We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambassador Gangnam stands out from other Novotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam
Ranked #34 of 471 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Ambassador Gangnam stands out from other Novotels”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I treated myself to a couple of restful days in Seoul and my time was enhanced thanks to the Ambassador Gangnam Novotel. The lobby is lovely - not too loud in that shiny, touristy way.The location is superb for exploring a great city. I easily got around on foot, the subway, and the occasional cab is quite cheap.

The room had a nice feel, compared to some Novtels, which I find can be a bit tired and small. The health club at this hotel is a bonus. It has local members who use the facilities and hang out which adds a nice hubub. I used the pool, the gym and the sauna. I also shouted myself a well priced massage.

Great staff and and great stay. Thanks

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Christopher G,

Glad that you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    628
    137
    30
    15
See reviews for
247
163
103
666
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

OK so I hit send too quickly.. forgot to mention the almost Un usable wifi (free), even if it was a million dollars a day it is still useless (I have a lovely screen shot of my Android phone telling me so). And ghastly buffet food. Raw cold lamb, warm rare OK. . But cold raw smelly old hogget (yes I'm from a farm) severed as lamb noooo. ..

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TW_Auck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear TW_Auck,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. My apologies that you met with many frustrations during your stay but appreciate you conceding the 'Service great. Staff very friendly'. We have just completed refurbish 3floors and will continue this process. Your comments about service in the Lounge came as a shock as it is usually more than adequate manner and has received really good feedback. We are reviewing your complaint regarding WIFI with our supplier, and ever though it is complimentary all our guests must have ease and speed... this will be improved. Your comments in regards to the buffet have been discussed with our chef and Restaurant manager in regards to the carvery section of the buffet.. as the heat lamb and slow movement are not doing the imported Australian lamb justice.. As most of our guests are not attracted to Lamb we plan to delete this menu item. Thanks again for letting me know so we can continue improvement.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

So this place is in sort of Gang Nam. It's prices are very high. I normally stay in the Intercontinental and feel that the Novotel Is OK but rooms in poor condition. Cracked tiles all over bathroom. Dirty couch. No iron in room. Service great. Staff very friendly. Lobby lounge a joke. Why do I have to chase staff to get served? Come on guys you are charging a fortune for a coffee and I have to corner your staff and beg for a coffee!!! Expect this in Australia but not in Seoul.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TW_Auck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear TW_Auck,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. My apologies that you met with many frustrations during your stay but appreciate you conceding the 'Service great. Staff very friendly'. We have just completed refurbish 3floors and will continue this process. Your comments about service in the Lounge came as a shock as it is usually more than adequate manner and has received really good feedback. We are reviewing your complaint regarding WIFI with our supplier, and ever though it is complimentary all our guests must have ease and speed... this will be improved. Your comments in regards to the buffet have been discussed with our chef and Restaurant manager in regards to the carvery section of the buffet.. as the heat lamb and slow movement are not doing the imported Australian lamb justice.. As most of our guests are not attracted to Lamb we plan to delete this menu item. Thanks again for letting me know so we can continue improvement.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The Novotel is not a bad spot, located in Seouls affluent Gangnam area, there's a tonne of decent restaurants nearby. The room was fairly typical Novotel, tidy, clean and reasonably appointed. The staff were also pretty helpful and complimentary in room wifi made a big difference too.

About the only negative, albeit a realitively small annoyance was the lack of power sockets by the bed - for some strange reason they were next to the TV. Not ideal for using a flat laptop whilst lying on the bed.

This aside, the Novotel Gangnam isnt a bad spot to stay when in Seoul

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSeoulGN, Resident Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear PatrickP,

The location of hotel is very good as you noticed. And also room size is comfortable for all types of travellers. Now you can enjoy our new rooms on Executive Floor which are renovated last week.

Charles LEE
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The hotel is located very strategically in gangnam area, a lot of eateries within a short walking distance from the hotel...a very happening club for youngster is right next door

Room is small (typical seoul hotel), but very clean and bed is comfy. After my trip from jeju and mt. seorak, staying in novotel feels like heaven...I slept like I were in heaven, ha3

ha3, but in all honesty, the room was normal, small, clean, comfy.
Breakfast is good, selection was quite okay, but taste-wise for me is above average...the pastry was better than regular hotel pastry, the fruit was fresh, the bulgogi was very nice, etc.

Service is quite good, the waiter during breakfast is helpful and polite, my check-out experience is also good.

If you're planning to stay in novotel gangnam, I think it's one of the better hotel in gangnam and I would say you would be quite satisfied in terms of your basic need there. :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 3mt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSeoulGN, General Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear 3mt1 ,

Thanks for taking the time and effort to share your positive comments with future Travellers to Seoul.
As you noted Gangnam is a hub for fashion, cafes and nightlife and the hotel is ideally situated. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Mike Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I made this booking for Easter weekend in hopes that renovations will be completed by mid-April. It was not and we had to put up with some noise during the day on weekdays. The staff has assured me that renovations will be completed soon within the next few months.

I was disappointed to learn that the rooms on the executive floor on the 5th level are the same rooms as standard rooms except for Nespresso machine and shoeshine cabinets at the lift lobby. The unrenovated room was tired, old and cramped. Take note that room doors do not shut behind you - this proved useful when we had to leave the door and windows open when the AC was insufficient for a hot Seoul spring day.

With only 3 lifts, elevator service was slow and one even broke down twice during my 3 day stay. Same selections at breakfast three days in a row.

The renovations means that the executive lounge was closed. Happy hour cocktails at the executive lounge is now replaced by a simple buffet in the lobby between 5 - 7pm. The selection was limited to 3 hot dishes. The cheese selection was appalling - no decent French hotel chain should be allowed to serve processed cheese slices. The beverage selection was limited to substandard French table wines, standard budget liquors and local beers.

We enjoyed the health club facilities especially the small outdoor terrace. The pool is packed with children on Sunday and impossible to use. Beware of hidden charges if you use the attached sauna facilities. Make sure you mention to the staff that you're using the gym/pool facilities only to avoid the extra fee imposed per person per visit.

Room Tip: Stay at low floors to avoid noise during renovations
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSeoulGN, Resident Manager at Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Traminer ,

My apologies for your unsatisfied experience during refurbishment period. We have just completed refurbish 3floors and now you can open the windows if you want to enjoy spring of Seoul. Individual Air-condition is also available. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Charles LEE
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Mercure Seoul Ambassador Gangnam Sodowe
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Ocloud Hotel
Ocloud Hotel
#36 of 471 in Seoul
264 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Best Western Premier Gangnam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Samseongdong / COEX
Imperial Palace Seoul
Imperial Palace Seoul
#26 of 471 in Seoul
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam

Property: Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam
Address: 130, Bongeunsa-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 06124, South Korea
Phone Number:
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Seoul
#21 Business Hotel in Seoul
#23 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#24 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam 5*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the fashionable shopping and restaurant district of Gangnam, near COEX, and close to transportation hubs. The hotel offers 332 rooms including new renovated Superior & Premier Executive Floor rooms in high quality of design standards and complimentary WIFI access, a mix of modern and classic dining and entertaining choices together with a state of the art "Inbalance" fitness centre, which has a heated indoor swimming pool, sauna and golf range to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ambassador Gangnam Seoul Hotel Seoul
Novotel Seoul
Accor Ambassador Gangnam Seoul
Seoul Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing