We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top hotel”
Review of Grand Hyatt Seoul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Seoul
Ranked #69 of 493 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Top hotel”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel is a real top hotel with several restaurants and shopping inside the hotel. The gym is perfect and well equiped. Prices in some areas are to high. Best thing is the bar JJ. The do play live music, with a top band entertaining perfectly and making the stay superiour.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thilo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Expert at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your compliments on Grand Hyatt Seoul as being a “Top Hotel”. It was so nice and pleasing to read your review. We are committed to doing our best to satisfy each and every one of our guests who stay with us, and it is gratifying to hear that we have met your expectations.
Thank you and hope to meet you again soon.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Expert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    972
    752
    233
    103
    62
See reviews for
355
347
205
974
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Its an impressive hotel with the best service, people are always friendly and happy and willing to help in every way, lovely and typical Korean style friendliness which we appreciated

The rooms were ok, bed was a bit on the hard side but got used to it in the end

Downfall would be the location for those who like to walk to the city centre (moi) its too far, will always need to catch a taxi to your location which isnt so bad since the price of taxis are cheap (6,000-9,000) to anywhere in the city centre (make sure you take a return card with you as a lot of the taxi drivers dont speak english!)

Food in general at the restaurant is on the expensive side but its what you would expect from this type of hotel - gotta admit that every single meal was delicious!

The view is great from the hotel down to the city and to the mountain where the Seoul Tower is

The housekeeping is brilliant, always someone ready to clean your room or give you spare towels

There is also a nice pool outside on the patio

Walls seem to be too thin and could hear every door slamming when trying to sleep

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JazzzSay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Expert at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so glad that you found our quality Korean style service to your satisfaction. Hopefully we will have the opportunity in the future to provide you with even better service that exceeds your expectations.

We sincerely appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again at Grand Hyatt Seoul.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Expert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Very small rooms with tiny bathrooms (very dated bathrooms and I was disappointed in the quality of shampoo, soap etc) in a very big and anonymous setting.
Far from the subway and you pretty much have to take taxi (at least with luggage) to get there/if you are going out.
The breakfast buffet was ok but a lot of really loud people were there so there was some queuing...
Great view on a clear day and nice to walk up to the N Tower (if you are somewhat well trained...) for an even greater view.
The staff were ok but not as service minded as I would expect from trained staff and below average Seoul standard (whereas service in most small or big restaurants were excellent in all the places where we went for lunch or dinner in Seoul)
I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLB2014_Sthlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Expert at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so sorry that we failed to meet your expectations at Grand Hyatt Seoul. While our location in the heart of the city, is only a 5 minute shuttle bus ride to the subway station, with plentiful taxi’s and busses at our doorstep, our tranquil mountain setting surrounded by hundreds of acres of parkland, is one of our strongest attributes that draws guests to our hotel.

We apologize for your experience with our staff, which was not to the standards by which we hold ourselves accountable. We are following up with our Food & Beverage department to insure that additional focus be placed on delivering the standards by which we measure ourselves.

We hope that we may have the opportunity sometime in the future to regain your trust. Thank you for sharing these observations with us, as candid feedback such as yours is our best means for self-improvement.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Expert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

At your arrival you will have the chance to start your stay in a huge class lobby with a beautifull view on seoul. On the evening side some usicians are there and the view is still perfect !
Rooms are too small according the price. The housework is not perfect, shampoo and soap have not been added from night too night and finally were really missing. When you emty the bath all water came back on the floor...not really appreciated, and someother little detail like the bath robe which stayed on the floor in the cabinet...
One other point un the conception of the hotel is the lack of second door to insure that no noise from the corridor will reach the room during the night

DEspite that the personnal is really in the service of the guest from the gate to the desk.

The breakfeast and diner buffet are really good with a lot of choice

To be honnest I will not come back in this one but will be back in the hilton or at the novotel from gangnam where price are more in line with the service

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred33333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Expert at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so sorry that we failed to meet your expectations on your recent stay at Grand Hyatt Seoul. We do appreciate your compliments on the service you received from our staff service and the quality of our buffets. We are committed to improving the value of our product, so that future disappointments such as yours, do not occur.

We hope that we may have the opportunity in the future, to regain your confidence

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Expert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is up in a hill which provides beautiful views from the restaurant and also from your room. The downside is that there is not much going on around the hotel and although they offer a complementary shuttle service to the nearby Main Street, that only runs until 9pm so you'll probably need a cab after dinner

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nico_LND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Expert at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so glad that you found our views to be impressive, from every angle.
The hotel prides itself as being a resort within the city, offering a range of dining, entertainment and recreational facilities that are amongst the best in the city. As you probably experienced, one of Seoul’s most vibrant shopping and entertainment areas is within a 5 minute shuttle of the hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to share your observations and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Expert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a nice view but is very difficult to access despite being central. Narrow winding roads with heavy traffic surround the hotel. The public spaces are really dated. I don't think they've been changed at all since I was last here more than a decade ago. The food is average and overpriced. The featured wine was priced at 65 dollars though available at the grocery store for about 8. Service was good, but you sure had the feeling of being rushed out of the buffet after an hour.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank glennbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Expert at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your sincere review. We always want to listen to guests like you and know what we need to develop to provide better service to our guests.

Thank you for your honest review and apologize for the unpleasant experience during your stay. We would be grateful to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future, to regain your trust in our service.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Expert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

No hotel in Seoul has a better location - half way up Mount Namsan and close to both downtown, the lively Itaewon area and not far from the business centre in Gangnam. Plus it has some great facilities - two pools, one outside and one indoor, a massive spa and sauna/steam area - and truly outstanding restaurants and bars.

The rooms are not the biggest, but then the Grand Hyatt isn't one of the newest hotels in Seoul. But the views really cannot be equalled and there is everything a business traveller needs in them. I would always advise paying the extra for the Club floors which give access to the two club lounges for a more relaxed breakfast and facilities during the day if you have to work.

personally one of the outstanding features of the Grand Hyatt is the staff - always friendly, welcoming and, if you visit regularly, they remember you and make a fuss of seeing you again. There is always advice or assistance ready and happily given and they really do make it feel like you are coming to your second home.

And if you are there during the summer the poolside barbecue is a Seoul institution - not cheap but fantastic compared to other places in terms of quality and variety. I have also used the Paris Grill on several occasions and Seoulites love to be invited there as it is a really classy place!

I have stayed elsewhere in Seoul - and there are some good hotels in the city, but the Grand Hyatt just has that little bit extra that makes it my favourite place to be.

Room Tip: Higher floors give the better views - and the corner rooms have more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earleywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Expert at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I am truly honored to read every part of your review. I greatly appreciate your long detailed review especially commenting “personally one of the outstanding features of the Grand Hyatt is the staff – always friendly, welcoming”. We are very touched to know about it.

Thank you again and hope your review help our potential guests to experience the great stay at Grand Hyatt Seoul.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Expert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Namsan
The Shilla Seoul
The Shilla Seoul
#16 of 493 in Seoul
1,554 reviews
Yeoido
Conrad Seoul
Conrad Seoul
#25 of 493 in Seoul
1,802 reviews
Park Hyatt Seoul
#45 of 493 in Seoul
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
JW Marriott Dongdaemun Square Seoul
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#11 of 493 in Seoul
3,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Seoul

Property: Grand Hyatt Seoul
Address: 322 Sowol-ro, Yongsan-gu, Seoul 04347, South Korea
Phone Number:
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Itaewon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Seoul
#22 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#28 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#42 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#48 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Seoul, in the heart of the nation’s capital, is set amidst 18 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens at the foot of historic Mt. Namsan. Commanding breathtaking views of the Han River to the south and Mt. Namsan to the north, the hotel is only minutes away from the downtown commercial district and within walking distance of Itaewon, one of the city’s renowned shopping areas. The hotel is 70 minutes away from Incheon International Airport, 50 minutes from Gimpo Domestic Airport, 20 minutes from the Samsung-dong business hub, with most all of the city’s key districts within close proximity to the hotel.Hotel accommodations include 601 contemporary, luxuriously designed rooms and suites, using a selection of natural woods and fabrics to create a comfortable, residential ambience. The hotel hosts The Spa and Club Olympus recreation centre, a sanctuary of calm offering spa treatments, indoor & outdoor pools, tennis & squash courts and an ice skating rink.As a “multi-functional lifestyle destination”, cuisine plays a focal role at Grand Hyatt Seoul. The hotel boasts some of Seoul’s most magnificent 11 restaurants and bars, each showcasing its unique style and authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Seoul Hotel Seoul
Seoul Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Seoul
Seoul Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing