We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel
Ranked #109 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic boutique hotel”
Reviewed 31 March 2011

My husband and I were in Seoul for about a week and chose to stay at the IP Boutique Hotel in Itaewon. We loved it! The staff is very helpful and the location is excellent. It's only a few blocks from the Itaewon station so getting around is a breeze. Everything about the hotel was fantastic except for the extremely dark corridors leading the rooms. However, we were very happy with our room. The modern design was elegant and clean and the use of mirrors made the room feel so much bigger. The size of the room itself was about the size of an average room in the US. The only problem was the bathroom. Since my husband is very tall (about 6'4"), he had a difficult time trying to take a shower without hitting the ceiling. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and the staff made things very easy for us. They were very friendly and helped us out if we had questions on how to get to different sites around Seoul. I highly recommend this hotel to those heading to Seoul if they want something different from standard hotels.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koolbr33z3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    313
    101
    17
    17
See reviews for
48
182
114
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We loved pretty much anything about this hotel. The swings and the huge chair in the lobby was a fabulous first impression. Once we got to our room, the frosted glass bathroom got me so excited. The sophisticated toilet was fun. Room was a bit small but the cool design makes up for it.

Located in Itaewon, which is one of the international parts of the city. Very close to a subway station: Itaewon Station.

We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miniminimini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2010

We stayed at IP hotel for a week, and we really enjoyed it. Good location and great service.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggy-bubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

For our last night in Seoul, we wanted something different.. Instead of the usual international hotel, we decided to give the local boutique hotel a try..We opted for IP Boutique Hotel at Itaewon after reading the good online review.

We were skeptical when we first arrived to lP Boutique, it looks a little shabby from the outside..However we convinced ourselves to at least view the room first before deciding on whether or not to change to another hotel..The room turned out to be quite satisfying..There are both hits and misses for this small boutique hotel

Hits
1. Strategic location - with convenient access to Itaewon street..and Subway
2. Rather funky and contemporary design
3. Clean and pretty well equipped room
4. FREE wifi - which is a plus plus point
5. Love the rather FUNKY toilet..Its all surrounded by glasses and mirror -- Nice!! (but i freaked my partner out a little..lolz)

Misses
1. Very small room
2. No view
3. The bed was quite bad..The comforter and sheet was rough..
4. Super dim and dark walkway..gives an eerie feel
5.. The big mirror right outside the lift add to the spookiness...Well, it reminds me of the Korean horror movie scene =S

Overall, its pretty affordable..Its abt 100+ USD per night..

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChloeTeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan/US
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Rooms: It’s true that this hotel came a long way from its old days as Itaewon Hotel. It has been completely renovated in modernist style: white and black with occasional splashes of color, lots of glass and steel, flat-screen TVs and down blankets. There is one thing, however, that no renovation can change, and that is the size of the rooms, which remain quite small. And although the rooms are very well lit, the hallways are so dark that I had to use the light on my cell phone to find my way to the room.
Service: They weren't rude, but their heart just wasn’t in it. When I asked a young woman at the front desk where the post office was, she referred me to the concierge’s desk two steps away, and as he wasn’t sure, either, he referred me back to her. She ended up giving me very approximate directions—not even a hand-drawn map, much less a printout. We didn’t feel especially welcome during the check-in or the check-out, either.
Location: If nightlife is your thing, look no further, but be warned that the bus ride from Incheon airpot took an hour and a half, probably because of the late afternoon traffic.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevtak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

I wasn't entirely sure where to stay in Seoul so took the IP Boutique Hotel on trip advisor's recommendation. It's a great hotel, pretty funky, but in the end a normal hotel, too. Good things: airport bus stops just across the street, very easy ride in from the airport. Hotel let us check in at 9:30 am though the room had no window; worth it to check in early after a red eye flight in. Itaewon subway just a couple blocks down the road. A few coffee places across the street, great for a quick breakfast or just a coffee. Only bad thing is that it's not too centrally located so it's subway or taxi everywhere. That goes for most hotels, I think.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Good: Great location, very nice staff , great design, nice bathroom (glass)
Bad: Small rooms, elevator breaks down, small restaurant, no bar

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guntsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Itaewon
Hamilton Hotel Seoul
Hamilton Hotel Seoul
#148 of 472 in Seoul
389 reviews
Itaewon
I.T.W Hotel
I.T.W Hotel
#263 of 472 in Seoul
44 reviews
Itaewon
Grand Hyatt Seoul
Grand Hyatt Seoul
#63 of 472 in Seoul
2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin
Hotel ShinShin
#16 of 472 in Seoul
608 reviews
Samseongdong / COEX
Imperial Palace Seoul
Imperial Palace Seoul
#19 of 472 in Seoul
770 reviews
Lotte City Hotel Guro
#3 of 472 in Seoul
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel

Property: Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel
Address: 221, Itaewon-ro, Yongsan-gu, Seoul 04349, South Korea (Formerly IP Boutique Hotel)
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Itaewon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-placed in the nightlife, culture, restaurants area of Seoul city, Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel provides a most conducive spot for you to take a break from your busy days. The hotel lies 2.Km from the city center and provides accessibility to important town facilities. For those of you who want to venture out, Itawon Street, Leeum, Samsung Museum of Art, Itaewon Subway station are just some of the attractions available to visitors.IP Boutique Hotel also offers many facilities to enrich your stay in Seoul. The hotel offers access to a vast array of services, including safety deposit boxes, car park, airport transfer, meeting facilities, 24hr room service.All guest accommodations feature thoughtful amenities to ensure an unparalleled sense of comfort. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. With an ideal location and facilities to match, Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel hits the spot in many ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing