We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
talkingtomaria
Angeles City, Philippines

Seoulwise: Jjang! Daebak!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Jan 2013
Travelling with a friend who loves Korea just as much as I do we roamed the internet for the best place to stay in Seoul since it's the first time for both of us.
As I titled my review, Seoulwise is indeed more than what we expect it to be. And the owner, Mr. Young, is definitely more than what you expect an owner to be.
I love my stay in Seoulwise for several reasons:
1) it's convenient to reach from Honggik station. just the right walk to appreciate the neighborhood.
2) it's NOT expensive. no need to pay reservation fee. it's very tourist friendly.
3) Mr. Young speaks very good English to the extent that i was thinking he's got an even better vocabulary than me.. haha
4) Mr. Young knows what you want as a guest.
5) The guesthouse feels like home.
6) Inclusive of breakfast and a good early morning chat and quick advises on our daily itinerary.
7)The rooms are very clean and spacious and all the stuffs added in their works perfectly fine.
Our visit in Seoul was just perfect with our stay in Seoulwise..

A must for your visit in Seoul. I'm definitely going back here.

Travel date: December 4-9, 2012
Date of stay: December 2012
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£110
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £113
  • Agoda.com
    £95
  • Priceline
3.5 miles from Seoulwise Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Standard Room at the Koreana Hotel
Booking.com
£88
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £74
  • Vio.com
3.0 miles from Seoulwise Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£103
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £74
  • Expedia.com
    £105
8.5 miles from Seoulwise Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Restaurant
room with view
Booking.com
£83
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £73
  • Hotels.com
    £85
10.9 miles from Seoulwise Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Pool
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    £144
  • Trip.com
4.0 miles from Seoulwise Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
ロビー
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £95
  • Agoda.com
    £80
  • Priceline
6.9 miles from Seoulwise Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £70
  • Agoda.com
    £59
  • Priceline
4.3 miles from Seoulwise Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Restaurant
LUXURY TWIN
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    £79
  • Agoda.com
    £69
  • Expedia.com
    £88
7.7 miles from Seoulwise Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    £53
  • Agoda.com
    £45
  • Expedia.com
    £66
12.3 miles from Seoulwise Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    £62
  • Agoda.com
    £49
  • Hotels.com
    £54
8.8 miles from Seoulwise Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Seoul
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
48
15
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
48
15
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Whether you're a 68 year old or in your mid-20's, Seoulwise Guesthouse is exactly what it claims to be. A good nights sleep added with the bonus of waking up to an already inclusive breakfast, added that there are a few rules to abide by (which are for the better of the stay). The facilities in Seoulwise are great, the prices are the best for what is available & it is a close 5 minute walk to the Subway.

The area is located near Honggik University (which has it's own line coming from the airport) & Hongdae (a famous bar-shopping/culture district)

The 2 private rooms provided by Seoulwise during my stay were pretty much the best iv stayed during my trips in Asia. Best in areas such as cleanliness & space.. Most other Guesthouses in Korea charge the same price & don't even include a private bathroom.. Well, you'll be in a lot of luck if you can secure yourself into a private room at Seoulwise. The dorms don't go more than a 4 bed room (which is alot better than most other places that cram 12 people into 1 room).

Mr Young, the owner has travelled to many places in the World, If not all by the looks of personal photos taken by him (which are quite amazing moments captured by photograph) .. He's even been to Antartica.. He's kind enough to all his guests & be a huge service if in need of assistance.

there is no curfew & oh yeah, also a laundry service too.

Room tip: the 2 private rooms were identical when I stayed there.. best bet is to not worry about what room you will be allocated to. Don't be hesitant to ask Mr. Young any questions if problems do occur in the room.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Seoulwise is great because:
1) It's VERY VERY clean. Spotless. Cleaner than my apartment at home, if that's not too gross to say. VERY clean.
2) The dorms are 4 people MAX. This means shower-sharing is easy, hygienic etc. Private rooms are large, with ensuite showers. Everything in the rooms is modern and works - great!
3) Hongdae is the best location in Seoul. For young peolpe who like fashion or bars or hang-out spots, anyway. The BEST indie bar in Seoul (Club FF) is about 10 mins walk away in the densely-packed party area of Hongdae. This is the kind of area where you get take-away cocktails in a bag! Wahey!
4) You can do your washing in the hostel if you're long-term travelling and you're nearing that "eeeep, I'm gonna run outta pants" time.
5) Breakfast is fine - toast, cereal, juice, and FRESHLY BREWED COFFEE. Mmmm.
6) Internet works very well - having hostelled around quite a bit I have learnt one should not underestimate the importnce of this. Daily frustration getting online (which you NEED to do when travelling) can really bring a trip down. Not so here!
7) There are helpful signs around the place - tips, rules etc. I know 'rules' doesnt sound all too important OR fun, but actually it shows the guesthouse is well-managed, and it makes being there just a bit more pleasant for everyone. For example, there's no curfew, but there is a 'quiet after 10PM' rule. If you want to go party, do it - that's half the fun of Seoul! But if you're dog-tired and want to get a good night's sleep, the hostel has made the effort to ensure everyone is behaving considerately enough for theis to happen. Small touch = big impact.
8) Young, the owner, is really nice, with a great knowledge of the area and Korea and, it seems, basically the whole world. His photos that he's taken whilst doing his own travels decorate the stairwell of the hostel and they're not only very good - he's clearly a great photographer - but they're from EVERYWHERE. It's probably why the hostel's managed so well - he's clearly stayed in a lot of places all over the world and he knows what you need as a traveller and has suppplied it wonderfully well. Amazing job.
9) It's reasonably priced. Look at the others listed - I bet you it's all around the same price, and I've stayed in Seoul before and spoken to lots of others who have too and the general concencus is that Seoul hostels don't really have to make the effort to be good in order to get your business - there's so many travellers here it's really easy pickings. Consequently we've all stayed in some really rather grotty holes and paid through the nose forthe pleasure. Stay here instead where it's lovely for the same money!

I will definitely be booking here the next time I'm in Seoul, which is the biggest reccommendation I can give, really!

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Haley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This is my 2nd stay (and 2nd review) here since 2010 and this time I brought my family since we came down to visit a family member. To my surprise, the guesthouse has gone through a facelift - the front desk, common area and kitchen has been refurbished to the ground floor, so there are more space to pretty much mingle around and keep in touch with the host, Mr Young.

One thing that makes Seoulwise great from other guesthouse is how complete and self sustainable the facilities are. Mr Young made everything so easy...and he's pretty much handles EVERYTHING from checking you in, explaining the guesthouse rules, sharing and suggesting what to do around South Korea and even cleaning! This guy is a powerhouse!

Lets go to the facilities...Seoulwise is not the glossiest looking, but do hear me out. If you are a first timer to Seoul without ANYTHING on your back, you can pretty much come here and have everything sort and laid out for you in Seoulwise.

1. The breakfast is basic continental (cereal, bread and juice), but enough to fuel up your day walking and navigating around Seoul.
2. Have no clues what to do in Seoul? Find Mr Young, look up in the computer provided in the common room or just browse the maps, guide books and even local newspapers! T-money is made available for loan at no expense (unlike some guesthouse I've been to)
3. Noisy roomate? Foam earplugs is made available at front desk.
4. Everything is labeled and pretty much 'strategize' for your convenience even if Mr Young is not around (which only happens at lunch time or when he's up cleaning). He will leave a telephone on the door or common area for you if he's not there. And if you don't wanna spend for toiletries (soaps and toothpaste, wtv) there are some leftover stash from previous visitors for you to use, if you don't mind using. Hey, free stuff!
5. Night life and food?: Seoulwise is located in young and hip university area, so even if your stomach can't yet digest kimchi, there are plenty of western eateries like Taco Bell, Starbucks, Paris Baguette. Not to forget the clubs around as well which comes to life on weekends.

I've no doubt that I will come back here again :)

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rozerozeroze
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We were very happy with our choice of this guesthouse for our first visit to Seoul. Young, the owner, was a pleasure to deal with, first via email and then in person. He was very helpful and we always enjoyed talking with him about our experiences - both in Korea and traveling in general. The guesthouse is super clean and the room and bedding was comfortable. The location is convenient for the metro and airport train and Young provides a detailed map.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DayDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Mr Young has been very wonderful in providing detailed information for directions to the places of interest in Seoul. He is extremely knowledgable and helpful.

Nanta is such a nice show. Thanks for helping us to book.

Thank you Mr Young!

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCDC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews