We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably won't be coming back”
Review of Grand Hyatt Seoul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Seoul
Ranked #63 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Probably won't be coming back”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Have always liked this hotel but will likely not stay anymore. They refused to let a friend sit by the pool to have a conversation and refused us both entry even though I was staying here. It's too bad - this was my former hotel of choice in Seoul but all it takes is something like this to really throw you off wanting to continue supporting

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiningIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Expert at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

First of all, we sincerely apologize for your unpleasant experience with us. Unfortunately, summer is a very peak period for our pool and we are required to limit the number of people in the area for safety to stay within our capacity limits. However, we thank you very much for sharing your experience. Your comments have been shared with our relevant department so such incidents does not happen in the future.

We hope that we may have the opportunity to serve you again in the future, and regain your confidence in Grand Hyatt Seoul.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Expert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    940
    729
    223
    101
    57
See reviews for
327
336
203
951
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed for 4 nights rooms were not huge but had everything you need. Good location, a walk down the long hill takes you to the bars and restaurants and it's not very much to get a cab back. Drinks in the lobby, whilst beautifully presented are expensive so it was a good job we stayed on Exec Floor which served canapes and cocktails early evening (even bubbly). The Concierge was very helpful in getting us on trip to DMZ at short notice but sadly the weather was against us so didn't get the chance to enjoy the massive pool outside (there is an indoor one too). Breakfast buffet was fabulous!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOldies186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting Grand Hyatt Seoul for your family visit.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the Club Lounge and the breakfast buffet at our hotel. Hopefully, the next time you visit the weather will be nicer since our pool is one of our most popular features. We are happy that you were satisfied and enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you at Grand Hyatt Seoul again soon.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Expert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paramus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed for 4 nights. Room was relatively small, but well-appointed. Staff was polite and very efficient. Breakfast and dinner buffets were very good and my daughter loved the indoor and outdoor pools. Hotel is located very near the main Itaewon area and is a short cab ride to the downtown area. The hourly hotel shuttles to Itaewon and Myeongdong were also very convenient. Overall, it's a great hotel and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubyp196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Expert at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for staying with us at Grand Hyatt Seoul.

Thank you also, for sharing your thoughts and comments. It was a pleasure to hear you refer to us as a “Great hotel” and that you and your family enjoyed the stay. We are pleased that our services and facilities left you with a favourable experience in Seoul.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Expert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The Grand Hyatt is a good quality hotel with great attentive staff. The rooms have been renovated since my last stay here and I enjoyed my time staying there. The hotel is set by itself with not much on its doorstep, but it is a short taxi into the central business distinct and to nearby Itaewon with all of its Restaurants etc. I would stay here again if I wanted to be on this side of town.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemango007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Expert at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Grand Hyatt Seoul! We are grateful for your kind comments on our hotel and staff. We strive to be the best and go beyond our guests’ expectations and are pleased that you found your stay with us enjoyable.

Thank you for choosing Grand Hyatt Seoul and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Expert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
199 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed here for two nights on business.
The room was excellent and I have to comment on the HUGE numbers of international plug power outlets all around the room including by the bed. Was really impressed with that given how many hotels fail in this regard.

The hotel gym is huge and has a great sauna. They have gym clothes you can borrow which is also really handy. While they dont have a power press, they do have lots of free weights and plenty of machines. They also have a great pool, which seems very popular with the children.

The hotel breakfast is pricey (41000) but thats cheaper than the Intercon and the staff were uber attentive... I loved it. I also had room service one night and the service and quality were excellent. They also have a very nice bakery.

Check in and check out were very efficient and the location is also very good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Expert at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Grand Hyatt Seoul! Thank you for all your kind words. We were happy to hear that the multiple electric outlets came in handy and your overall stay was comfortable. We take great pride in our fitness club and recreational facilities , Club Olympus and are pleased you found them to your expectations.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and selecting Grand Hyatt Seoul for your stay.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Expert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stayed for 2 days on business some 4 months ago and have very little recollection of the hotel, which is good and bad.

Good because everything was fine, with a smooth check-in and clean rooms. The lobby was grand in an understated way. The room had a strange built-in design which made it feel small, but it was perfectly adequate. Breakfast was a bit of a scrum, although the view is soothing if you snag the right table. Distance from the city is a bit of an issue, especially if you prefer to venture out of the hotel for dining, or squeeze a little shopping time after meetings.

However, nothing was memorable and I am sad to say that I struggled to recall the name of the hotel when writing this review. Perhaps I travel too much and one hotel blurs into another, but upping the WOW factor for world-weary business travellers would not go amiss.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMSCPSYH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Expert at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Grand Hyatt Seoul and thank you for your candid comments. We are unequivocally committed to meeting our guest’s full expectations. We strive to deliver a quality level of service without being intrusive. We apologize for our failure to better distinguish ourselves during your stay and hope that we may have another opportunity to regain your confidence in the future.

Thank you for your thoughtful comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Expert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

been there on a business trip to Seoul and stayed another 2 nights over the weekend.

good hotel, clearly more for business trips. Loved the JJ bar and the life band. Clearly a big asset to keep me in the hotel at nighttime ;-)
Had some really good times there .
Very comfortable beds and had no complains.


Personal very friendly and helpful . Will come back .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_Seoul, Guest Experience Expert at Grand Hyatt Seoul, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for choosing Grand Hyatt Seoul.

It is a pleasure to hear that you consider us a “Great hotel for business and pleasure”. We are very glad that you had a satisfying 2 night stay with us and that you enjoyed the evening entertainment at the hotel.

We appreciate your sharing your experience and comments with us and hope to see you again very soon.

Best Regards,
Guest Experience Expert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Namsan
The Shilla Seoul
The Shilla Seoul
#12 of 472 in Seoul
1,527 reviews
Yeoido
Conrad Seoul
Conrad Seoul
#21 of 472 in Seoul
1,746 reviews
Park Hyatt Seoul
#38 of 472 in Seoul
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
JW Marriott Dongdaemun Square Seoul
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#51 of 472 in Seoul
3,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Seoul

Property: Grand Hyatt Seoul
Address: 322 Sowol-ro, Yongsan-gu, Seoul 04347, South Korea
Phone Number:
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Itaewon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Seoul
#21 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#28 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#38 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#48 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Seoul, in the heart of the nation’s capital, is set amidst 18 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens at the foot of historic Mt. Namsan. Commanding breathtaking views of the Han River to the south and Mt. Namsan to the north, the hotel is only minutes away from the downtown commercial district and within walking distance of Itaewon, one of the city’s renowned shopping areas. The hotel is 70 minutes away from Incheon International Airport, 50 minutes from Gimpo Domestic Airport, 20 minutes from the Samsung-dong business hub, with most all of the city’s key districts within close proximity to the hotel.Hotel accommodations include 601 contemporary, luxuriously designed rooms and suites, using a selection of natural woods and fabrics to create a comfortable, residential ambience. The hotel hosts The Spa and Club Olympus recreation centre, a sanctuary of calm offering spa treatments, indoor & outdoor pools, tennis & squash courts and an ice skating rink.As a “multi-functional lifestyle destination”, cuisine plays a focal role at Grand Hyatt Seoul. The hotel boasts some of Seoul’s most magnificent 11 restaurants and bars, each showcasing its unique style and authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Seoul Hotel Seoul
Seoul Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Seoul
Seoul Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing