We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money, good service, great rooms, poor management”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Tria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tria
Ranked #160 of 474 Hotels in Seoul
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Value for money, good service, great rooms, poor management”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Firstly, i would like to state that this is quite a good hotel. The only point that brought down the rating is my personal experience that I had with the Manager. If this did not occur, then this would definately rated 5 stars.

Firstly the good points. Nice modern rooms, I like the decor, the furniture, the amenities, they were all fantastic considering the money we paid. Large showers, spa baths, even heated toilet seats (first time experience... weird but nice...lolol). Large LCT TV and a desktop computer as well for your convenience. It may be a bit slow, but it was definitely usable. The room service in this hotel is also top notch, every time we got back from a day of sightseeing, everything was organised and cleaned and used items replaced. Staff at the counter are nice and friendly, they speak a bit of English, but surprisingly they also speak fluent Chinese (Mandarin).

The Neutral parts. Location, about 5-10mins walk to the metro station, quite convenient to get there. Area has a few convenience stores around and a few bread shops and little eateries. Here is the WARNING for families, the area has a few "massage" places around the area, so for those with little kids might want to stay away from this area at night. None are all out in the open or in your face but you know whats going on when you see drunk office workers enter the place at night. On the other hand, some people might enjoy the area.

Negative. The only negative we experienced was with the hotel manager. After booking through on Expedia about 3 months prior to our trip, with everything paid for, we arrived at the hotel from the airport to find that there was no booking for us. The girl at the counter was apologetic and was looking into the system trying to help us. She ultimately called the manager, who refused to listen to us and stated there is no booking and there is no rooms available. We enquired about using their phone and offering to pay, it was met with a reply that we should go buy a calling card and call using a pay phone outside. As it was getting late after 2 hours of hassling around, I asked if there is any rooms available for us to stay for 1 night and we would pay upfront. This was met with a firm "No".

Ultimately, I used roaming on my mobile to contact Expedia. Expedia was very helpful in checking all our booking and stated that everything is valid. The girl checked with her manager and offered to speak to the manager over the phone to discuss the matter. As i approached the manager asking if he could speak to the representative, he refused to talk to the Expedia representative and continued to say its not their problem.

As i conversed with the Expedia rep, the manager seemed to get a call from someone, and subsequently approach us and say the rooms are now available and everything is fine. No apologies, just you can check in. Very strange experience and certainly didn't give us a good impression.

Overall, without this negative experience, It would definitely rate as one of the best value for money hotels, but unfortunately, its only a "Average" this time around. Hopefully everyone else won't experience this and have a good time at this hotel.

*Rant over.*

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Shamichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    72
    19
    6
    4
See reviews for
12
37
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
184 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Stay for 1 night for short business trip in Seoul.

I totally agree with other reviews. This hotel is good value for money. I paid about 90K and quite satify with the room quality. Staffs speak very good english.

Bed is clean and comfortable. Bathroom is big and plenty of amenities. It is also convenient to get in KAL airport limousine as it is less than 5 mins walk to in front of Renaissance Hotel. Subway is also short walk.

Good choice for Gangnam area, but it takes nearly an hour to other main area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kengkla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Plus: Stylish Room, Clean, Free usage of hair gel, shaving foam, Nice Furnitures, heated bed, friendly staff, restuarants all over, 10 steps away from convenience store, easy to get to COEX via subway, easy to get from and to Incheon Airport via the Bus Limo at about $15K WON per pax.

Minus: Well known red light district, may be a little dangerous after 11pm. If you got a big luggage and taking the train, it would be a little challenge to walk along the slopes. Need to know how to take the Subway to the heart of the city.

Overall: Better than expected.

Room Tip: I will choose a deluxe room next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mokette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

the design was different from usual hotels, a boutique hotel indeed. staff spoke good english and was able to direct me to almost any place i asked. service was prompt, calls for chopsticks and extra toilet papers was attended to pretty quickly. located near yeoksam station and walkable to gangnam. lotsa eateries and convenience stores located around the hotel. only troublesome thing is the travel to downtown seoul is a bit of a hassle needing to transfer at least once.

Room Tip: recommended for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
349 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

I went to ROK/Seoul for the first time for a business trip and chose this hotel not for its location but based on reviews and price. Seoul is a incredibly expensive place and if you don't want to spend USD 400 up for a room the area and hotel is definitely a good choice. Rooms are reasonably spaced and the place has a stylish decor, boutique hotel style. About 10 min walk to the underground but it still tasks at least 30-40 min to get to the city center. The area is more of a banking/financial center but has also lots of cafes and restaurants. One of the big pros is that you can take one of the express shuttle busses from the airport and it takes you almost straight to the hotel. Take the bus line which takes you the the Renaissance Hotel and get of there. Walk straight and turn the second right (at the bang bang clothing shop) and walk another 100 m straight, here you are.

The place has also now free wifi in all rooms, works well. Suites come with jacuzzi.

Room Tip: Suits are good. But I was told that the standard rooms are also ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barnskybeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Modern business hotel in a good area of restaurants and bars.I was in a deluxe room that is bigger than the standard(maybe this one is too small),big bathroom with shower and bath tube;computer in your room.The room only has a small window and the light inside is not strong so its quite dark inside the room.The ceiling is low so sometimes you feel that you are in a bunker :-) There is not closet.

Room Tip: better deluxe room or royal cos is bigger and it is not much diference in price
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Araeinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayern
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

First of all, finding the hotel after using the shuttle bus (Line: KAL3 - getting off at Renaissance Hotel) isn´t that easy, since the short walk from the Renaissance Hotel isn´t described anywhere. CHECK MY PHOTOS, I UPLOADED A MAP FOR YOU. All in one the hotel is very modern and offers good rates.

What we liked:
- modern furniture
- super fast internet (every room has its own wifi hotspot)
- nice shower (water pressure & great cosmetics)
- sitting area in our room (large sofa)
- surrounded by bars and restaurants

What we didn´t like:
- because of the bar location it is very very loud (the whole day music and disco sound)
- WHY there is a glass door and wall in the toilet area? Who wants to watch someone else sitting on the toilet?
- there is no breakfast or room service
- the location is not very central
- the lights and AC is hard to coordinate, because of the fancy but not good working remote and buttons

I uploaded also a video of room No 605 (Category: Suite)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank comikaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Grammos Hotel
Grammos Hotel
#120 of 474 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#159 of 474 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Urban Place Gangnam
Urban Place Gangnam
#124 of 474 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Noblesse Yeoksam Hotel Seoul
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Coatel
Coatel
#173 of 474 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Mercure Seoul Ambassador Gangnam Sodowe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tria

Property: Hotel Tria
Address: 16, Teheran-ro 33-gil, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 06142, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 474 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing