We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the IP Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel
Ranked #105 of 500 Hotels in Seoul
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I recently stayed 3 nights at the IP Boutique Hotel in Seoul.
The Hotel can be easily reached by bus from Incheon Airport, as the bus stop is right in front of the hotel. The welcome by the very professionell staff was very friendly and accommodating.
The room was spacious and equipped with all the necessary items. Free wireless internet, cable TV with various international movie and news channels, a comfortable bed and a very nice and stylish bathroom. The brand new washlet was an additional plus.
I definitely would stay here again and can recommend this hotel strongly .

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cosmoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (640)
There are newer reviews for Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

390 - 396 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

Uber-trendy and with its totally unique style; dark corridors, a plush swing-set in the lobby, eclectic wall paint and sculptures and in-house cosmetic surgery and hair replacement clinic, the IP (Imperial Palace) Boutique Hotel is certainly a different place to stay and the location is excellent – close enough to the action of Itaewon tourist area but far away enough from the noise.
My room (one double bed, which they called king, and a single bed) was very comfortable but small – ok for one person but too cramped for two (plus the exposed bathroom would have been as issue if I was traveling with someone else). Bathroom was great with a rain shower and a bidet with all the extras (Yeah Baby!). Amenities were good quality and bathrobes and slippers provided and the Ipod docking station appreciated.
Some substance has been sacrificed for grace however which makes the value of staying at the IP questionable – pay just a little bit more at a five star and you get much more for your money.
For example: Yes, there was free wireless but it was not very constant, either on my laptop or Ipad and yes flat screen TV but no English language entertainment channels.
Breakfast buffet was limited an rather underwhelming considering the overwhelming theme the rest of the hotel projected; cold scrambled eggs and undercooked bacon, no whole-wheat or brown bread for toasting (that didn’t have dried fruit mixed with it) and the coffee top-ups were slow in coming. The food and beverage service, including room service, closed early. I didn’t try dinner or lunch as there are so many great choices very close by.
The staff were friendly but again, efficiency lacked, causing some frustration. Departure was a total mess with my mini bar bill not being passed to the cashier, my taxi not being ordered and the taxi driver not sure where he was going despite assurances from the concierge the destination was made clear (I ended up have to take the taxi all the way to Incheon airport!).
If you want to pay to stay in Itaewon then IP is probably your best option. If you really want fine service and facilities however, spring for a few more Yen and stay somewhere without the gimmicks but with real services.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a window - not all have them.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalbhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

My idea of a boutique hotel is changing and I need to do more background work before accepting a hotel that says it’s boutique. This one, for me, just does not have the feel of thoughtful artistic work.

Tiny desk and no plugs on it. An old iPhone port was glued on to the desk so I could not remove it for space. Some might like the sitting area in a windowed, (uncurtained) alcove (mostly taken up by the chair). The night curtains are on the room side of the alcove.

There is light leaking through the cracks from the bathroom. Not well constructed. When going to my floor, I saw what looked like a piece of concrete on the floor in the dim light as the elevator doors opened and I thought I had gone to the parking garage instead of to the 9th floor by mistake. A piece of art on the floor. I don’t mind the dim lighting really. It’s certainly different. I have stayed in great boutiques in Seoul, Bogota and in Boston and although pricy, were worth it. If this were $100 instead of over $200, I would give it four stars.

It was clean and the staff spoke English and were helpful. The breakfast buffet was OK. If you like the Itewon scene, you can easily walk to it. Note: The 3 Alley Pub was pretty good for a western style place to eat/drink.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Wolfgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Issues: 1. maid never picked up my dry cleaning, 2. dry cleaning (~$3-4000) was later lost, 3. room service food was cold on arrival, 4. front desk refused to bring us a room service menu, 5. buffet food was kind of mediocre and also cold 6. the waiter snatched a soda from my partner's hand and told him "you have to pay for that," assumed he did not want it and put it back on the buffet counter, 7. we spilled some soda on the duvet cover and it could not be replaced because they "only have one per room (the duvet itself was fine), 8. four days later, still no duvet, 9. about one use worth of toilet paper placed in bathroom daily.

I have lived in Seoul for two years and I am used to bad/incompetent service but I thought this hotel would understand basic international service standards. The room was cheap and they could easily charge double if they improved service.

Room Tip: Another hotel; upper floors if you must stay here.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Overall a great choice. Based on previous reviews, we asked for a room on an upper floor with bay window upon arrival and received one on top floor. We heard no noise that others have spoke of, being on the 12th floor. Yes, the hallways are dark, but they are planned that way, and in no way feel unsafe or anythng. Condition of the room was very good. The only confusing aspect was to determine which airport bus to take. Most reviews say 6060 but at the airport it seems to be 6030, which is what we took, and had no problems. Hotel website says 6030 as well. Between tourist information and the bus ticket seller, they don't seem to be on the same page, but as mentioned, 6030 provided an easy trip.

Room Tip: Rooms with bay window help to give rooms a larger feel.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blindbumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I travelled with my family so we had 4 rooms. The rooms were a little bit small but beautifully clean and comfortable with good beds (1 queen and 1 single), pillows, and towels. The bathroom area had a good shower, basin & bidet/toilet (heated seat!) and was compact but perfectly OK. Breakfasts were the usual help-yourself buffet-style arrangements offering Korean and European foods and were plentiful and tasty. I didn't hear any noise at all from the nightclub; maybe it depends on which floor your room is on - we were on the 9th floor).

The hotel is ideally-placed with loads of restaurants serving different cuisines, shops, and 500m from the nearest underground station so getting around Seoul is easy. The 6060 bus to/from the airport stops right outside but taxis are plentiful and cheap if there are a few people travelling together.

Price-wise I think the hotel is really good value for money and I would recommend it. It doesn't offer 5-star luxury but then you're not paying 5 star prices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the higher floors; rooms numbered --10 have a good view out over Seoul
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaRu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Location in itaewon is good - airport bus stop is ten paces from main door and the metro only four mins walk. Room was well designed - loved the glass walls to the bathroom. Like everyone else, I found the darkness in the corridors strange but it wasn't a problem.
Room service stopped at 22:00..... I only found out when I tried to Oder about 22:45 one night! Hey ho..... It wasn't far to find something round the corner. Definitely worth considering if you are going to Seoul and don't mind being slightly away from the city centre. Though itaewon has a lot going on.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theflyingscotsman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Itaewon
Hamilton Hotel Seoul
Hamilton Hotel Seoul
#142 of 500 in Seoul
403 reviews
Itaewon
I.T.W Hotel
I.T.W Hotel
#260 of 500 in Seoul
47 reviews
Itaewon
Grand Hyatt Seoul
Grand Hyatt Seoul
#68 of 500 in Seoul
2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Itaewon
Crown Hotel Itaewon
Crown Hotel Itaewon
#356 of 500 in Seoul
241 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin Myeongdong
Itaewon
Dodam Guesthouse
Dodam Guesthouse
#95 of 586 in Seoul
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel

Address: 221, Itaewon-ro, Yongsan-gu, Seoul 04349, South Korea (Formerly IP Boutique Hotel)
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Itaewon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 500 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range: £78 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-placed in the nightlife, culture, restaurants area of Seoul city, Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel provides a most conducive spot for you to take a break from your busy days. The hotel lies 2.Km from the city center and provides accessibility to important town facilities. For those of you who want to venture out, Itawon Street, Leeum, Samsung Museum of Art, Itaewon Subway station are just some of the attractions available to visitors.IP Boutique Hotel also offers many facilities to enrich your stay in Seoul. The hotel offers access to a vast array of services, including safety deposit boxes, car park, airport transfer, meeting facilities, 24hr room service.All guest accommodations feature thoughtful amenities to ensure an unparalleled sense of comfort. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. With an ideal location and facilities to match, Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel hits the spot in many ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing