We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Budget hotel in Old Part of Seoul City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crown Tourist Hotel
Ranked #198 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    54
    68
    14
    5
See reviews for
29
15
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2009

The hotel is in a great location, with several museums and historic palaces within walking distance. The airport bus (#6011) drops you off at Anguk metro/subway station, from there make a right at the corner and just keep walking until you see a white, eight-story building across the street; even if you don't see it just cross the street at the next crosswalk and walk straight about 10 m and you'll see it (in total, about a 5-7 min. walk).

The room itself was large enough, with a tv providing plenty of English channels. One odd thing - the hotel at first claimed that they don't provide shampoo, only bar soap, though after a bit of prodding they relented and found me some. The were no coffee-making facilities in the room, nor a safe, but both hot water and a safety deposit box are provided free at reception. Also, Koreans say you're not supposed to drink the tap water, so the hotel provides free bottled water on request.

Also nearby is the Insadong market, with tons of souvenir shops and dozens of restaurants (i.e. I found a wonderful little Korean restaurant where a hearty dinner and drinks only cost about US$12). The food is completely safe everywhere, don't think twice about restaurants or street food, it's all cheap and delicious. Avoid the cabaret show at the Sheraton it's over-priced and a poor production, but do check out the traditional theater at Korea House if you're interested. All in all, I actually enjoyed Seoul more than Japan, the people are nicer, the city has a flair for culture, and I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikes66682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2008

I went to this hotel as it was included in the package tour that I bought from Japan. It was very nice staying there but I think that the hotel in general is set up for Japanese people and so me speaking Japanese helped a lot.

Rooms were very clean, the bathroom very big, as was the bed. The breakfast was limited but had unlimited Elvis music!! Fab location and it was easy to catch a taxi from the road. Also there was a free internet terminal.

All in all, a very nice hotel for a lovely trip.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The price, and possibly the front desk staff (who were a little cold)
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank miss_igirisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
234 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2006

Average hotel in the middle of a great city with good location. The hotel is within 7 blocks of the shuttle stop to the airport. The people of Seoul are unbelieveably friendly and the food is safe to eat - even on the street. Taxis are cheap.

Room:
- A/C did not work well
- Shower empties onto the floor (unusual but works)
- No room safe nor coffee maker
- Outdated small rooms but satisfactory decor
- Cafeterria outrageously priced

Would recommend for those flying in and out and wanting to be close to culture.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hosta_La_Vista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2005

HOTEL CROWN INSADONG
I stayed here for 2 nights - mainly because I could book it on the Internet and it was under US$100 pn (although by the time taxes and other charges were added it came to US$110 pn). When I arrived, they seemed to have no record of my booking! Anyway I was given a room and when I checked out there was no problem.

The room was reasonable, a bit small and no view, but with full bathroom including ingenious bath tub which looked rather strange but actually worked very well ergonomically. The linen was fresh and clean; the bed comfortable; the bed quilt luxurious. TV was available but no CNN or BBC. Air Con was satisfactory, fridge was provided but no kettle. There was a room phone.

Internet was only available in the lobby and only one of the two computers was working, fortunately there was no charge for this sad state of affairs.

I didn’t eat in the hotel so I can’t say about the food.

As to the location I found Insadong perfect – loads of interesting small streets locally and very close to the fantastic city mass transit systems. To get there take the 602-1 bus from the airport and get off at Anguk station – no need for taxis.

I eventually moved to the Emerald Motel just down the road and paid US$35 pn inclusive, this is a perfectly satisfactory basic hotel with Internet connection in the room but no bathtub. Unfortunately you would have to find this yourself as there is no Internet information for it but you can contact me if you want.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank besidec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Icon
Hotel Icon
#108 of 472 in Seoul
354 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong
Saerim Hotel
#150 of 472 in Seoul
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Tong Andante Insadong
Itaewon
Crown Hotel Itaewon
Crown Hotel Itaewon
#387 of 472 in Seoul
238 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Biz Jongno Insadong
Hotel Biz Jongno Insadong
#185 of 472 in Seoul
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Tourist Hotel

Property: Crown Tourist Hotel
Address: 9, Samil-daero 30-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul 03132, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crown Tourist Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crown Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Insadong Hotel
Crown Insadong Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing