We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So so....only”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel PJ Myeongdong
Ranked #36 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So so....only”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The location of the hotel is bang in the middle some printing factories/companies. Walking to the hotel from the underground though is not far but if you're doing this late in the evening you might feel unsafe since the streets are quite dark and you might get lost in the maze. Therefore, it's best to stick to their shuttle sevices in the evening. Plus if you have big lugguages, it might be very painful since the underground in Seoul do not have much lifts or escalators!

Stayed on the lady's floor. Room was big but the air con did not quite covered the room causing the room to be abit damp, likewise with the bedding. The bedside lamp was broken too but they did have some nice touches like the foot massage machine next to the sofa for you to pamper in after a long day shop around town. Bell service was excellent and friendly, check in lady was a bit moody but check out was very smooth.

I actually only used the shuttle service once as I noticed taking the underground to different tourist sites are more convenient and quicker. Traffic jams can be quite hectic in this busy city. Airport bus stop is quite near by, again you have to drag your lugguage for 10 mins to the bus stop on this very rocky, narrow, dark road with lots of local small restaurants' food or cooking equipment on the same path. Unfortunately, I had to do this in the drizzle, dread to think if I had to do this in heavier rain. You could cut this mess by taking the shuttle but if you have big lugguage and there are a few of you, it might be quite inconvenient to get on the small bus.

It actually took me 1.5hr to get to the airport on the bus vs. if I take the Airport train from Seoul station + underground, I can do it within an hour with big lugguage.

If you are looking for a night to stay to cater your shopping chores, this might be the place for you. But if you are looking for comfort too, you might need to go for somewhere else. Definitely not a 5 stars hotel, I would only give it a 3.5 or 4.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AT0915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear AT0915

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel PJ.

We're delighted that you seemed to be having a great time with us here in Seoul.

But we're really sorry if you felt a little bit uncomfortable with our amenties and envoiroment around our hotel.

We're do our best for upgrade more. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Thanks,
HOTEL PJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    617
    132
    21
    10
See reviews for
459
216
94
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Service- no problems at all with check in or with any enquiries that we have. The staff was able to provide the answers to all queries that we have. Some of them could even speak a variety of languages such as Japanese and English which could explain why there were so many Japanese tourists when we were there.
Room - the room was fairly big and there was sufficient space to put all our oversize lugguages and shopping bags. However, amenities were not uniform, friends had a espresso machine in their room whereas it wasn't available in ours even though we booked the same type. Not sure if it's because ours is on e ladies floor but they were assigned to another floor.
Location - wasn't very close to the subway stations ( 2 in fact that you can walk to) with a 5-10 mins walk. We couldn't really find places to eat in the immediate vicinity and you will be better off checking out the places near the subway.
Others - the shuttle bus was a good touch providing access to the shopping districts which makes it very convenient for guests.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bungo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear bungo88

Thank you for choosing Hotel PJ.

We're really happy to see you at the moment.
And thank you for your positive review on this website.

We continually do our best for our guests so please visit again in the future and have a wonderful memory.

Thank you.

Best regards,
HOTEL PJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Although the location is a liitle bit distanced from the shopping area, the shuttle service covered this bad. Quiet and the staffs are nice. Stayed for 5 nights. 10mins to walk to nearest train stations. Airport bus station is near.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kolmanng .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear kolmanng

Thank you fo your review after your recent stay in Hotel PJ.

We're delighted that you seemed to be having a great time with us.

Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you in the near future again.

Thanks,
HOTEL PJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Location : Cons - the hotel is surrounded by some very old residential buildings looked quite slummy, it's quite embarrassed if your Korean friend send you to the hotel. Pros - They have shuttle bus running between shopping area, very convenient if you're coming for shopping.
Room : Pros - Very spacious, I traveled with my family (3 adults) despite the room has three twin beds; it's still very roomy, the balcony has a dining table and chairs which comfortably accommodate 3-4 people. The shower is excellent in terms of the water temperature and pressure. Room amenities are very comprehensive. Cons - The quality of bath towel, bed sheets and pillow are need to be improved.
F & B : The breakfast serves on 3/F floor are terrible, the worst food that I had on my whole Seoul trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbysywong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Debbysywong

Good day!
Thank you for choosing 'Hotel PJ' for your recent accommodation in Seoul.
We were delighted to help you out when you stayed in our facility.
However, we're really sorry to heat that you were really disappointed about our breakfast.
We try to upgrade more.
Thank you for writing down your review and hope to see you in the future.

Thanks,
HOTEL PJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I chose this hotel due to having a special price at the time and also from the good ratings on Trip Advisor. If I could give half stars - I would give this hotel 3.5. Not bad enough for 3 though - so 4 is about right.

The hotel was easily accessible by the airport bus from Incheon. The two catches though are that it's the very last hotel on the route (and hence almost the first on the return journey) which means the long trip out the the airport is even longer. Tiresome!
The second is that the walk from the bus stop to the hotel, although short is via a dark shopping area that at night does not look or feel safe.

My rooms was a standard one. Most appear to have balconies due to the hotel design, but the standard rooms (high floors) are very narrow.

Location is like being in the middle of nowhere, and close to the action. It's within day walking distance of Myeongdong. Wouldn't attempt it at night.

But the location is saved by one Seoul truth - the taxis are extremely cheap! Any non black taxi will charge dirt cheap rate, and the slightly more expensive ones charge just plain cheap.
Unlike most cities, the rate is mainly calculated by distance and not much time is included. So even if traffic is encountered, under 2km is about $3 US (including taxes).

At night the area around the hotel (and also Myeongdong) become quite. Getting a meal can be difficult. Worst still late at night taxis are often so keen to get long distance rides, that even when armed with a local in hand for translations, the taxi drivers would refuse the ride.

Next time I might try something around Numdaemun. It stays open till later.

Room Tip: High with balcony will be standard, low level rooms will be larger. The square metres shown will app...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Glenn S

Thank you for choosing HOTEL PJ and leave your review here.

We're all happy to read your review on this website.

We hope to see you in the near future again and hope you to make great experiences here in Seoul again.

Thank you.

Best regards,
HOTEL PJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

stayed for 9 nights with my mom. despite emails to communicate with hotel before my trip, all went unanswered. booked through agoda, and requested for lady floor cause it's only me and my mom, but was given a 8th floor room without balcony. amenities provided was not consistent, so much so that we had to purchase spoon & coffee mix outside just barely third day of our stay. even the shower form was not refilled after highlighting to staff, and was only provided 2 small bottles of body cleanser. room smelled of cigarette sometime when we returned to room after a long day out even though it's suppose to be a non-smoking room. the room keeping service was slow. a couple of days we went back around 3-4pm to find it still not tidied, and can't even take a shower to refresh ourselves. the blinds in the toilet is badly in need of maintenance, can't even raise the blinds to make the toilet brighter when applying makeups. overall not worth the money spent for just room stay only. would not be considering again for my next korea trip.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rhinotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear rhinotan

We, Hotel PJ, offer our sincere apology to you.
Also, thank you for your review for our hotel.

We're really sorry that you've had this experience on your trip in Seoul.
If you have another chance to visit our hotel in the future again, we give you better service to you.
Once again, we offer our sincerest apologies. Thank you.

Best regards,
HOTEL PJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We booked a quad room for 4 persons and were upgraded to a bigger family room on the ladies floor. Room amenities were good, with daily facial sheets provided and good quality aveda products. The bed and pillows were also of good quality. Our only gripe was that the drainage in the shower was poor and our toilet was flooded almost everyday. The staff were notified but the problem recurred.

Service staff was friendly and approachable. We met with a slight misunderstanding during check out as our payment on agoda was written in USD but the hotel staff insisted on charging us Korean won when it wasn't stated anywhere during our booking process or on our confirmation chit. It wasn't a huge amount difference but we just felt that agoda should have communicated with the hotel to prevent such problem from happening again as it was quite disruptive and inconvenient.

Location was good despite all the other reviews. The area was an industrial area but we found good eateries, Paris Baguette and other food around the area. The hotel was situated 5 min walk away from euljiro 3 ga, euljiro 4ga and chungmuro and it was a blessing as it connected us to all the different subway lines. The hotel shuttle bus was fantastic as it shuttled us to the main shopping areas (esp for us girls) and allowed hop on n off service.. absolutely fabulous as we saved tonnes of transport money. Being away from the crowded myeong dong and dongdaemun also meant we were not subjected to crazy crowds and noise at night.

Overall it's a lovely hotel and I can't wait to revisit again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank rockjunkiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear rockjunkiez

Greetings from HOTEL PJ Seoul, Korea.

Thank you for staying with us and remaining your positive review on the tripadvisor website.

We were very glad to read that you had a comfortable stay with us.

We try our best for upgrade our facility and service more so visit our hotel later and make good memories with us.

Thank you.

Best regards,
HOTEL PJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Central Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin
Hotel ShinShin
#16 of 472 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Nine Tree Hotel Myeong-dong
Lotte City Hotel Guro
#2 of 472 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Prince Hotel Seoul
#38 of 472 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel PJ Myeongdong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel PJ Myeongdong

Property: Hotel PJ Myeongdong
Address: 71, Mareunnae-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04548, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Seoul
#16 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#22 Business Hotel in Seoul
#27 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel PJ Myeongdong 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We, HotelPJ, have always tried our best to provide our guests with high-quality service and convenience. Located favorably in the center of seoul, our hotel is equipped with comfortable guest rooms and various entertainment facilities. Under these optimum conditions, we will requite to our guests by best service and support. Our guest rooms are more comfortable and spacious than any other hotel in the same class and provide an executive floor designed for business visitors. It will be ready in order to meet the diverse need ofour guests and provide all the facilities and services. Services: Key card for guestroom and elevator, LCD TV, safety box, electric kettle, balcony(in some guestrooms), fabric refresher, water purifier/ice machine on each floor, free Wi-Fi access, tea cups, tumbler,ice pail, electric bidet, bathtub, complimentary mineral water/tea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel PJ Myeongdong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pj Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing