We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Irene City
Nearby Hotels
US$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$283
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$286
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$281
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel PJ Myeongdong(Seoul)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
5
26
30
7
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
26
30
7
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Me and grandmother had booked this hotel for seven nights but we only stayed for about 60 min. The room was so small you couldn't even open the bathroomdoor really open. The bathroom was seethrough and there where no courtains. The room was non-smoking but when se came (we were early) the cleaning staff were smoking in the room. The bed linnens were not clean either. The only good thing I can say about this place is that the guy in the reception was nice and helpful and we got the money back for six nights even if it was against there policy.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Jessib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Location is good 5 mnt walk to CItyhall Metro station & opposit namdaemun market
Room is little bit small but have PC , large LCD Tv , save deposit box & free Wifi
Bathroom have jacuzy and modern toilet but little bit to dark & to small washbassin.
Receptionist is very helpfull & friendly & speak good english

Room Tip: Choose room in the high floor for avoid the noise from the street
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wimpyjono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

i booked a standard double room. it was located at level 3 of the building. the room is very small and pricey but i think we should be grateful as hotels in Seoul are not cheap thus we have to just bear with it. It's very near to namdaemun Gate 2. Just go down the underground alley where you can find abundant of shops down there and i liked browsing at the items sold there.

However because the room is too small, I suggest you stay here without any little children. Or, book a larger room as i couldn't even move to the toilet. I think the room is ridiculously small.

Room Tip: Request for a larger room even if you need to wait as the rooms are not all the same size.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AzlinZain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

First of all, don't confuse this hotel as "Hotel Irene", this is "Hotel Irene City". We were somewhat mislead by the hotel names and it ended up almost ruining our vacation.

Pros:
Very close to Namdaemun Market, City Hall, and Myeongdong.
Has numerous cheap eateries and 24hr convenience stores nearby, and proximity to subway (City Hall) made it convenient to travel around.
24hr running hot water.
Free high-speed wireless internet.
Basic amenities like toiletries, fridge, hairdryer, hot water boiler, drinking water, room slippers and tea/coffee were provided.
Fixtures were pretty new.
Rooms were clean, and cleaned on a daily basis to the same standard.

Cons:
Located in a unsafe area surrounded by room salons and bars that frequently have drunken and semi-abusive local and foreign customers. Would recommend travelling in a group for safety.
Rooms are VERY small.
Beds are VERY small. We had to take turns when changing clothes because there was just no room to stand.
No space to hang clothes/towels.
No carpet, no sofa.
No windows.
No non-smoking rooms.
No natural ventilation.
Air-conditioning unit was positioned to blow right at the bed, which resulted in us falling sick from the direct blast.

Took KAL bus #6015 (10,000KRW) from Incheon airport and alighted at Namdaemun stop. Had to cross the road and walk about 10 minutes to get to the hotel, which was located in an alley off the main Bukchang-dong stretch. Hotel's located on the 3rd and 4th floors of a building and it wasn't easy to find (look skywards for the hotel name on a sign in the alley).

Checked-in with little fuss and we had rooms on the same level as reception (Floor "F"). Entered the room and found to our dismay that there was no space for us to even open our luggage. Had to unpack everything and put the empty suitcases under the bed during our stay. Our clothes and other stuff went into the tiny closet that sat right above the mini-fridge. The room was decently clean though.

One minor plus point was that it was easy to get on the wireless internet, and internet speeds were excellent.

The toilet facilities were basic at best, with a standing shower, but the design and limited space caused the entire toilet (including the toilet roll) to get wet whenever someone took a shower.
But I had to applaud the way the room and toilet were designed to really maximize the use of space.

We experienced very poor sleep quality during our stay because the air-conditioning unit blew directly at the bed, and because it was summer, we had to have the air-conditioning on. Also, in the mornings, the sound of banging and scraping and water running basically woke us up everyday, starting from 7.30am. We tried to pay for an upgrade to a larger room but were told that they were already fully booked, even at the main branch of Hotel Irene.

The hotel room rate also did not include breakfast, but it was relatively easy to find coffee and donuts at Dunkin Donuts nearby, as well as at the numerous road-side stalls along the main street.

The clincher came at the end of our stay when we were checking out, I discovered a charge of 48,000KRW for a local phone call made to a local mobile phone number from my room phone. When I queried the front desk on the details of the bill, it showed that I was being billed for a phone call that lasted 54846 seconds (approximately 15 hours) to a domestic mobile phone number, and they insisted I had made the call. It was only after an hour of arguing with the management, and getting my Korean friend to talk to them directly, that they finally relented and acknowledged it could be a problem either with the Telecom company or their hotel billing system. As I was rushing to make my flight, I could only leave it as that, but it definitely left a sour taste in my mouth as the "highlight" of our stay at Hotel Irene City. I can only hope that I never have to stay at this hotel again, despite its "convenient" location.

I would recommend that if your budget allows, to stay at an alternative hotel.

Room Tip: Expect to get what you pay for.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roastduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This hotel was ok but we would not stay again.

Our main issues were the noise, the cigarette smoke, and the size of the room. There seemed to be no sound insulation at all and we could here everything from above, from the room next door, and the hallway. Cleaning staff were using loud vacuums early (before 9) which disrupted our sleep. Also, cigarette smoke seemed to filter into our room which was awful and we couldn't get rid of the smell. We were in a deluxe twin room and it was tiny. Too small for two people. Beds were hard as is to be expected in Korea.

Other than these problems, the hotel was ok. The positives would be the free wifi and the good location for sightseeing around city hall.

Overall, we didn't sleep very well there so we wouldn't stay again. There are better choices out there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews