We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dani R
Gwangju, South Korea

Best Guesthouse in the Hongdae Area

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Apr 2013
This excellent guesthouse is my new favorite place to stay in Seoul. It's located very close to the Hongik University subway stop which means it's in a trendy, fun neighborhood and very convienent to the subway and airport train. The Hongdae area is full of hostels and guesthouses but Seoulwise is the best I've found because it's comfy, clean and quiet and the owner is incredibly friendly and helpful. I stayed both in one of the dorm rooms and in a private, twin room with a friend. The rooms here are converted studio apartments so each room has its own bathroom. I recommend paying a few thousand won extra for the 4 person dorm instead of the 6 or 8 person dorm room because the wooden bunk beds in the 4-person room are much sturdier. Mr. Young, the owner, went out of his way to help the guests and to provide information and recommendations. The other guests were quiet and courteous, the lounge area is nice, the free breakfast of toast, cereal, juice and coffee was great and the wifi is reliable. Basically, this place has everything you could be looking for in a low-budget accommodation.
Date of stay: February 2013
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
ロビー
£106
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
6.9 miles from Seoulwise Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£139
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
10.3 miles from Seoulwise Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Pool
스탠다드 더블 Standard Double Room 
전망 View : 도시전망
침대 구성 Bedding Type  : 킹 침대 1개
숙박 인원  number of people staying : 
기준 인원 2명 Standard number of 2 people
최대 인원 2명  maximum number of 2 people
인원추가요금 : additional charge for personnel 25,000
평형 square meter  : 22
구성품 Components
침대,의자, 티테이블, 옷장, TV, 에어컨, 냉장고 or 미니바,  헤어드라이기, 욕실용품, 샤워가운, 슬리퍼,욕조, 금고
£65
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.1 miles from Seoulwise Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Standard Room at the Koreana Hotel
£97
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.0 miles from Seoulwise Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
room with view
£74
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
10.9 miles from Seoulwise Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Pool
£56
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
12.3 miles from Seoulwise Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
£46
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.8 miles from Seoulwise Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £95
  • Priceline
3.5 miles from Seoulwise Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £64
  • Algotels
4.3 miles from Seoulwise Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Restaurant
LUXURY TWIN
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £73
  • Priceline
7.7 miles from Seoulwise Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Seoul
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
48
15
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
48
15
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed here on September 2011, it was possible to do late check-in with prior notification.
Located 5 minutes from Hongik University Station.

Booked double (or twin) ensuite room, the room and bathroom is clean and spacious.
Kitchen available to have breakfast and there's library consisted mostly of traveling books/guide. Wifi available with a very good connection (even in the room).
The owner (Mr Young) is very helpful, asked about our itinerary and gave advice about the best route to take. He's also lending us the Seoul City Pass to use (so we don't have to buy one, because it's non-refundable once bought).
Would love to stay here again when we return to Seoul.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rifqie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Seoulwise Guesthouse should have been on the top 3! The guesthouse did feel home every single day. The rooms and amenities are clean and easy. Each room is equipped with an ensuite bathroom which is important to me. Wifi is excellent everywhere even inside the room. The shower has good water pressure and can adjust temperature. The house/room key would make you feel secured even going home late at night (well even the neighborhood). Basic but filling breakfast is available for the guests. The common area is very homey and it's an area of opportunity to chat with Mr. Young and with other travelers to share ideas and ask questions. Every morning, Mr. Young prepares the breakfast himself and asks you where you would be going for that day, asks why and how we're going to get there. He's more than what you can expect from an owner. He's fantastic! He is a world traveler so he knows and understands exactly what your needs are. He's generous with information and of his time and service especially if it can provide convenience for you. The guesthouse is a 5-minute walk from the station which goes to and from Incheon airport directly. There's also a bus stop, just a little across from the station where it can bring you to Incheon airport. There are nearby restaurants, bakery, grocery and convenience store where you can charge your M-Pass Card easily. Very convenient! Reserving a room is easy. No need for down payment and Mr. Young calls a week before just to confirm your reservation. Our trip to Korea had been made more pleasant by staying here. I definitely recommend and will definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AbbyOchoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Mr. Young was up until nearly 1AM waiting for us to arrive and check in on our first night and was still friendly and helpful. Upon check in, he handed us maps and even lent us subway cards to use during our stay, saving us each the 2500 won on the non-refundable card deposits. He also asked us if we needed an outlet converter. During our entire stay, he and and the other staff were always very quick to answer any questions we had about the city and offer advice. Many guesthouses don't bother with this kind of service, and this is where Seoulwise stands out.

The rooms are clean, but very basic, and are good value for Seoul at 50,000 won per night. Ours was heated well and we didn't have any problem with hot water in the bathroom. The lights in the room are kind of harsh and there's not much in the way of decoration, so it's not all that inviting a place to hang out, but Seoul has so much to do that you'll likely spend very little time at the guesthouse anyways and the common area is comfortable.

Seoulwise is a very good option at this price range and I'd definitely recommend it to others, especially for the handy knowledge and assistance Mr. Young and his staff are able to offer.

Room tip: Room 303 had a problem with the door that even when shut properly, wind would cause it to rattle in the door frame. This woke us up a couple times and was a little bothersome when trying to relax in the room. It may be worth asking if other rooms are available.
Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank mdev85
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2013

My review is a little bit late but my friend and I stayed at Seoulwise last April 2012 and Mr. Young was definitely the best. I got to Seoul at an earlier flight and since our room was not available he offered me to stay at a dorm room to rest and even offered me some breakfast. Also my friend came at a late flight (at around 11pm) and Mr. Young was so kind as to accompany me in his car to the train station since it was raining and cold that night. He speaks good english and offers good advise to travellers particularly with food ^_^. Location wise it was really convenient as it was near the Hongik University area. The rooms were clean and spacious for a twin room and the beds were really comfortable. My friend and I will definitely miss Minnie in her hanbok and walking around Hongik (minus the rain). Hopefully we'll get the chance to go back there again :)

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Muirne97
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Korea is one of my favourite countries that i've ever visited.Since it was my first visit to Korea, i think Seoulwise was a very comfortable place to stay. Mr Young, the owner was very nice and he provided us with some maps near hongik and Seoul. Those informations provided were really helpful. It made us easier to explore Seoul, the location of the guesthouse was near with subway station(hongik university station). Beside the information, he also provided us with healthy breakfast. Since it was winter, the weather was extremely cold and it's really a new experience for me to explore the city which i've never gone before and of course it was really unforgettable moments spent in Seoul. We stayed here from 29th Dec- 3rd January, the private room was really clean, completed with heater and we felt really warm. Thank you Mr young for setting everything for us and I'm absolutely going back to stay in your guesthouse since it's really recommended one to stay in Seoul.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nely_usanto88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews