We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive Seoul”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam
Ranked #26 of 536 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Mannheim, Germany
11
Reviewed 6 December 2011

A solid good quality hotel of the Novotel brand.
Breakfast buffet is good with lots of choice. The location is excellent in downtown city Seoul.
However I was fairly shocked by the room rate which shot up more than 20% in 6 months. And on top hotel decided to exclude use of the sauna/spa even for superior room guests which means another 25k Won if you want to use the sauna. Gym and pool both free of charge for any guest. Golf driving range available for 15k Won.
For me the newly renovated sports/wellness area was the main reason for choosing this hotel again but with the new policy I think it was the last time I stayed there....

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2011

Dear guest,

Our rates do fluctuate with the time of year/season which would account for the percieved increase however of the 5 star hotels in Seoul we remain value for money in comparison. We have always maintained a charge for the Sauna & Golf as a means to provide a great and updated product and reduce the number of guests as we have limited capacity and desire our guests the best possible experience without being overcrowded.

Best regards,

Mike BROWN
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

746 - 752 of 1,569 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2011

Korea was not on my bucket list but when a business trip to Seoul became necessary I was booked into this hotel by a travel agent. Novotel is owned by Europe's largest hotel company, Accord (it owns Sofitel); it is a mid-level brand. I thought this hotel was good value. For $20 extra per night I stayed on an "execitive floor", which I thought was worth the money (there's an exclusive lounge with free breakfast and day-long drinks plus meeting rooms). There was a lot of street noise penetration even on the 15th floor weekend nights (my room faced south) until 6 am. The Japanese and European restaurants were expensive and the food average; the second floor buffet had decent breakfasts but other meals are unmemorable. Oddly, the main floor lounge had the best food (seafood pizza was very good). Service was excellent. The staff's English was good; at front desk, pretty fluent. Fitness facility (includes golf hitting cages) and pool were good (the Korean custom of men wandering naked in the (male) spa takes getting used to, as does the fact that fitness facility users are given standard shirts and shorts to wear!) My room was big enough with a king bed, sofa, desk, and plenty of storage. Mini bar and related items were well stocked (including one condom! I didn't get lucky though); there's room in the fridge for your own drinks. The neighbourhood is pretty bland although just 5 minutes west is a nice bookstore (Kyobo) that sells English language books. The hotel is on the south side of the river, in a primarily commercial district that is reasonably up-scale. Guests included lots of business travellers, Korean families from out of town, a Thai tour group, and wedding guests -- the ballrooms were in frequent use. There's a few shops in a tiny mall in the basememt that appears to have no customers. The 7-11 across the street is the best bet for sundries. Not first class, but good value.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCLionfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2011

Dear BCLionfan,

Thanks for taking the time to provide extensive feedback to those future travellers to Seoul. I just wished you had have asked concierge "where to go" as just behind the hotel approximately 3 minutes walk is a bustling restaurant and shopping area. Look forwarded to showing you when you are next in town.

Best regards,

Mike BROWN
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed at the Novotel Ambassador for a few nights while attending at fair at the nearby COEX. From Incheon, it's very easy to get there. There is a bus line that serves a few hotels. Just make sure you pick the right one, for the right Novotel (there are two in Seoul). It will drop you right after the Ritz Carlton, which is next door.
It's a big hotel, well kept and rather nice and big rooms for a Novotel. However, I'm used to cheaper prices for this brand and I found this one a bit on the high end...
COEX is about 10-15 minutes by cab with average traffic.
Rooms are nice, but I got two twin beds instead of one big bed, as requested. It was fine as I was alone but if you're traveling with your significant other, putting two twins together just doesn't make it.
Good service, good breakfast. The Gangnam area is very lively at night, with lots of eateries and shops. Just walk down the hill on your left when exiting the hotel.
If you need to be on the other side of the Han river (Northern part of the city), then I would recommend another hotel as traffic was a nightmare... got stuck in a tunnel for 30 minutes without moving a single meter.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enelym1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

Dear enelym1978,

Thanks for supplying these insights to our future guests and the trick to a quick river crossing is the subway.

Best regards,

Mike BROWN
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The hotel is very good. The location is a bit out of downtown Seoul, but the metro station is just 3 minutes away. I large shopping/entertainment street is just two blocks away.

From the airport you can reach hotel with Korean airlines bus (it will take an hour or so).

What I liked the most in this hotel was the health club. They have excellent indoor swimming pool, fitness center, indoor golf practice room, dancing hall and sauna. All the equipment is available (swimming cap, pants, T-shirt, even socks, toothpaste, moisturising cream,...).

Breakfast is good, variety of food is excellent - they even offer chocolate fondue :-)

Beware: lobby bar is very expensive...

Room Tip: Take superior floor room if you can - free shoe cleaning service included
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fragi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

Dear Fragi,

Glad you enjoyed the hotel especially the fitness centre. We hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,

Mike BROWN
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Adelaide, Australia
1
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Room had no aircon or airflow available ( brought fan). toilet position very cramped. tiles on bath broken. Internet slow and expensive. Laundry very expensive. Old tired hotel not up to my usual expectations of Accor Novotel or Sofitel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2011

Dear guest,

We are planning a refurbishment and Internet service is going to be replaced by upper version soon. Nowadays we renovate step by step for guest satistaction.

Best regards,

Mike BROWN
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

The bed was firm, good night's sleep. Rooms a bit tired looking. May be worth staying on exec floor as free breakfast included, fine if you don't want a massive breakfast. Air conditioning didn't work well and ended up opening window, only to shut them when road/construction noise woke me (even on very high floor).

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2011

Dear KatsUk,

As part of an ongoing refurbishment plan we have started with the beds, then TVs and the next step will be the rooms and bathroom interiors. Thanks for your comment.

Best regards,

Mike BROWN
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I must thank all staff for thier very good hospitality

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

Dear Tarek K,

Rest assured I will pass on your comments to the team and thank you for taking the time as this is very inspirational to our team.

Best regards,

Mike BROWN
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Mercure Seoul Ambassador Gangnam Sodowe
Samseongdong / COEX
Imperial Palace Seoul
Imperial Palace Seoul
#29 of 536 in Seoul
941 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Ocloud Hotel
Ocloud Hotel
#37 of 536 in Seoul
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Best Western Premier Gangnam
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Dormy Inn Seoul Gangnam
Dormy Inn Seoul Gangnam
#119 of 536 in Seoul
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam

Address: 130, Bongeunsa-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 06124, South Korea
Phone Number:
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Seoul
#17 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#21 Business Hotel in Seoul
#23 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
Price Range: £92 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam 5*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the fashionable shopping and restaurant district of Gangnam, near COEX, and close to transportation hubs. The hotel offers 332 rooms including new renovated Superior & Premier Executive Floor rooms in high quality of design standards and complimentary WIFI access, a mix of modern and classic dining and entertaining choices together with a state of the art "Inbalance" fitness centre, which has a heated indoor swimming pool, sauna and golf range to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul Hotel Seoul
Novotel Seoul
Accor Ambassador Gangnam Seoul
Seoul Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing