We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of The Shilla Seoul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Shilla Seoul
Ranked #13 of 473 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at The Shilla for 3 days during a business trip, and i was really impressed. The rooms have been renovated lately and are in perfect condition, especially the bathrooms. The spa and the pool are just great. The breakfast offers a rich choice of asian and western dishes. The service was great, a staff member is in reach any time. I really enjoyed my stay except the hot and steamy weather. But that's a thing Even The Shilla can't change.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 1969jmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    980
    418
    82
    33
    23
See reviews for
374
321
104
385
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed in two hotels in Seoul during the period of 25th Jun to 2nd Jul. The first four nights I spent in JW Marriott Dongdaemun, the next two nights at Shilla Hotel. Not aware of how and where, I got an insect bite on my finger, which developed into a big red lump in less than 24 hours I found it, just the night I moved in Shilla Hotel.

Shilla's front desk assistants gave me very good advice, helped me look for pharmacy and offered free transportation and translator to accompany me to the ER at a famous Korean hospital. It made me feel like I was just looked after by family members. I'd like to thank you for your care and assistance, without which I might just have to end my trip abruptly. Now, I think my trip was full of wonderful and interesting experience.

An extra note, the bedding of Shilla hotel was of very good quality.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Queenie20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I have stayed in The Shilla Hotel a few times over the past 2 months every time I visited Korea for business. Quite surprised with all those details (toiletries to amenity) and excellent food quality and taste. Even for the banquet and conference, the quality and taste of food stood out and surprised me. New interior design is superb, simple, elegant but modern, but room size isn't that big enough. Breakfast buffet is AMAZING but very expensive. I have been very pleased with the attentive and very giving service. Swimming pool is simply amazing as well but too much of kids shouting and runnung around. NEVER relaxing. Always need TAXI to reach somewhere, so nothing much around the hotel except duty free shop, which seems the cheapest place to buy any luxury goods all over Asia. I believe the hotel offers the best bed and bedding sets. Such heavenly. For this price I paid, I'd rather try somewhere cheaper though. I'd love to come back at business expense, but not at my own expense.

Room Tip: Stay at higher floor to enjoy the view. If you want a nature, please choose the mountain views. City...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank B J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Still okay but has gotten expensive and slid downhill from a few years back. I used to love this place as was typical Korea and service was great. Now wa become quite standard and not a good value . There are better choices in Seoul for the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nellieHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Under no circumstances should this be sold as a relaxing, quiet resort. I found it anything but. Extremely busy; especially the pool area throughout the entire day with screaming children and large families.

I have rated it still very good because it is not the hotel's fault but it should be known to a prospective guest that a lot of previous guests here bring their children. Therefore I would not recommend for a child free/ relaxing weekend with adults.

However it is there fault for not having a cocktail list .. what kind of five star hotel doesnt have even one type of cocktail!

Having said that service was exceptional, hotel was beautiful (on this inside); the outside looks like a run down marriott and the food although extremely expensive compared to most seoul restaurants I have been to, all tasted very good.

Having spent close to £200 for one night .. I have rated it just very good (at a push); purely based on the efforts of staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caytafee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Causeway Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We got told that Shilla is the best in Seoul.

my gf and i stayed here two night. It's decent enough but not as nice as what I heard Shilla are. Bright, modern, new rennovated architecture but it's really not outstanding... The mini-bar in room has a small selection. I didn't eat anything but it all looked like expensive, cheap food. Didn't go to the lounge either but again, expensive for just a drink.
The pool, I went there, it was PACKED with local korean family. If you want a decent chilling afternoon, do not go there. The baby went from the pool to the spa...made 2 local business call in room and got charged A LOT. Shilla must have forgotten we are still in the 80s. The hotel was clean, and was a decent, comfortable place to stay on but it's way overpriced for the services/quality it delivers.

Room Tip: go to the new marriot
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kib813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The Shilla has spoiled me for any other hotel when I visit Seoul. I love love love this hotel. From the pickup by car service at the airport to late night room service - everything was wonderful.The service is amazing, the food wonderful, the decor impeccable - the best. The Shilla provides Molton Brown products for their guests, I was hooked from the first shower.

It is likely that this will be the only hotel I will use in Seoul.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#32 of 473 in Seoul
3,271 reviews
Seodaemun
Four Seasons Hotel Seoul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
JW Marriott Dongdaemun Square Seoul
Itaewon
Grand Hyatt Seoul
Grand Hyatt Seoul
#67 of 473 in Seoul
2,088 reviews
Yeoido
Conrad Seoul
Conrad Seoul
#21 of 473 in Seoul
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shilla Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shilla Seoul

Property: The Shilla Seoul
Address: 249, Dongho-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04605, South Korea
Phone Number:
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Namsan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Seoul
#6 Family Hotel in Seoul
#8 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#10 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shilla Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shilla Seoul represents the best hotel in Korea, with contemporary design blending well with traditional patterns and style used back in the Shilla Dynasty. Next to the main building stands the former guesthouse that was once used to welcome special guests from around the world. The main building is replete with restaurants offering outstanding international cuisine, a shopping arcade featuring global brand goods, a pool, and a luxurious spa while in a separate building within the property lies a grand duty-free shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Shilla Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shilla Seoul Hotel Seoul
Shilla Hotel Seoul
The Shilla Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing