We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit and still loving it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel PJ Myeongdong
Ranked #39 of 497 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
“Second visit and still loving it”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This is my second booking for this hotel. I had previously stayed there a week ago (my previous booking done via expedia), and decided to return to this hotel as I have enjoyed staying there so much. I stayed in room 709, on the ladies only floor. Once again the room was spacious with two twin beds. Complimentary facial products were given daily. These included facial masks, facial wash foam, a bath sponge, cotton swabs, cotton pads for mascara remover, etc. as well as soap. I always requested more towels, and more towels were given. Shampoo, conditioner, body wash in a dispenser (but I use my own). Large bathtub with a large sink vanity. Bathrobes and slippers are provided. Free in-room wifi, fast and reliable. Big balcony, sitting area on the balcony as well as in the room. Very comfortable bed, bigger than standard twin. Great service by all staff working there. I felt clean and safe staying at PJ. Complimentary shuttle throughout the day to shopping areas and points of interest.

Room Tip: Ladies only floor is great for ladies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear shate

Thank you for your second stay with us.

We're really happy that you seemed to be nice stay with us.

We're trying our best whenever we treat our valuable customer.

We continually improve our service so if you visit Seoul again, please visit us and make great memories with us.

Thank you and good luck!

Best regards,
HOTEL PJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    711
    646
    140
    23
    10
See reviews for
498
223
100
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This is the first time we stay in this hotel, the hotel offer shuttle bus between 明洞(or東大門) and hotel, it is so convenient. As to others places in Seoul, we can go there by MRT, it only takes a short time to get MRT station(from hotel). When we arrived the hotel, the bell boy kindly help us to deliever our lugguages to lobby. I think the bell boy's service is good. Fortunately, this time the room we book is free upgraded to another room type which is on high floor, not only is the room cozy, the belcony and the view are so beautiful. Yet to be desired, the house keeper seems ate some snacks we bought and left the small pieces of snacks all over the floor, we gave a guest comment card to the front desk to inform them this problem, but they didn't reply us. On the whole, this hotel is worthy of consideration.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 290Taipei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear 290Taipei

Thank you for sharing your review on this website with our potential guests.

We're really happy that you seemed to be having a great time with us.

However, we're really sorry about the cleaning.

We don't know exactly what was going on in your room but we think that there were some mistakes.

Originally, our room maids are prohibited eating food when they work.

We will check the details first and try to improve our service.

Thank you for staying us and have a good day!

Best regards,
HOTEL PJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

A very nice hotel well located in the middle of tourist hotspots good for free and easy tour. Booked eight nights and were told to relocate to another room as the toilet flooded on the first night.

One of the pillow case of the new room is full of moudy stains with more stains on the blanket. One of the blanket was torn and patched back with an ugly square patchwork.

Helpful?
Thank Maxhosan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Maxhosan

Thank you for choosing us as your accommodation.

We're really sorry to hear that you went through a difficulty when you stayed in us.

We do not want to see those kinds of situation in the future again so we will upgrade our service.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we want to see you in the future again.

Best regards,
HOTEL PJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

PJ Hotel is a nice place somewhat outside of the real center but kind of ok. Quite focussed on Japanese customers but that doesn't bother.
But don't go there if you have a complaint aft wards!!! In my case I got shampoo in my eyes which turned out to be an aggressive substance that burnt my eye, I thought it would go away in an hour or so but that was an illusion. Having a flight later that day I sat for 8 hours in the plane with a heavily irritated eye. I just wanted to give notice to the hotel that it happened and appreciated a reaction. They never answered!!! I tried another email address but still they never reacted.By the way, an email address of this hotel is hard to find.Initially I only wanted a simple apology but by now I can only advise not to go there. If anything goes wrong, even minor things, this hotel will not support, react or help you. With over 600 travels and not being hyper sensitive I still think this is one of the most disrespectful treatments I ever got.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank H V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear H V

Thank you for choosing Hotel PJ.

We're really sorry to hear that.
We apologize once again what you were going through.
We would like to apologize with you politely because of our product made you a difficulty.

At that moment, we asked you to go to the hospital but you do not want to go there so we thought that everything was going to be okay with you.
We did not imagine that you seriously went through a problem.
We were really sorry for the inconvenience.

We have been using this product for about 3 years and our guests satisfied with our amenities
We've never experienced those kinds of cases so we were little bit embarrassed.

Anyway, we will double check with our amenities thoroughly and try to improve our amenities and service.
Thank you for writing down the review.

Thanks,
HOTEL PJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We booked PJ for our 7 nights stay in Seoul and took the airport rail and MRT to Chungmuro station from the airport. The hotel is not difficult to locate, and conveniently 5mins away from the MRT station. You may find a direction map on the hotel site which was very helpful.

We were upgraded to the Premier Room which is very spacious and comes with a balcony looking towards N Seoul Tower. Clean room with comfortable bed, however we find that Housekeeping needs to pay more attention.
- We found a used coffee capsule left on the table when we checked in.
- We used the sugar sachets and stirrer but were not replenished.
- We did some grocery shopping at the mart outside the hotel. The next day, we returned back to find that Housekeeping took out everything in the bag, displayed it on the table and threw away the bag. Although it was just groceries, we felt they shouldn't have opened up our stuffs.

Would be nice if toothbrush is provided as it is a necessity. The hotel also turn off AC as it was winter. It was lucky we had a balcony as the room gets really stuffy and we were told by the reception staff that they could not turn on the AC as it is a centralized system.

Staff were very helpful and nice. There is always someone greeting you at the lobby which is a very nice touch. We had breakfast on one of the morning - very tasty with great selection at the buffet. Staff were very attentive and constantly checking on the food counter to ensure food were topped. The hotel counter only exchange RMB, KRW, JPY and USD so if you need to do any other currency exchange, a bank is outside of the hotel.

Hotel shuttle bus to shopping districts like Myeongdong and Dongdaemun was very useful but we found there was no verification done by the driver to ensure the passengers were hotel guest. On departure, we took the Airport Limo bus 6105 from the bus stop just outside of the MRT station to Incheon airport. It cost KRW$10000 per person which was pretty reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xindaic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Ms-Chan

Thank you for choosing Hotel PJ and wrote down a positive review on this web page.

We are extremely happy to hear that your stay with us has been wonderful.

But we were really sorry that we made some mistakes.

We will share what we did and improve ourselves.

Once again, we’re sorry for the inconvenience.

Thanks.
HOTEL PJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

While it's a bit hidden away from the main roads, Hotel PJ is a nice little respite in Seoul. The service was friendly and helped us find places we wanted to visit. I particularly appreciated the water purifiers in the hallway. Travel around Asia enough, and you value that! The rooms are cozy and nicely accessorized. I would recommend it to others looking for a pleasant reasonable room for a few nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KWPrestino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear KWPrestino

Good day!
Thank you for choosing 'Hotel PJ' for your recent accommodation in Seoul.
We were truly happy to help you out when you stayed in our facility.

Your sincere and valuable review is very helpful for our potential guest.
Thank you for sharing your experience with others.

We hope to see you again soon in the future.
Thank you.

Best regards,
HOTEL PJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent our last 2 nights in Seoul at this hotel. It was more spacious than we've expected. So was the bathroom. we also had the view of the N Seoul tower in the distance. There was also a desktop with internet connection in the room, but we've never used it. One thing we found weird was the cctv camera right outside our door. It was probably because our room was at the corner of the corridor. Some of the things we liked about this hotel was that its 1) 2mins walk to Airport Bus stop, 2) shuttle service to key attractions like Myeongdong & Dongdaemun, and 3) its about 6-8mins walk to main myeongdong area. On one of the days there, we walked all the way to N Seoul Tower. It is quite convenient to get to the Chungmuro subway station (near the airport bus stop). It took us around 15mins by foot from the hotel to the cable car station. The staff was quite helpful too and able to communicate well in English. However, we were slightly disappointed that there isnt any cafes or food at the immediate vicinity of our hotel. We had to go to myeongdong for our meals. Along that stretch, you will find paris baguette and a street of pet shops that sells puppies.
It was a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: the standard room we got was big enough for 3 adults
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamcyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear pamcyy

Thank you for staying with us..

We're really pleased that you seemed to be having a pleasant stay with us.

However, as you mentioned on this review now our restaurant is under construction so you cannot find anywhere to having a meal especially in the evening.

We’re really sorry for the inconvenience.

We will upgrade our facilities and service continually for our valuable guest.

Once again thank you for staying us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Best regards,
HOTEL PJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin
Hotel ShinShin
#21 of 497 in Seoul
622 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Central Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Hotel Seoul
#42 of 497 in Seoul
1,013 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Metro Hotel
Metro Hotel
#14 of 497 in Seoul
1,261 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Ibis Styles Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel PJ Myeongdong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel PJ Myeongdong

Property: Hotel PJ Myeongdong
Address: 71, Mareunnae-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04548, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Seoul
#16 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#22 Business Hotel in Seoul
#29 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel PJ Myeongdong 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We, HotelPJ, have always tried our best to provide our guests with high-quality service and convenience. Located favorably in the center of seoul, our hotel is equipped with comfortable guest rooms and various entertainment facilities. Under these optimum conditions, we will requite to our guests by best service and support. Our guest rooms are more comfortable and spacious than any other hotel in the same class and provide an executive floor designed for business visitors. It will be ready in order to meet the diverse need ofour guests and provide all the facilities and services. Services: Key card for guestroom and elevator, LCD TV, safety box, electric kettle, balcony(in some guestrooms), fabric refresher, water purifier/ice machine on each floor, free Wi-Fi access, tea cups, tumbler,ice pail, electric bidet, bathtub, complimentary mineral water/tea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel PJ Myeongdong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pj Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing