We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury hotel, good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas
Ranked #30 of 497 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Luxury hotel, good service”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

This is a good five star hotel. The Junior Suite we stayed in was a fantastic size and very well appointed. The staff were very helpful, although this hotel is not as generous with complimentary items as you may expect from a hotel of this class. The staff were very accommodating, allowing us to change the date of a reservation even though it was an advance booking that wasn't supposed to be changed.

The decor throughout the hotel is perhaps a little dated, but it's not necessarily a bad thing. It feels classy in a sort of 80s Monaco way.

Breakfast was delicious and a good buffet. That said, the staff at breakfast were sloppy. On two occasions we went up to get food only to come back and find our table given to somebody else. I also saw this happen to a number of other customers, as well as clearing people's tables when they hadn't left yet. It is ridiculous that a hotel of this stature hasn't worked out a system to avoid this - you have to assume it happens fairly often!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, General Manager at Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Jim,

Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor much appreciated.

Apologies for the mix up with you table at breakfast and this is certainly something that we have not heard in the past.
That said, I will speak with the team and also take a look to see if we are managing this in the most effective way.
I was pleased to read that you did enjoy the buffet selection and variety and am appreciative of your 5* review.

Thanks again and we hope should you travels bring you back to Seoul that you will again choose the Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    364
    108
    33
    10
See reviews for
128
161
107
550
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband had a conference nearby so we stayed here. I found the room large and comfortable . I liked the fact it had a bathroom and shower. The food we experienced, one dinner and 4 breakfasts was excellent though quite expensive. The hotel staff were all very helpful and attentive.i found it quite quick and easy to get into central Seoul. They kindly let us into our room at 11 am after an overnight flight.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, General Manager at Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Catherine,

Thank you for your recent feedback following your stay here on TripAdvisor, much appreciated.

Naturally I was pleased to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your time here in our hotel and I shall share all your comments with the team.

With our location alongside the convention centre we certainly are the most convenient for anyone attending any of the many events held in this very busy convention centre.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel sometime in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
430 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I had a nice but not great stay at the Intercontinental in Seoul. The location was very good and I enjoyed being attached to the Hyundai defpartment store and other conveniently located businesses. This is also a central location and Gangnam has a lot to offer. The staff here is very good to work with, helpful in all ways. The Club lounge is a great asset and I highly recommend considering it if you plan on spending any time at the hotels at all. The rooms are average size and accomodations are nice but not spectacular. All in all this is a very nice business notel but nothing sets it apart from others. I would definiately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDeacon87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, General Manager at Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor, much appreciated.

As you have highlighted, our location is truly one of the best selling points with the Subway located directly below the hotel, direct connections to both the major airports of Seoul and of course being in the now more famous Gangnam area.

I will speak and share with the team about your comments on trying harder to stand out from the crowd and we do hope that next time your travels bring you to Seoul, you will again choose the Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas.

Thanks again and best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
421 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Less than 100 metres from Samseong Subway station, and only 3 stops to Gangnam station. Hyundai Department store directly next door. Beautiful breakfast buffet with good healthy variety. Courteous and polite staff manner. Generous sized rooms, with triple share bedding configuration (double + single or triple singles) with still plenty of space in the room. Only good location if you don't plan to do much in Seoul city centre. Airport bus stop to Gimpo directly outside the hotel.
Internet was not included in the room rate. Shower drain was clogged and drainage was poor, therefore standing in pool of water up to the top of the foot for most of the time in the shower. Lighting/circuit issues, so random lights would turn on in the middle of the night ie. 2am. Walls were thin, therefore could hear next door laughing or if conversation was loud from neighbouring rooms. The room above us on the 12th floor sounded like it had wooden floor boards, as we were often woken up first thing in the morning or late at night with what sounded like elephant feet stomping around. Bathroom was old and worn and dirty looking - update required. 27,000 won for child breakfast. TV volume inconsistent - 0 (off)-1 (really loud) range is large difference. Far from Seoul city centre (30-45 min subway ride to get to main central tourist attractions), but close to Lotte World. Two InterContinental hotels within very close vicinity of one another which makes it difficult to communicate to taxi. Upside is that they're not far from each other, so if you are driven to the wrong one, it's not far to get the taxi to take you to the other one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Family_of_thre3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Family_of_thre3,

Thank you for taking the time in completing a review and bringing this matter to our attention. We are delighted to know that you liked our breakfast variety, room size and the friendly service received from our front desk. But, please do accept our sincere apology for the noise inconvenience and the bathroom’s cleanliness was sub par. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
646 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here for six nights in June 2013 while attending an international conference at COEX. Have enjoyed previous stays in this hotel dating back back over 20 years but on this visit there was a renovation under way downstairs. Reception had been relocated to a small area nearby but the staff tried very hard to maintain good customer service at all times. My room was medium size and well appointed although the bed was too hard. A call to reception next day had a 'topper' quickly fitted to the bed which made it much more comfortable. All the downstairs eating area was closed and the only option was the top floor restaurant. Breakfast was good but expensive! The location of this hotel was very convenient to COEX, underground shops and the subway network.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, General Manager at Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Michael,

Thanks for your recent review of our hotel, much appreciated.

I was pleased to read that the team have tried to make your stay as comfortable as possible with the bed and in explaining the changes to some of our public areas as you have highlighted.

The whole area including the Coex Mall downstairs is now in its final stages of renovation and am sure you will be more than satisfied with the new food and beverage offerings and shopping upon completion.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand InterContinental on your next visit to Seoul.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

With its good location and services, I would say that this is again another great choice if you are looking for a hotel to stay here in Seoul Gangnam for your business trip. The staff are friendly and helpful, no matter what time you contact them and ask them. The room is nice and big, with desk and everything you need to start your work, even a free mobile phone to use! Bed and linen are clean and comfortable to sleep on. Bathroom is spacious but no tube there for a relaxing bubble bath...Breakfast in Grand Kitchen is fantastic with varieties of food to choose, from oriental to western. Will recommend it to all the future business friends!

Room Tip: Higher floor will be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlchocho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, General Manager at Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent great review of your stay with us here on TripAdvisor, much appreciated.

Having completed a major remodeling project of our public areas here at the hotel over the past 10months the feedback we are receiving has been very positive and well received, thank you.
With your recommendation to friends and business associates to stay with us we can’t ask for anything more than that.

Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back to the Grand InterContinental should your travels bring you to Seoul again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Visited my favorite hotel in Seoul couple of times this April after the renovation. Was pleased to see the new Exclusive Ambassador Check-in Lounge. As a Royal Ambassador I was welcomed very nicely. It is very well managed by Amy Oh whose work is extremely commendable.

In addition the entire Lobby area is renovated which provides a great feeling when you enter.

Look forward to my next visit to this property.

Just one comment, the hotel should have a Spa as it is currently sharing the one in IC Coex.

Room Tip: Excellent Club Lounge and Good for IC Ambassador's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Subhrendu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, General Manager at Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor, much appreciated.
I was pleased to read of your approval of our newly remodeled areas of the hotel and especially the addition of our Ambassador Lounge.

We have received very positive feedback in relation to the Lounge and its impact on your arrival experience as well as our new food and beverage offerings which I hope you also had a chance to sample during your stay.

Internally we have had a lot of discussion in relation to the installation of extended Spa facilities here at the hotel however at this point in time it is still under consideration but thanks for your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit and thanks again for sharing your great feedback,

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Samseongdong / COEX
InterContinental Seoul COEX
Park Hyatt Seoul
#44 of 497 in Seoul
1,224 reviews
Samseongdong / COEX
Oakwood Premier Coex Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yeoido
Conrad Seoul
Conrad Seoul
#26 of 497 in Seoul
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas

Property: Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas
Address: 521, Teheran-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 06164, South Korea
Phone Number:
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Samseongdong / COEX
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Seoul
#21 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#26 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#36 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas 5*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Seoul, the Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas is an ideal place for business travellers thanks to the hotel's proximity to KWTC, COEX, CALT, DFS, department stores and theaters. Operating with 517 spacious rooms, the hotel has completed a 10 month project of lobby, restaurants and banquet halls to look more glamorous. The new Grand Ballroom, the largest and the most updated in Korea is perfect for any event, while exquisite cuisines await you in all five hotel restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Intercontinental Seoul Parnas Hotel Seoul
Intercontinental Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing