 of 546 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lazy Fox Hostel
#8 of 546 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Hongdae
Bounce Guesthouse
Bounce Guesthouse
#11 of 546 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Inside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Inside

Property: Backpackers Inside
Address: 2F, 5 Sungkyunkwanro 4gil | Jongnogu, Seoul 110-532, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 546 Speciality Lodging in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Backpackers Inside 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a comfortable stay and real Korean lifestyle when you stay at Backpackers INSIDE. We are located in the heart of Daehangno, a historical, cultural, and shopping center (Dongdaemun) of Jongro in Seoul. It is only a five minute walk from the bus stop and the subway station.Meet the other travelers from all over the world (we accept only foreign traveller), while sharing a cup of espresso in our fully-equipped kitchen or playing Wii in our cabin-like common room[Reception Policy]We accept only foreign traveller.(Bookings made by Koreans will be cancelled by us, I am sorry for that)If you don't send us your arrival time again to us individually, your booking will be cancelled without notice.Without our confirmation mail, your booking is not 100% confirmed. Check in: ~10pm(After midnight check in, your booking cancelled automatically except informed to our staff.)Check out : ~11amOur super friendly and attentive staff can provide you with information on the city of Seoul, tours and attractions, and other general information on the rest of Korea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Backpackers Inside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Inside Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing