We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable Location”
Review of Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crown Hotel
Ranked #198 of 506 Hotels in Seoul
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Awesome location--walking distance to a number of tourist sites, super close to Anguk station and plenty of places to eat and drink close by. The hotel is somewhat older. Definitely a budget hotel. The distinction between smoking and non-smoking room is muddy but our room was fine though we are non-smokers.

Staff spoke Japanese and English. (Better Japanese than English which was fine with us.) Cleaning staff are prompt and efficient. The hotel breakfast buffet is simple and reasonable.

It can be hard to find initially. Go left towards the gas station when you get off the airport bus. Hang a right when you get to Anguk station and the orange gas station. Go until you can't go without crossing through or under a building. Cross the street and the hotel is on the left side in the wide alley.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank textandcandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2009

I stayed here earlier this year largely because of positive reviews from this website. This was not my first trip to Seoul. It was was, in fact, my 8th. My regular hotel was sold-out, so I tried the Crown. Probably never again. No, it's not a bad place. It's just over-priced. The rooms are teeny -weeny, even by Seoul standards,and the (albeit clean) bathrooms are very dated. They claim to have in-room safes but this is not the case. Nor are there irons, as claimed. And at these prices there really should be in-room LAN or Wifi. The front desk staff are, however, very friendly and there is that free "American Style" breakfast...these always make me laugh. Fried eggs, bacon, ham, fried spam, french fries with salad or pickles or sometimes even kumquats. Don't get me wrong, I love Korea. I just don't know where they got the idea that we eat the contents of a fryolator every morning. The location is good, but there are lots of hotels and motels nearby. Stay here if everything else is sold out.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pktopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 12 August 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 April 2009

The hotel is in a great location, with several museums and historic palaces within walking distance. The airport bus (#6011) drops you off at Anguk metro/subway station, from there make a right at the corner and just keep walking until you see a white, eight-story building across the street; even if you don't see it just cross the street at the next crosswalk and walk straight about 10 m and you'll see it (in total, about a 5-7 min. walk).

The room itself was large enough, with a tv providing plenty of English channels. One odd thing - the hotel at first claimed that they don't provide shampoo, only bar soap, though after a bit of prodding they relented and found me some. The were no coffee-making facilities in the room, nor a safe, but both hot water and a safety deposit box are provided free at reception. Also, Koreans say you're not supposed to drink the tap water, so the hotel provides free bottled water on request.

Also nearby is the Insadong market, with tons of souvenir shops and dozens of restaurants (i.e. I found a wonderful little Korean restaurant where a hearty dinner and drinks only cost about US$12). The food is completely safe everywhere, don't think twice about restaurants or street food, it's all cheap and delicious. Avoid the cabaret show at the Sheraton it's over-priced and a poor production, but do check out the traditional theater at Korea House if you're interested. All in all, I actually enjoyed Seoul more than Japan, the people are nicer, the city has a flair for culture, and I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikes66682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2008

I went to this hotel as it was included in the package tour that I bought from Japan. It was very nice staying there but I think that the hotel in general is set up for Japanese people and so me speaking Japanese helped a lot.

Rooms were very clean, the bathroom very big, as was the bed. The breakfast was limited but had unlimited Elvis music!! Fab location and it was easy to catch a taxi from the road. Also there was a free internet terminal.

All in all, a very nice hotel for a lovely trip.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank miss_igirisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2006

Average hotel in the middle of a great city with good location. The hotel is within 7 blocks of the shuttle stop to the airport. The people of Seoul are unbelieveably friendly and the food is safe to eat - even on the street. Taxis are cheap.

Room:
- A/C did not work well
- Shower empties onto the floor (unusual but works)
- No room safe nor coffee maker
- Outdated small rooms but satisfactory decor
- Cafeterria outrageously priced

Would recommend for those flying in and out and wanting to be close to culture.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Hosta_La_Vista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2005

HOTEL CROWN INSADONG
I stayed here for 2 nights - mainly because I could book it on the Internet and it was under US$100 pn (although by the time taxes and other charges were added it came to US$110 pn). When I arrived, they seemed to have no record of my booking! Anyway I was given a room and when I checked out there was no problem.

The room was reasonable, a bit small and no view, but with full bathroom including ingenious bath tub which looked rather strange but actually worked very well ergonomically. The linen was fresh and clean; the bed comfortable; the bed quilt luxurious. TV was available but no CNN or BBC. Air Con was satisfactory, fridge was provided but no kettle. There was a room phone.

Internet was only available in the lobby and only one of the two computers was working, fortunately there was no charge for this sad state of affairs.

I didn’t eat in the hotel so I can’t say about the food.

As to the location I found Insadong perfect – loads of interesting small streets locally and very close to the fantastic city mass transit systems. To get there take the 602-1 bus from the airport and get off at Anguk station – no need for taxis.

I eventually moved to the Emerald Motel just down the road and paid US$35 pn inclusive, this is a perfectly satisfactory basic hotel with Internet connection in the room but no bathtub. Unfortunately you would have to find this yourself as there is no Internet information for it but you can contact me if you want.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank besidec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Benikea Noble Hotel
Benikea Noble Hotel
#141 of 506 in Seoul
146 reviews
Insadong
Saerim Hotel
Saerim Hotel
#157 of 506 in Seoul
91 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Icon
Hotel Icon
#114 of 506 in Seoul
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden City Hotel
#251 of 506 in Seoul
30 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Biz Jongno Insadong
Hotel Biz Jongno Insadong
#195 of 506 in Seoul
111 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Tong Andante Insadong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Address: 9, Samil-daero 30-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul 03132, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 506 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range: £30 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crown Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Insadong Hotel
Crown Insadong Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing