We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star at good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Chosun Seoul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin Chosun Seoul
Ranked #23 of 468 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“5 star at good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed at this hotel which is next to lotte departmental store and 5 min walk from myeung dong. It was super convenient to find our way around with the train station just downstairs. Did our shopping and meals around the area.
Love the sumptuous breakfast and snacks on executive lounge. There is also very good facilities such as warm swimming pool, gym and bath.
Very friendly staff.
Will return to this hotel again

Room Tip: If you can afford it. Go for executive floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IsabelSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol C, Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Warm greeting from the Westin Chosun, Seoul.

First of all thank you for the great review of our hotel!
It was our pleasure you stayed with us and thank you so much for your compliment and we are encouraged by your nice comment.
We, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are truly welcoming you back again we will do our best so that you would feel home away from home.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Carol Choi GRO Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,156
    667
    145
    39
    31
See reviews for
490
430
182
642
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel is a short 5 min walk to Myeongdon (where all the cosmetic shops are) and Namdaemon. Rooms are nice and hotel staff are friendly. Breakfast is served at their club floor on the 29th floor. Although selection is a little limited, there are a few Korean local selections to choose from, which gives guest to try something new from the Korean culture. I will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitness123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol C, Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Warm greeting from the Westin Chosun, Seoul.

First of all thank you for the great review of our hotel!
It was our pleasure you stayed with us and thank you so much for your compliment and we are encouraged by your nice comment.
We, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are truly welcoming you back again we will do our best so that you would feel home away from home.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Carol Choi GRO Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

It was a historical hotel in Korea since 1914. Of course they had been renovated but it seems a bit worn out already. Especially the wooden floor inside the room at the corridor and the marble inside the bathroom. It's give me a kind of not clean feeling. The room size was smaller than what I expected but the bed was good and comfort. Breakfast was good too. The best was it's just behind the Lotte department store and the subway station line number 2 just underneath of the hotel.by the way if you are Starwood member wifi is free.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cityflyer418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol C, Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for the great review of our hotel!
It was our pleasure you stayed with us and thank you so much for your compliment and we are encouraged by your nice comment.
We, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are truly welcoming you back again we will do our best so that you would feel home away from home.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Carol Choi GRO Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jstern115
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Westin Chosun for 2 weeks in August 2014. In general I had a wonderful stay. The hotel is gorgeous - the design of the lobby, fitness center and restaurants in particular sets this hotel apart from others in Seoul. Rooms are a bit more standardized but they're certainly comfortable and immaculately clean. Housekeeping was *amazing* and it's nice to have a Nespresso machine.

My one heavy complaint, as so many others have mentioned, is the absurd price of ancillary services. The food prices are high, although, if I struggle, I can justify the expense: $55 for the breakfast buffet, $40 for a room service pizza or burger. But the laundry fees are absurd: it would have cost me roughly $200 per day to wash a shirt, undershirt, gym shirt, underwear, pants and socks. This is beyond being just 'expensive' -- it is disrespectful for a hotel to create this kind of inconvenience. No exaggerations: for my two-week stay my laundry bill would have been $2,800USD had I used the in-hotel service. Thankfully the concierge directed me to a nearby dry cleaner. But it was certainly an inconvenience and I've never had to do this before in all my traveling.

That aside, it is a lovely hotel. Although I am a SPG member, I think I would stay at Plaza, Fraser or a similar hotel next time -- the price of room service and laundry is much lower.

A final note: I suggest requesting a view of Seoul City Hall Plaza. On my last day the Pope was speaking at Gwanghwamun and I had a direct view of the festivities from my room! Wonderful!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor facing Seoul City Hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jstern115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol C, Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for the great review of our hotel!
It was our pleasure you stayed with us and thank you so much for your compliment and we are encouraged by your nice comment.
We, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are truly welcoming you back again we will do our best so that you would feel home away from home.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Carol Choi GRO Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

This was my favourite place to stay in Seoul when I needed the feeling of home. I worked as an English teacher in Korea for a little more than 10 years and when I needed to be reminded of Canada, this is where I would stay as a treat to myself. I think it was the granite-clad washrooms and natural wood cupboards that helped to alleviate homesickness! It also helped that the staff were comfortable with English and that the restaurants were amazing! Thanks, Westin-Chosun for some really great memories.
I think I was last there in early 2010 but I think I can be confident that not much has changed in the interim.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol C, Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Warm greeting from the Westin Chosun, Seoul.

First of all thank you for the great review of our hotel!
It was our pleasure you stayed with us and thank you so much for your compliment and we are encouraged by your nice comment.
We, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are truly welcoming you back again we will do our best so that you would feel home away from home.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Carol Choi GRO Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Staff were extremely friendly! Felt like a princess there! Haha
Bed was extra comfy! Although the housekeeper cant really speak english, but they are still very friendly and nice!
Location wise, its super convenient to the subway and myeong dong shopping district is just opposite. Minimart just across the street as well. Love my stay there!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol C, Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Warm greeting from the Westin Chosun, Seoul.

First of all thank you for the great review of our hotel!
It was our pleasure you stayed with us and thank you so much for your compliment and we are encouraged by your nice comment.
We, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are truly welcoming you back again we will do our best so that you would feel home away from home.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Carol Choi GRO Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Good hotel in a convenient location. Stayed in Exec level room. Impressive gym and facilities.

Excellent service and very helpful, attentive staff.

Strongly recommended and I plan to stay on return visit to Seoul.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NRB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol C, Manager at The Westin Chosun Seoul, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Warm greeting from the Westin Chosun, Seoul.

First of all thank you for the great review of our hotel!
It was our pleasure you stayed with us and thank you so much for your compliment and we are encouraged by your nice comment.
We, all our Westin Chosun, Seoul, associates are truly welcoming you back again we will do our best so that you would feel home away from home.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Carol Choi GRO Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#13 of 468 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,098 reviews
Namsan
The Shilla Seoul
The Shilla Seoul
#8 of 468 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
JW Marriott Dongdaemun Square Seoul
Seodaemun
Four Seasons Hotel Seoul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Chosun Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chosun Seoul

Property: The Westin Chosun Seoul
Address: 106 Sogong-Ro, Jung-Gu, Seoul 04533, South Korea
Phone Number:
Region: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#5 Family Hotel in Seoul
#10 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#16 Business Hotel in Seoul
#18 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Chosun Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Seoul's main business and shopping district, the Westin Chosun Seoul is within easy walking distance of major embassies, banks, commercial and government offices, as well as national museums, historic palaces and local markets. 462 Spacious rooms, including 40suites, are exceptionally furnished with every modern amenity. Advanced features include Westin's signature Heavenly Bed, anti-allergy carpet, premium espresso coffee machine, LED TV with Internet, oversized beds, individually controlled air-conditioning, refrigerator, mini bar, in-room electronic safe, full-size writing desk with office task chair, and voice mail. • Institutional Investor - World's Top 100 Hotels (4 consecutive years) • Asiamoney - Best Hotel in Seoul (3 consecutive years) • Travel +Leisure - World's Best 500 Hotels • Conde Nast Travel - Best Hotel in Seoul • Smart Travel Asia - Asia' Top 25 Business Hotels (5 consecutive years) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Starwood APAC, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin Chosun Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Chosun Seoul Hotel Seoul
Westin Chosun Hotel Seoul
Westin Seoul
Seoul Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing