We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better experience than I expected”
Review of THE PLAZA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
THE PLAZA
Ranked #24 of 493 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Better experience than I expected”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Based on photos and review, I expected the room to be small, and it might've been, however when we checked in, we were told the room that we booked was unavailable, and they provided us with a free upgrade to a suite, which was a welcome surprise after being on a plane for 14 hours.

Service was excellent, the room was beautiful with a beautiful view of City Hall and Downtown Seoul. Huge bathroom as well. The hotel is right in downtown Seoul and very convenient to everything and also convenient to a variety of subway lines.

Room Tip: Rooms facing North have a great view of City Hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvilIncarnate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaMarketing, 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Evillncarnate,

Thank you for choosing THE PLAZA and for leaving your review on Tripadvisor. It is always great to that our valuable customers were able to have a suite room experience with unexpected complimentary room upgrade.

We appreciate you mentioning our service, bathroom and location of our hotel; centrally located and within walking distance to a variety of shopping areas, tourist attractions and subway stations. Moreover, diverse cultural events on Seoul Plaza across from the hotel will be good enough to give guests a lot of pleasure.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to THE PLAZA in the future.


Truly yours,

Yong Woon Kim
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    702
    509
    98
    21
    10
See reviews for
203
290
111
467
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 4 nights in the middle of November on my wife’s business trip.

Booked Deluxe Double room. Check in took few minutes and were given a room on 15th floor. The room itself is smallish comparing to 5* standard but very modern and equipped with all modern cons. You can virtually control everything in the room from a remote control on the left side of the bed. Room is cleaned daily at the time of your convenience but no later than 8pm of the day. You are also provided with Nespresso machine (free of charge) and 3 different flavour coffee capsules each day. These are refilled when the room is cleaned. There is also a kettle and selection of teas in the room. Two free bottles of water are also provided each day. Towels and bathrobes are changed daily.

Deluxe rooms are also facing Plaza itself with the very nice view of Seoul downtown. The Plaza could sometimes be noisy during the meetings or other public events. But these are usually held during the day time and cleared by the night time. Plaza underground station could be reached via underground subway directly from the hotel’s lower ground floor which is very convenient in winter. Hotel is also served by the Limousine Coach (with very comfortable seats) directly from/to Inchenon airport, so no need to book a taxi.

The staff is friendly and try their best to speak and understand English.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rustam_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaMarketing, 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Rustam_A,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review.

We are delighted reading your detailed feedback you included for other travelers and for your experiences regarding our room cleanliness, amenities and that the location was convenient to reach subway station. Our deluxe rooms are all facing to city hall and diverse cultural events on Seoul Plaza across from the hotel will be good enough to give guests a lot of pleasure.

We are glad to hear that our staffs were friendly throughout your stay and we will continue to seek for improvement upon out current service and facilities to create memorable experiences for our guests.

We will be looking forward to your next visit in the future!

Sincerely,


Yong Woon Kim
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We (Myself, fiance and father) spent only one night at The Plaza (unfortunately) it was fully booked! The hotel has an outstanding Concierge service and you feel Welcomed at first visit.

The rooms were small but modern.

They had a lot of facilities but unfortunately didn't have the chance to visit them all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monicamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaMarketing, 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Monicamee,

Thank you for choosing THE PLAZA and for leaving your review on tripadvisor.

We are very happy that our concierge staff was able to provide such outstanding service during your stay. We completely understand that our room seems more distinctive than other hotels. Our room design is more modern than most hotels near here, but we are providing something truly unique and stylish to our guests as luxury boutique hotel.

All of us here at THE PLAZA are happy that you enjoyed our staff service and we hope to see you next time you are looking to enjoy our hotel facilities. Thank you again and we will be looking forward to your next stay in the future!

Kind regards,

Yong Woon Kim
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumon, Mariana Islands
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I spent 2 nights here in October this year & really enjoy my stay. The Plaza Hotel is located in city centre nearby shopping areas & tourist attractions. It's located only 5 mins (by car) or 10 mins (by walk) away from shopping areas like Myongdong & Numdaemun Market. Moreover, Deoksugung palace is located across the street from hotel. Also Seoul City Hall is just opposite the hotel. You can find many convenient stores, good coffee shops & good restaurants next to Seoul City Hall. If you are facing city hall, coffee shops and restaurants are located at the right side of city hall right on the small street. The transportation is very convenient since underground station (City Hall Station) is located right across the hotel.

The hotel room is very modern, comfy & cozy. The hotel staff is very professional & helpful. The hotel provides very good services. I stayed in deluxe twin & the room size is perfect.

Room Tip: If you need room with some space, it's better to stay in deluxe twin. The room space will be ful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MungMink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaMarketing, 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear MungMink,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We love receiving feedback.

We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the location of our hotel; centrally located to city center and within walking distance to a variety of shopping areas, restaurants and coffee shops for every preference.

Here The Plaza we strive to deliver an exceptional guest service and I am happy that we reached this goal during your recent stay. We look forward for your next stay to continue to deliver that beyond service we are providing.

Warmest Regards,


Yong Woon Kim
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

But for the customer service here, I would originally have ranked this hotel as a 3* -- but I may have been spoiled by multiple trips to the JW Marriott, which I thoroughly enjoy. But in the end, they changed my mind and made me a believer in The Plaza.

I was originally assigned to a Deluxe Double Room (courtesy of the work booking); but to be honest, I found the room freaked me out a bit. This has never happened to me and may be a somewhat personal reaction (one of my colleagues assigned to a similar room thoroughly enjoyed the same things that made me uncomfortable). The bed pretty much dominated the entire room (pink walls with red accents). With the placement of the mirrors on both sides of the room, it created a series of endless reflections that literally made me a bit dizzy to look at. Not to mention, you can view the city (and be seen in!) the shower ... although if you use the curtains, that eliminates some of the problem. Not to mention, the lights looked like giant-sized desk lamps. It just made me cringe inside. But as I said, a colleague loved it, so I took lots of pictures so you can decide for yourself if the quirky suits your style or if you'd want a different room.

It was so discomforting to me that, for the price (which is not cheap!) I almost moved hotels. The management was able to make an exception for me and get me into a Premiere Double Suite, which I utterly adored. I suppose I was taken in immediately by the Nespresso machine (kind of like "you had me at hello".). The spacing / organization of the room was much much better and very nice. I much preferred the lack of the crazy mirrors, the lack of those giant lamps, and a bit of separation between the bed and the sitting place. I was very grateful for their kindness, which made a quick trip to Asia more bare able.

The similarities of both rooms was -- the shower, sink, etc was very very nice. And the Molton Brown products are always delightful. So in that sense, irrespective of the room type, the bathroom quality was of a high quality. Also, the gym was a bit strange to get to, but it was perfectly fine. I still prefer the gym at the JM Marriott, but the Plaza still gets the job done. Overall, I'm not sure that I would stay here again -- but I would certainly recommend it to friends, particularly the really lovely Premiere Suite and also because of the very high customer service.

Final tip, spend the money to have a home-made ginger tea in the lobby restaurant. Yes, it was close to US$20. But my goodness, it was honestly one of the best cups of tea (very fragrant, really lovely) in my life.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank sd_in_switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaMarketing, 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear sd_in_switzerland,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay.

I would like to apologize for the small inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Our rooms seem more distinctive than other hotels but our concept is unique and stylish designs as luxury boutique hotel. I am glad however that you found bathroom quality and amenities which are made for guest’s convenience like a rain shower in shower booth.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and we do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards,


Yong Woon Kim
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I spent 4 nights here in November and enjoyed it. No real problems at all. I was afraid the room would be very small based on some reviews but it was not too small and very comfortable lay out. My room faced the "plaza" and one night there was a major demonstration going on and another morning very early there was a marathon race, so if you prefer quiet room, ask for one not facing City Hall, otherwise its a nice view. The windows are double thick so you cannot hear street noise, only major events. The area is very busy, and walking can be confusing. The front desk was nice but not real certain of a few questions, luckily the free wifi helped me find quick answers. The doorman bows every time you enter. There are so many coffee shops around this hotel, and it is a short walk to Myeongdong shopping area and Namdeamun. There is a shopping and subway area underground that is attached so you do not have to go outside if it is cold or raining. I did not go to any of the restaurants, the bar is very expensive.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Facing the City Hall is a nice view but can be noisy when events are going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSF578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaMarketing, 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear chicagotravelling,

Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor!
It pleases me very much to know that your experience with us was exceptional and we were able to meet your needs.

The renovated hotel rooms in 2010 present contemporary and unique designs and are furnished with custom-made furniture and high tech facilities such as ‘Touchpad’(called ‘command center’ in your review) or rain shower. And we are located right above the subway station, City hall station on Line 1 or Line 2 and in the walking distance to the famous Myeongdong shopping area and other major tourist attractions. And there is a limousine bus between the hotel and Incheon international airport 2~3 times an hour on a daily basis. Glad that you appreciated our location.

We look forward to welcoming you again next time you are back in Seoul!

Kind regards,

Yong Woon Kim
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I just came back from a week long business trip from Seoul. Stayed at the Plaza Hotel. The hotel is very good, with very friendly and helpful staff, very good breakfast and in an awesome location, which is close to all cultural attractions in Seoul. The rooms are nice sized with good amenities and fit outs.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the City Hall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranjit1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaMarketing, 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Ranjit1009,

Thank you for taking so much of your time to write a review of our hotel!

I am really glad to know that you have enjoyed the room design, amenities and guest services.
As Korea’s luxury boutique hotel, The Plaza has been renovated in 2010 and is becoming the optimal choice for even the most discerning business travelers who pursue both style and convenience. Rooms seem smaller than other hotels but we are furnished with custom-made furniture, high tech facilities and rain shower in a bathroom booth for guest’s convenience. Moreover, diverse cultural events from spring to fall on Seoul Plaza across from the hotel will be good enough to give guests a lot of pleasure.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Plaza soon, hopefully in no distant future.
Thank you.

Truly yours,

Yong Woon Kim
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#11 of 493 in Seoul
3,296 reviews
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
JW Marriott Dongdaemun Square Seoul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Aloft Seoul Myeongdong
Aloft Seoul Myeongdong
#3 of 493 in Seoul
252 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Courtyard Seoul Namdaemun
Namsan
The Shilla Seoul
The Shilla Seoul
#16 of 493 in Seoul
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THE PLAZA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE PLAZA

Property: THE PLAZA
Address: 119 Sogong-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04525, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Seoul
#10 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#15 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#16 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#16 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — THE PLAZA 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Nov. 2010, THE PLAZA, the newly renovated hotel features aesthetic interior designs, impeccable personalized customer service, and ultimate convenience for conducting international business. Ideally located in the heart of downtown Seoul, THE PLAZA is optimized for business convenience with free internet service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your THE PLAZA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaza Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing