We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not reccomend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Benhur Jongno
Ranked #460 of 959 Seoul B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I would like to give some information about my recent stay at Benhur Hotel in Seoul, Korea. I made the booking online through asiarooms.com and thought I was staying at a Hotel, but it was actually a Motel. There was internet facility but it was very slow that it could hardly even be used. The bed in the room had no sheets on the matteress, it only had a matteress protector and a quilt. Under the bed was extremely dirty, there was coffee cups and hot water but no milk was supplied and no sugar was suplied, just coffee and cups. The staff didn't understand or speak english, there were no clothes washing facilities and being an Asthmatic the room and the Motel only supply smoking rooms, the room was cleaned only 3 times during my 7 night stay, if I had known any of these factors I would not have chosen this place to stay and the fact that it is being advertised as a Hotel and not a Motel is very misleading. I was extremely disappointed with the service and cleanliness, and would not recommend this place to anyone, also I will think twice about booking a room through asiarooms for my next International trip. It was very over priced for the location and quality. I would have preferred staying somewhere else even if it had costed me a little extra. The mattress was hard and not comfortable at all.

Room Tip: Book a different place to stay. This place may have been good when it was new but it is old and not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2011

Convenient location, it's near the subway, plenty of food in the area and it's near some of the attractions.

And it goes downhill from here.

This is more motel than hotel. The bathroom stunk. There isn't a separate shower, so you have to shower standing in the bathtub which doesn't drain very well. No closet space or drawers to stow your clothes and items. Room was very small, there was hardly any space left to walk once the luggage was open.

The receptionist was the "concierge" and also the security & valet. His english was very limited which made the communication difficult.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AfflatedMizzlinG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John-Mung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank i_am_Nuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hathaipat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nyarome-ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klimasik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#15 of 506 in Seoul
3,399 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hongdae
Birdsnest Hostel
Birdsnest Hostel
#19 of 592 in Seoul
84 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Ocloud Hotel
Ocloud Hotel
#33 of 506 in Seoul
325 reviews
Korstay
#92 of 592 in Seoul
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Benhur Jongno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Benhur Jongno

Address: 37, Daehak-ro 1-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul 110-835, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #460 of 959 B&Bs / Inns in Seoul
Price Range: £29 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Benhur Jongno 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Benhur Jongno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing