We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel
Ranked #114 of 505 Hotels in Seoul
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Hotel is centrally located, however the rooms are very small and dark leaving not much room for other than having a night sleep. If I were to spend time working in my room it would not be very inspiring. Breakfast was ok, nothing more. I could stay here again for business but for pleasure a better atmosphere is required.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

IP Boutique hotel is a good deal for Seoul. It is difficult to find a nice hotel in Seoul under 125,000 KRW. Most of the hotels in Itaewon and Myeongdong are absolutely horrible unless you shell out twice as much money to stay at Lotte Hotel. I've stayed at Ibis Myeongdong and it is horrible. I've been to guesthouses and love motels in Seoul that are better for half the price. That said, if you would rather stay at a decent hotel rather than a guesthouse/hanok/love motel, IP Boutique is a good choice.

It is in a good location in Itaewon and there is an airport bus right across the street from the hotel. The decor is kind of funky. Not really my style but it's okay. The hotel isn't that clean. The halls are really dark and I guess that is part of the decor/atmosphere the hotel is going for; I simply think it is an excuse not to spend more money on electricity and to hide stains, dirt, etc. Inside the room, I saw a candy wrapper left by the previous occupant and there were spots on the carpet. The carpet needs a good shampooing.

Breakfast is not included in the stay and you have to shell out I think around 27,000 KRW for the hotel's breakfast buffet. I tried it once on a business trip here and it is good. However, if you are paying for the hotel yourself, I suggest just going out to one of the money restaurants that offer a Western breakfast in Itaewon. The restaurants are cheaper than what the hotel is charging for breakfast.

I have stayed at better and cheaper hotels in Japan and China quite honestly. I have also stayed at other expensive business hotels in Seoul and was not that impressed when compared to hotels in Japan and China. For Seoul (only) IP Boutique hotel is a good place to stay. Should Seoul step up its hotel game? Absolutely. First start by offering free breakfast with every stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarmenSandiego30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

great place for a business meeting, we had good meeting rooms for a very good price.

many great restaurant's are in walking distance, from Brazilian, Korean, and all other Asian styles.

and perfect entertainment with clubs and bars where you can go till any time

Room Tip: the view is not the best so it does not matter in my oppinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joergfitzek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Very good location near Itaewon subway station and all restaurants and shopping. I choose hotel as it has nice modern design and good location. It looks nice, but air in my room was really dump. It stinks mold and my bad is still smelling mold after one week being in hotel. These was a lot of dust in corners, cleaning was really bad. I usually prefer hotels with hard flooring as these think carpets are horrible if they aren't cleaned properly.

I didn't have breakfast or dinner in hotel, so cannot say anything of those. Corridors were those dark that I had problems to find lift.

Location is very good for partying or looking attractions in Seoul, but I hope that other rooms are in better condition. Two stars because of bad air in room, otherwise would be much more.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikko V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Booked on hotels.com as had special deal and was near subway.

Hotel really stands out, but taxi drivers don't know it.

Really interesting décor especially in the lobby.

Room made of mirrored glass with glass walls - so quite airy and light.

Lots of gadgets incl. washing toilet.

Wifi was reasonable but slowed down a few times so VOIP was not always good.

Would stay again, but next time will try another hotel just to compare.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I chose this hotel due to its location in itaewon on my first trip to Seoul. The lobby is extremely nice but rest of the hotel is quite shabby. breakfast is not included in the cheapest room rate so its quite expensive. location is good if you want to party every evening other it is not convenient. the corridors are dark and room furnishings are poor quality. The bathroom is nice but the mirror and shower are built for asian height. I changed my hotel after two days.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saunternut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Expect the unexpected here. The decor at this hotel is modern, cool and funky from the sculptures out the front and in the lobby to the dimly lit corridors to the giant zebra mural behind my bed. It's different and that's one thing I loved about this place. The hotel is very modern and clean and in a fantastic area. The area is in the expat part of town so it depends what you are looking for, but it's on the quiet side of town and I experienced no noise issues. Room was a good size, not huge but not small and had everything you need. Another reviewer noted they couldnt change the temperature but I have an temperature control in my room. It took me a little while to figure out the lighting control. The toilet is an experience with its various settings and controls (ie what you get in Japan). One thing I didnt like is that I couldnt open the window (typical of many hotels though)
If you want the same boring run of the mill hotel experience you get almost everywhere then don't stay here. If you want something you'll rememeber I wouldn't look past this hotel.

Room Tip: Pick a room from level 6 up as maybe there are noise issues lower??
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alacazam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Itaewon
Hamilton Hotel Seoul
Hamilton Hotel Seoul
#139 of 505 in Seoul
420 reviews
Itaewon
I.T.W Hotel
I.T.W Hotel
#265 of 505 in Seoul
48 reviews
Itaewon
Grand Hyatt Seoul
Grand Hyatt Seoul
#70 of 505 in Seoul
2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Samseongdong / COEX
Imperial Palace Seoul
Imperial Palace Seoul
#32 of 505 in Seoul
902 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Ocloud Hotel
Ocloud Hotel
#33 of 505 in Seoul
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel

Address: 221, Itaewon-ro, Yongsan-gu, Seoul 04349, South Korea (Formerly IP Boutique Hotel)
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Itaewon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 505 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range: £71 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-placed in the nightlife, culture, restaurants area of Seoul city, Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel provides a most conducive spot for you to take a break from your busy days. The hotel lies 2.Km from the city center and provides accessibility to important town facilities. For those of you who want to venture out, Itawon Street, Leeum, Samsung Museum of Art, Itaewon Subway station are just some of the attractions available to visitors.IP Boutique Hotel also offers many facilities to enrich your stay in Seoul. The hotel offers access to a vast array of services, including safety deposit boxes, car park, airport transfer, meeting facilities, 24hr room service.All guest accommodations feature thoughtful amenities to ensure an unparalleled sense of comfort. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. With an ideal location and facilities to match, Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel hits the spot in many ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing