We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great budget biz hotel, excellent location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Irene City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Irene City
Ranked #357 of 468 Hotels in Seoul
Jakarta
Level Contributor
237 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 498 helpful votes
“Great budget biz hotel, excellent location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

No, you won't find luxury or amenities here, but you will get a clean & functional room (albeit tiny), at a great location. It is within walking distance to many Seoul's attractions including the famed Namdaemun market, Myeong-Dong shopping district and City Hall area. If you don't mind a bit of a pleasant walk, GyeongBok Palace is also not too far. The hotel is also smack in the middle of restaurant & nightlife area. It remains vibrant until late at night. A great place to find local delicacies, and they are available at wide price points. In short, I felt it was worth my $.
Another plus: it is also within walking distance from at least 2 airport buses and the City Hall subway station.
I also appreciate the fact that the reception staff spoke excellent English and was helpful with local maps and tips.
Do print out a map from the booking site before you leave home. It's not as difficult to find as some poeple said.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OdysseusNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    26
    30
    6
    8
See reviews for
13
15
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Travelled to Seoul as a couple and stayed at this place for 6 nights. Let's start with the negative stuff first - the room is small (especially if you take the queen sized bedroom), with no real space for luggage (agreeing with the previous comments & reviews of this place) and last but not least, the sound insulation of this place is pretty bad (and I usually wear earplugs to sleep as I am quite sensitive to noise whilst asleep).

But that is it, really. By far the biggest asset of this place is the location - beautifully and centrally located around the areas of Namdaemun, Gwanghwamun (and subsequently Gyeongbuk Palace) and Myeong-Dong market - all just minutes away from the hotel. It is a bit harder to locate this hotel (once again, agreeing with the previous reviews here), but you will find it nonetheless. The locals will know the other Irene Hotel which is the bigger one and located along the main street of establishments, but just Irene City is also easy to locate. It is next to a place called 'Suitcasers' and all you have to do is find the local convenient store (called 'S25') or to find a place with two guard statues - Hotel Irene City is directly inside the corner street (statues are facing the street and S25 store is the beginning corner of the street). The hotel is also very near to the City Hall metro station.

Lastly, the hotel service is great. Staffs (we spoke to about 4 different individuals during our stay) are friendly and helpful. No room service but you don't need one really - food is always available in the area, though the rooms will be cleaned daily and new sheets, towels and amenities are provided daily. Wifi is great and available in rooms and in the lounge area.

Would definitely come here again - in fact already planning one for next year with this hotel in mind!

Room Tip: Double single bed rooms are bigger and have more space in the room than a double bed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SteveLam86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 days.
And yes its dificult to find the first time, but not as hard as pref comments say.
you can walk there from Seoul Train station or from City hall Metro stop.
Its accros the street from namdung market.
and close by its big sister hotel irene city.
its in the middle of center, so no need to use Metro, you can walk everything you want.
Insadong street is just a 10min walk, and all the palace`s are on walking distance.
Just get a clear city map, and you will be fine.
There is NO breakfast, but why you need it.
I had a room with a small window, its a small room, but ok, you get new towels everyday.
There is a tv, and free wifi in your room.
The bathroom is OK, small but ok for one person.
And you have a raisor, shampoo,bathsoap etc etc etc.
There is comp near the reception, its free with internet and printer.
You can do a half day DMZ tour for 46.000 won, its nice and well done.
Reception staff is Excellence in service, japanese lady is very good, and speaks Japanese,korean,English
You can also get a iron board from the Reception.
There is a FREE watermachine, and free bottle of water in you fridge in the room.
This is a very good hotel , for you short stay in seoul.
Price is very good and cheap !!!!!


1 thing NOT SO GOOD : Bathroom / shower curtin is not clean and very dirty !!!!!

Hope to stay here soon again.

Room Tip: Room 811 has a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank backpacker2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Navigating narrow side streets whose names we couldn't read would have daunted us, but not knowing this beforehand sure made our first-time visit to Seoul that much more exciting!

We thought we were booking Irene Hotel (a whole building) located near a corner of a major road in Jung-Gu, not its sister hotel which occupied only two floors of another building tucked snugly amid dozens of small Korean restaurants in a narrow side street with signage written only in Korean.

No worries though - a handful of locals (most were also clueless like us) were very patient in helping or trying to help us find our way. It was funny how some of them worried more than we did that we couldn't find the building. Coming from chaotic Manila, we thought Seoul would be a walk in the park.

We took an Airport (Incheon) bus (fare around USD 10), and after going down and up an over pass, up and down a small "hill", through some narrow streets, and an elevator ride, we finally arrived at the front desk of Hotel Irene City!

We were checked in in a jif, considering we had a mix up with the dates (we had confirmed booking for the day after our arrival), and were soon relaxing in our relatively small room. But the beds were firm and the pillows soft, linens were stark white in their cleanliness. We enjoyed a wide array of toiletries we were not expecting to have in a budget hotel (we even had assorted-colored scrunchies!).

I was a happy camper coz the bath was spacious and super clean! Food was easy to find - there was a very good Korean restaurant at the ground floor of the hotel, although quite pricey. We also tried the other restaurants around; Western fast food can be found in the malls (LOTTE is a 10-minute walk). Convenience stores are practically in every street corner.

The City Hall train station is a 5-minute walk from the hotel, and there is at least one palace, a museum, and a night market in the same radius. Location is really a major plus of this hotel.

The front desk also had several tours on offer - we immediately booked the DMZ Tour (never mind that the news coming from the North were increasingly, urgently bad - intrepid travelers are not easily discouraged) thru the ever friendly front desk lady, and the Seoul Night Tour by Bus we got to learn from the various brochures they had on display. Since we paid the walk-in rate for our first day, we were offered free breakfast in the nearby Hotel Irene, but we never did get to go - there was always somewhere to go – fast! - (and something to do every day of our visit - even when temperatures dipped below zero and all we brought were summer clothes!).

The streets around City Hall are surrounded by business establishments and are safe for walking even if one is really late in getting back to the hotel. Hotel Irene City is a convenient and budget-saving choice in exploring Seoul.

Room Tip: Request rooms away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

The location must be the best asset of this hotel, but in our thoughts it didn't dissapoint in any other area either. Our room certainly wasn't too small and we could easily spread both our luggages on the floor and still move around. Sure it was smaller than some hotels we've been to but unlike other rewievers, we didn't feel it was too small for us. It was cleaned daily (they didn't change the sheets every day but who does that in their own home either, so it didn't bother us) and if we were in the room during the day they called us and asked if we needed house keeping and when.
We slept fine throughout the whole two weeks we spend there. Didn't talk with the staff that much but when we did they spoke good english and were very nice.
All in all we have nothing bad to say about this hotel, would definetily consider staying there again! ^^

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suhmurka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

Near city hall station. Can access by hotel limousine number 6015, but please do some prior research.
Reasonably sized room. No frills budget stay. Hotel staff speaks a bit of english.
Sleep quality acceptable. Just that one of the nights, heard people outside quarelling and knocking on the thin walls.

Room Tip: A bit difficult to locate hotel. Recommend not travel solo for single ladies, as the quite lanes cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDEXXXXD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

United lost my luggage somewhere between SF and Seoul (or TSA screwed it up) and I stayed here hoping the luggage would show up before I took the KTX to Daegu. It was $48 for the night. Small room, no real room for luggage, but so what, you get what you pay for. I slept fine. It is only a 15 minute walk to Seoul station. I suppose the neighborhood is not great but I never feel unsafe in Korea. Certainly no one accosted me. If you are looking for an inexpensive place to sleep that is convenient, this place is fine.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Irene
Hotel Irene
#331 of 468 in Seoul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Tong Seoul Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Cozy Myeongdong
Hotel Cozy Myeongdong
#253 of 468 in Seoul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Mizo Hotel
Mizo Hotel
#224 of 468 in Seoul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Aropa
Hotel Aropa
#144 of 468 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Stay Hotel
The Stay Hotel
#259 of 468 in Seoul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Irene City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Irene City

Property: Hotel Irene City
Address: 26-10, Namdaemun-ro 1-gil, Jung-gu | 3-4F, Seoul 04526, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #357 of 468 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Irene City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Irene City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing