We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, Not So Perfect Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel
Ranked #107 of 493 Hotels in Seoul
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, Not So Perfect Room”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Was told that this is one of the nicest hotel in the Itaewon area but was somewhat disappointed on the decor and the layout of the room. Size wise, it was a big enough. However, they use white color lighting and not-too-elegant "lip" graphic on the wall as decoration. It seemed like I was in a hourly rate hotel for lovers. The shower/bath isn't the best design as it has no door, water splash all over the place. The best thing about this hotel is probably the location. Just about a block away from the main happening area of Itaewon. Best for people who go clubbing and hangout late at night.

Room Tip: Shuttle Bus Station to Incheon Airport is right across the street from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vodka_1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    315
    104
    17
    17
See reviews for
48
184
117
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Positives: Location is great. Service was helpful. Price was very reasonable.

Negatives:

The first room we were given was at the front of the building and with the late afternoon sun streaming in, it was very warm. We called reception to advise that our air conditioning wasn't working but they informed us there was no air conditioning at this time of year, only heating. No individual control, the entire hotel has the same temperature. Apparently they change it over at the end of the relevant season and as it had turned warm earlier than expected this year, they were caught out and the 'switch over' takes a couple of days. When we commented that our booking stated that the hotel has air conditioning (Wotif), they agreed and simply apologised. We asked to move rooms to one that did not receive full sun and they were accommodating however the only room they had smelled heavily of cigarette smoke - even though it was a non-smoking room. We didn't have a choice so moved anyway. After 3 days, the smoke subsided a little.

Noisy! Not sure if they have a lot of late arrivals or its just party people (although they didn't look like party animals!) but there were people in the hallway at all hours. It wasn't just a quick enter the room and slam the door, it was a constant yelling up and down the hallway for an hour or two. Between 2am and 5am, it wasn't pleasant.

Bathroom light and bedroom/hall light is sensor driven so when one gets up during the night, the whole room is alight! Also slightly off-putting is the fact that the entire bathroom wall is glass - ok for two but not so great for friends or family.

We wouldn't stay here again but I can understand why it suits some.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessInTransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited our son in Seoul April 2014. Stayed at IP Boutique Hotel. All in all we were satisfied. It is clean, staff polite and helpful. It is convenient to shipping, restaurants too. Highly recommend!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lazlo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The fact that you don't need to worry about grabbing a taxi at midnight in Itaewon is a good enough reason to stay at this hotel. There are only 2 decent hotels in Itaewon, and this one clearly trumps the other.

Hotel is trendy and is walking distance to Itaewon and leeum museum. There ar airport limo stops in front of the hotel, so it's very accessible.

Now for the downsides.... For some reason, taxi drivers only seem to know this hotel as "itaewon hotel" and not IP Boutique hotel. Now that u know, as for Itaewon hotel when you hop on a taxi. Other more serious disappointment was the peculiar arrangement of room appliances. For instance, rain show was at my chest level (and can't adjust higher) even I'm. Pretty average height. Not very well thought out at all....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

A fantastic location, to be sure!! Walking distance to a lot of bars and restaurants. It seems to be the expat area, so don't expect that many Korean places to eat. But there are a few. Excellent metro connection to everywhere in Seoul as well. (Speaking of metro. If you stand still for more than 30 seconds a ton of people will ask to help you. Never been to a friendlier city!,,,). Anyway, the downside of the hotel. The area is a bit loud. But the major things: A weird yellow stain of who-knows-what on the side of the bed skirt. And it was hot in the room (it's April). 27C (80F) and would not change. We asked for the air conditioning to be fixed but it never was. But there were 2 bottles of water free, so at least I had something to drink when I woke up thirsty!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ewados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Room
The room is nice. Clean and modern. The painting on the wall is also very cute. I have upgraded to a 3 person room, the price is good given that the room has 1 king bed and 1 double bed. The bed is comfortable and the beddings are changed every day.

My room also has a small sitting area behind the curtain. The TV has many channels although most of them are Korean channels. It is not a big problem to me as the only channel I watch at the hotel is CNN (and they have it!)

The room has enough lights, but I do not like the sensor light next to the room door and bathroom door. You cannot turn on it, even if you want to make that area look brighter. And you cannot turn off it. So whenever people walks to the bathroom, the lights will be on and it really disturb others who are sleeping (imagine you sleep in a room that the light keeps turning on and off, on and off, on and off...)

The bathroom is clean, and although the bathroom is glass-walled, you cannot really see the inside from the glass. The bathroom is a bit small, and they have no where for you to hang your clothes.

Building
The building is very eye-catching! Colorful walls and the cute bear outside the hotel. There are other artworks inside the lobby. I love the swings at the lobby, it is so funky but practical.

However, the corridor is REALLY REALLY dark. I have read from the reviews and are aware of that before arriving at the hotel. But I have never expected it to me THIS DARK. It is simply like walking in the dark with some very limited and dim light. It doesn't make me feel safe at all because I cannot even see clearly.

Location
Location is amazing! It is 5 minutes walk to Itaewon subway station, and you can reach Seoul Station, Myongdong and other tourist spots in about 20 minutes! The hotel is also right across the airport bus stop.

You will find a convenience store right next to the hotel - very convenient! There are also many café and restaurants in the neighborhood. Do not pay extra for the hotel breakfast, use those money to enjoy some nice coffee and food outside the hotel.

The hotel is located in a very lively night-life area, so it is not quiet or dark at all when you return to the hotel at late night. If you enjoy clubbing or partying, this would also be a perfect location!

Service
Service is good. They respond my email very fast when I am booking the hotel. Both the check-in and check-out are smooth and quick. They also allow you to store your luggage after you check out. And they have been really friendly and helpful throughout my whole stay.

One thing that has bothered me a bit (but I guess it may be due to cultural difference) is that the housekeeping lady cleans the room when I am physically in the room. One day I go back to my room after breakfast, and the lady is cleaning my room when I return. At most hotels I stay, the housekeeping staff will leave the room and come back later. She didn't leave the room and continue housekeeping for about 30 minutes. She doesn't understand any English, so I cannot tell her to come back later.

Price
Price is ok for a double room, but good for a triple room. You cannot book a triple room online. Rather, you have to book a double room and email the hotel to request an upgrade (at additional cost).

Room Tip: If you have 3 people in the group, get an upgrade to a triple room. You will need to first book a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CisiW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

nice, hotel, with good staff. Location is quite convenient for the metro. Slightly unusual styling, which I liked, but comfortable all the same. I didn't eat in the hotel, so cannot comment on the food. I would go there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Itaewon
Hamilton Hotel Seoul
Hamilton Hotel Seoul
#147 of 493 in Seoul
397 reviews
Itaewon
I.T.W Hotel
I.T.W Hotel
#264 of 493 in Seoul
47 reviews
Itaewon
Grand Hyatt Seoul
Grand Hyatt Seoul
#69 of 493 in Seoul
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin
Hotel ShinShin
#19 of 493 in Seoul
620 reviews
Samseongdong / COEX
Imperial Palace Seoul
Imperial Palace Seoul
#25 of 493 in Seoul
806 reviews
Itaewon
Crown Hotel Itaewon
Crown Hotel Itaewon
#371 of 493 in Seoul
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel

Property: Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel
Address: 221, Itaewon-ro, Yongsan-gu, Seoul 04349, South Korea (Formerly IP Boutique Hotel)
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Itaewon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 493 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-placed in the nightlife, culture, restaurants area of Seoul city, Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel provides a most conducive spot for you to take a break from your busy days. The hotel lies 2.Km from the city center and provides accessibility to important town facilities. For those of you who want to venture out, Itawon Street, Leeum, Samsung Museum of Art, Itaewon Subway station are just some of the attractions available to visitors.IP Boutique Hotel also offers many facilities to enrich your stay in Seoul. The hotel offers access to a vast array of services, including safety deposit boxes, car park, airport transfer, meeting facilities, 24hr room service.All guest accommodations feature thoughtful amenities to ensure an unparalleled sense of comfort. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. With an ideal location and facilities to match, Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel hits the spot in many ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing