We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not 5-star” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt Seoul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Seoul
Ranked #59 of 469 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not 5-star”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed for a quick overnight, hoping to relax from a week of work-stress, but left very frustrated. I am not sure how hotels receive 5-stars in Korea, but this this hotel is not five stars. I am a Hyatt Gold member and travel to other 5-star hotels very frequently, but I have never encountered this. I think this is more a country-club or resort, but not a hotel as you would expect in Europe or the States.

If you go to the swimming pool, you can meet 500 people with their kids trying to use it. Then they close the swimming pool by 2.30 for 30 minutes and then by 3 p.m. they tell you to leave the pool, unless you are staying another night. Very nice hospitality. Oh, and they give you a plastic wristband as if you are going to a nightclub, I mean what the heck???

Also the food quality is definitely neither 5-star level nor does the quality justify the prices. I mean sure you can ask for 15 USD for french fries at the pool, but then I would expect a truffle-majonaise or rosemary-oil fries or something fancy. A coffee is another 15 USD, and if it's a cappuccino your foam falls apart and it actually becomes a huge cafe au lait.

I suspect this is a franchise and not directly run by the Hyatt Group. Definitely not 5-star, definitely not worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Morten G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Expert at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I sincerely apologize for our failure to meet your expectations. Given our outdoor facilities and location, the hotel is in very high demand by summer vacationers during the period that you stayed with us. We have shared your comments with all of our relevant departments, in order for us to prevent such reoccurrences during future summer seasons.

We hope that we may have the opportunity to serve you again, and regain your confidence in Grand Hyatt Seoul.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments with us.

Best Regard,
Guest Experience Expert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    885
    690
    216
    96
    53
See reviews for
311
310
199
897
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This has to be one of the best hotels in Seoul.
Hotel deco- very nice, upscale, bed is nice a little hard, bathroom is new, floor is carpet.
Gym-is amazing with a great selection it is huge
Restaurant - has a great selection and food
Bar- is great fun good live music and good cocktails

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Boyde Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Expert at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Hyatt Seoul.
We are extremely happy to hear that we are one of your best choices of hotels in Seoul. We thank you for sharing your wonderful comments, experience, and thoughts.

It is pleasing to hear that you had a satisfying stay with us and we hope to serve you again soon.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Expert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Small but efficient rooms. I stayed in Grand Hyatt Seoul during the christmas of 2012. One of my most memorable moments in my life. It was a white christmas.

Their restaurant too (am missing the name) is really nice and serves delicious local cuisines. But what is really awesome is the club / pub / bar - JJ Mahoney. This is the place to be in Seoul on Saturday night. The place is banging and rocking (it used to atleast in 2012).

The view from the hotel too was nice. Just a 10 min walk from the nearest metro. But quite far from the airport. But there are airport bus shuttles to the Grand Hyatt.

Overall a pleasant stay

happy tripping.

Room Tip: During christmas ask for the room that faces the pool. You will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Expert at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay at Grand Hyatt Seoul and we were very happy to receive your compliments. We appreciate your sharing your experience.

We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that you had an unforgettable White Christmas.
We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Expert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torino
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

High level hotel but NOT for smokers. At reception desk it's only written in the welcome card that in case you smoke in the room they will apply KW 250.000 !!!! for cleaning fee (remove of the smell). Very expensive cleaning also because they argue that some days needed to remove the smell. But in the reality I stayed ther for 3 days more and they didn't change me the room.
The rest is very nice ... but i will prefer other kind of hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paolo_n_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Expert at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for staying with us at Grand Hyatt Seoul and for sharing your comments.
As for our policy on smoking, we are very sorry for your inconvenience.

We are fully committed to protecting the interests of all our guests, and have had to adopt policies that best accomplish those objectives. We hope you understand, and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Expert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Beautiful 5* hotel with some amazing views over Mt Namson or Seoul city. The hotel is situated quite near to a subway station with great access to other parts of Seoul. The local area has a magnitude of restaurants and bars.

The room is a little small for a 5* property but this is to be expected in Seoul. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMcIntyre86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Expert at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for staying at Grand Hyatt Seoul and we appreciate your comments and thoughts.
We are very pleased to hear that your stay with us was satisfying and enjoyable. Also, we are happy that you enjoyed the amazing views from the hotel and the near attractions.

Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Expert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed at the Grand Hyat for 3 nights for business and it was a great experience. The staff is very friendly, the rooms were meticulous clean, breakfast had great variety, the shuttle to metro and shoping areas was extremly helpful and in a regular basis. The view from the room was amazing.

The prices at the lobby bar are a litle too high, even to a luxury hotel.

The only negative aspect is that my room was too close to the Grand Club (15 floor) and I could hear all the noyse in the corridor in the morning.

Definitly I recommed this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay near the Grand Club (15 floor), it is too noisy in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipitadom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Expert at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay with us at Grand Hyatt Seoul. It is great to read about your comments and experience with us.
We are very happy to hear that your were satisfied with our service and found helpful for you. However, we also apologize for your inconvenience experience with us.

We appreciate your recommendation and we hope to see you soon again.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Expert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
141 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Hotel :
When the hotel is somewhat next to a mountain, it also means the hotel is uphill, probably alluring for trekking enthusiasts. But for me who is less of a trekker, and more of a 'tracker' on fashion, you will be happy to know the hotel offers complimentary shuttle service (once per hour) to popular destinations like MyeongDong (shopping street for youths & adults) and Itaewon (not very sure, but believe it is reputed for copies). Beyond these two areas, you can also take from these spots the subway to many other attractions and places, like Garongjusil (maybe slightly misspelt), but is a hip shopping area near Gangnam - alight Sinsa/Apujeong stations), Insadong (traditional art&craft), Dongdaemun (Newly opened ddp-dongdaemun design plaza + nearby wholesale and retail fashion shopping centres that open right through till the morning like 4am/6am depending on individual store owners), and many other places to view or experience.

TIP : Very low frequency of English speaking outside the 5-star hotel.
Recommend you get the staff to WRITE IN KOREAN several things like a)Hotel Address b)Dietary Restrictions (eg. no beef, prefer seafood.... c)Restrooms d)Common questions like 'how much'... you can also use a calculator to key in your desired price during negotiations.
NOTE : Cash preferred (helps you get discount) especially when shopping. Credit cards carry surcharges at many places.

Getting Around : While subway is the cheapest convenient form (and I forgo option of buses which require familiarity with routes and being conversant in their local language), you can opt for their taxis which are many available and not that expensive... A 10min ride costs about KW5000 (US$5?)subject to traffic conditions. Just check they go by meter and most important they know where you want to go (address in Korean!).

Grand Hyatt Seoul :
Nice room with great breakfast - with the best pancakes I've come across...
And there's a JJ bar and disco just downstairs where for sure Fridays and Saturdays are heavily packed. This is where the locals want to be seen!
So even if you're on a hill, you can enjoy your days' start and end within the hotel itself.

Room Tip: Higher floors preferred, and request availability of room facing Mt Namsan. They have different typ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mei O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Expert at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate all of your positive comments and for sharing your experience. It is gratifying to know that your stay at Grand Hyatt Seoul was so enjoyable.

We hope to see you again next time soon.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Expert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Park Hyatt Seoul
#32 of 469 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Namsan
The Shilla Seoul
The Shilla Seoul
#8 of 469 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Yeoido
Conrad Seoul
Conrad Seoul
#16 of 469 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
JW Marriott Dongdaemun Square Seoul
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#13 of 469 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Seoul

Property: Grand Hyatt Seoul
Address: 322 Sowol-ro, Yongsan-gu, Seoul 04347, South Korea
Phone Number:
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Itaewon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Seoul
#22 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#28 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#39 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#48 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Seoul, in the heart of the nation’s capital, is set amidst 18 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens at the foot of historic Mt. Namsan. Commanding breathtaking views of the Han River to the south and Mt. Namsan to the north, the hotel is only minutes away from the downtown commercial district and within walking distance of Itaewon, one of the city’s renowned shopping areas. The hotel is 70 minutes away from Incheon International Airport, 50 minutes from Gimpo Domestic Airport, 20 minutes from the Samsung-dong business hub, with most all of the city’s key districts within close proximity to the hotel.Hotel accommodations include 601 contemporary, luxuriously designed rooms and suites, using a selection of natural woods and fabrics to create a comfortable, residential ambience. The hotel hosts The Spa and Club Olympus recreation centre, a sanctuary of calm offering spa treatments, indoor & outdoor pools, tennis & squash courts and an ice skating rink.As a “multi-functional lifestyle destination”, cuisine plays a focal role at Grand Hyatt Seoul. The hotel boasts some of Seoul’s most magnificent 11 restaurants and bars, each showcasing its unique style and authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Ctrip TA so you can book your Grand Hyatt Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Seoul Hotel Seoul
Seoul Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Seoul
Seoul Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing