We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
IS@K Traveler's Lounge
Ranked #145 of 592 Speciality Lodging in Seoul
Reviewed 5 May 2014

It was my first time in Seoul, the whole trip was planned in a hurry and I booked the hostel a day prior to my flight. The location is really good, the hostel being on the main road of Itaewon district. However upon my arrival I got lost and the staff kindly came to pick me up from where I was standing.

The manager and staff are very polite and helpful. The manager takes care of every single one of the people staying in the hostel, helps them with their travel plan, enhances your options by key recommendations, arranges groups of people for trips to a certain place of attraction. They help you by day and night.

The place is a bit old and stacked, but the cleaning service is good. You can also have water, tea, coffee, bread, butter, jam and biscuits for free. I skipped the hostel breakfast to find local alternatives but if I had an extremely tight budget just like in my college years, that would absolutely save the day.

Someone made a comment about the rooms having no locks. They cannot be locked from the outside but they can be locked on the inside. Yet I would love to have a lock for the female only room. The facility has two adjacent entrance doors with electronic security system though.

My only problem with this place is people are too loud and the tv is always open. Since the walls are thin, it was a bit tough to fall asleep sometimes. There was also a guy who got really drunk and aggressive and started drooling over many girls and one night he almost attacked me when I turned him down. However I told the management right away and he was sent away. Still, the rules could be a little more strict in case of such incidents.

Room Tip: Female only room or the separate 4-6 people rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madeleineakaino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

This Hostel was by far the worse I have stayed in while in Korea. The bathroom had fleas, the room didn't have a door, the other guest in the Hostel were rude and extremely loud until 3:00 a.m. in the morning, there was a guy passed out on the couch in the morning when we left, the room was dirty, and the building was not safe/secure (I wouldn't stay here if I was a female). The staff were very disorganized and it seemed as though the only ok thing about this Hostel was the location near Itaewon. Would recommend finding another location to stay and enjoy Seoul!

http://www.istaykorea.com

Room Tip: Do not stay in this Hostel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyler G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Arrived at this place in the afternoon. Getting there was easy. Just the Airport limo and your like 50 metres away. The stairs to the 4th floor can be challenging if your carrying many bags. The staff was very friendly and caring. Place was kept. clean. Many thanks to generous owner for sharing some Korean and Japanese sweets. Also you get to meet other friendly travellers. I will definitely return here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank MyDadisAJournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I believe this is a family-run establishment and the staff, especially the university-age son, was gracious and helpful (so give him a raise, Papa!). My friend and I shared a single, which was tucked away in a quiet part of the otherwise very social hostel, so there is something for both worlds. The bathroom and kitchen area were fully stocked, rendering my big bag of toiletries unnecessary. Most importantly, our room and common areas were spotless. Yay! :)

Room Tip: Can't go wrong here! We booked a room last-minute, an hour before arriving, and still received a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank re08082014am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

i stayed at a 4-bed mixed dorm and it was just myself in the room in both nights. beds and the room were clean and tidy. bathroom and shower were also ok. the only thing is that they don't give you a shower towel. they give you a small towel which can barely dry your face. but overall nice staff and friendly people. they give you free breakfast (toasts with butter, jam and coffee).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is a nice place to stay and is located in a central area of Seoul. The staff is helpful and really thorough when giving you directions to sites to check out. You have to hike up a few flights of stairs with your luggage, but worth it as the accommodations are well maintained and clean. The beds could be more comfortable, but otherwise there is a lot of space in the dorm rooms (and large lockers). Try bringing a shower bag though for your clothing and toiletries (as there aren't many areas to hang your items in the shower facilities). I found the hostel was very easy to navigate to and from via the subway system, so I would recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miin-niibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This place is warm and full of life. Indeed, The staff works a lot on making you comfortable. The location is great, there are different kind of rooms (2 Beds, 4...), many things to drink and eat for free, clean bathroom, and the most important thing : people from the staff are really helpful and aware of anything you need. I met a lot of very nice people in there. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julien K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Itaewon
Dodam Guesthouse
Dodam Guesthouse
#103 of 592 in Seoul
20 reviews
Itaewon
Yacht Guesthouse
Yacht Guesthouse
#47 of 592 in Seoul
50 reviews
Itaewon
G Itaewon Guest House
G Itaewon Guest House
#12 of 592 in Seoul
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#15 of 506 in Seoul
3,399 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IS@K Traveler's Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IS@K Traveler's Lounge

Address: 238 Itaewon-ro, Yongsan-gu-gu | 4f, Seoul 140-892, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Itaewon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 592 Speciality Lodging in Seoul
Price Range: £13 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ISAK Guest House is a brand new Guest House (Backpckers Hostel) in Itaewon, Seoul. We are the first hostel in Itaewon Area. Itaewon is the most famous and familiar place where is fun, interresting, convenient for tourist. You can easily access to ISAK Guset House from Incheon International Airport by Air Port Limousine Bus No. 6060 and also from Gimpo Air Port or Seoul Station (Railway)by Subway linesAir Port Limousine bus No. 6060 stops at the front of ISAK Guest House every 15-20 Min. From Subway line No.6 Itaewon or Hangangjin Staion it takes only 5 min by walk. ISAK Guesthouse offers cheap, clean, convenient, comfortable and cozy space to all guests,ISAK Guesthouse hopes all guests to understand and learn something with exchanging their hearts and feelings and also sharing information and knowledge for travel each other. This is ISAK GH's policy.All staffs and host will welcome you with warm heart and help you for your memorable staying in Korea. we are very happy to wait for the guests from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your IS@K Traveler's Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing