We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience!”
Review of THE PLAZA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
THE PLAZA
Ranked #21 of 500 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I found The Plaza on a very good location. Many stores and restaurants arround the hotel and a very nice view of downtown Seoul. The city hall building is right in front and they were building na ice rink on the square that may give a good movement in the neigbourhood during the winter nights. The bedroom is big and confortable, nice carpets and the bed is superb. The excess of automation made me a little bit confused. Breakfast was very good and the croissants are the best in town!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcelo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaMarketing, 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Marcelo T,

We appreciate you taking the time to give us your review on trip advisor. We are grateful that you enjoyed the convenient location: centrally located in downtown of Seoul and within walking distance to various restaurants and shopping areas.

We have several selections of rooms that have cozy beddings, city hall view, and, ice rink on the Seoul Square especially during winter season. At our famous Seven Square, we serve a wide range of menu from Western to Asian foods for breakfast not to mention excellent individual menu.

Thank you so much for staying with us, and we hope you have more fun time with our high tech gadget next time when you stay in one of our rooms.

Warm Regards,

Yong Woon Kim,
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,374)
There are newer reviews for THE PLAZA
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

517 - 523 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

Been to Seoul a few times and found this hotel has a good location. There are local street shops and restaurants that you can explorewhcih were delightful. The room was kind of space age in decor and hi-tech with lots of black, steel, glass. Superb gym - though in another building - for those who need a bit of exercise. Remember to negotiate for breakfast at the time of booking - it is not automatic.

Most important: Double check your bill at check-out to see what you pay for. I was charged for minibar use on two days though I did not even open it. Discovered only later after I reached back. It left a very bad taste. If you are in a hurry to leave and trust them, you too may pay for what you do not use.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Longtimeguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaMarketing, 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Longtimeguest,

Thank you for your review of THE PLAZA. We truly appreciate your comment about our convenient location which has easy access to various shopping areas, restaurants and, tourist spots. However, it is sorry to hear that our hotel did not live up to your expectation with the mini-bar charges. Everyone including housekeeping section took your comments seriously. And we are eager to correct any procedure mistakes for check-out. I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced with the checking out.

Thank you for your comments on your experiences and hope to see you again on your next visit to Seoul.

Sincerely yours,

Yong Woon Kim,
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My friends and I booked through Expedia and got ourselves a deluxe room at The Plaza Seoul. We ran into a tiny glitch because there were 3 of us and the room only accommodates 2 people. However, Expedia was able to negotiate with the manager at the hotel and she was so kind to provide a rollaway bed for our 3rd guest. Problem solved, onto the good stuff!

Loved the hotel! We were pleasantly surprised because we were under the impression since it was so centrally located and it's across from City Hall; it would be 'touristy'. The Plaza is modern, as it is a boutique hotel, the decor is simple yet artsy. Loved the utilization of space! When we walked in, there's a small inset that works like a closet/changing room - enough space for 3 women! The bathroom is awesome, clean cut, modern, big bath tub - although we enjoyed the rain shower more. The toilet has a control panel, just press flush! We were thrilled by the room, the control panel to close the curtains and lights without getting up from the comfy bed. We were very happy with the room size, 2 twins with shelving units on each side, big window and living room space for the rollaway bed, just enough space for us to take advantage of the sofa and enjoy the flat screen. Free WiFi!!!

Excellent location! Walkable to Myeong-dong! Major shopping overload! Loved it! If you've ever been to SOHO in NYC, like that x10 (crowd wise). Vendor food all over and must try! Their transit system is easy, and with City Hall being a major stop for all the metro lines - it was quite easy to go from City Hall to all areas. Also the hotel provides shuttle to Insadong, where visitors can buy a whole bucket full of gifts for friends. The downside, there's no shuttle back - - but you will find Insadong is actually walkable back to the hotel. We took a taxi and it wasn't overpriced like lots of comments stated... I actually think Seoul taxi is cheaper than NYC taxi!

Another plus, the hotel underground is connected to other hotels, like the Westin and Lotte! Go high end shopping at the Lotte hotel and feast in their food court for traditional Korean food and end the night with a giant bowl of shaved ice with red bean, mochi and condensed milk!

I would stay at this hotel again for my next visit for sure!!

Room Tip: If you're not an early riser, get the Club Rooms for free breakfast.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaMarketing, 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Karen N,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to leave such a positive review for us. We are so happy to read that you had such a great time here at THE PLAZA. I am delighted that you enjoyed our convenient location, modern boutique design room and bathroom featuring rain shower. By the way, we always receive positive comment on it.

I am pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our city tour shuttle which provides to go main tourist spots near the hotel. This service is one of our specialized services at THE PLAZA.

We always try to do our best, and we hope that you will come back and visit us again at THE PLAZA.

Sincerely yours,

Yong Woon Kim,
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

I had such a fantastic stay at this hotel. I stayed in 5 hotels on this trip and The Plaza was the very best.
The staff were attentive and made an effort to get to know my name. The room was spacious and incredibly clean. The house keeping even checked on me in the evening as I had the do not disturb sign up in the morning they wanted to check everything was fine.
The location is perfect as well.
I would recommend to couples and business travelers especially.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank antonialivestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaMarketing, 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear antonialivestotravel,

Thank you for choosing THE PLAZA, and we appreciate for your review about your experience at our hotel.

I am very glad to know that you have enjoyed our services, the room and the convenient location. We pride ourselves on providing the attentive services, and I am delighted that our staffs were successful in achieving it with you. We will continue to seek for more improvements on top of our current level of services and facilities to create memorable stay for our valuable guests.

Thank you for recommending us and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Yong Woon Kim,
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

My wife and I enjoyed this hotel so much during our vacation. We stayed there our 1st week in Seoul, South Korea. After our return from 2nd week in Jeju, we liked the Plaza enough to stay there for our last few days in Seoul.

The location of the hotel is very convenient. It is basically located on Subway Line 1 and very near Line 2. They can be reached via underground tunnels using the Hotel elevator.
There are many sites to visit and places to shop nearby the hotel. One of the palace entrances, Deoksugung, is located a mere 100 yards west from the Plaza entrance. The largest palace, Geunjeongjeon, is approximately 3/4 mile north. The US Embassy is along the way. Seoul Tower is also nearby, possible, but not exactly walking distance.

While researching where to stay, I read several reviews of extreme noise outside the Plaza Hotel in Seoul Plaza, but did not experience this. The windows are double paned to keep outside noise minimal. During our stay, there were two events, including one evening concert. Neither of these events last longer than 9:00 pm on the weekend. We were on the 15th floor.

Based on the pictures I have seen, I was concerned about the room size. However, we found that the room, Deluxe Double Room, was spacious enough to accommodate two guest, as well as 3 large pieces of luggage with no issues.

The hotel staff and concierges were very helpful knowledgeable about the area and the best restaurants in the area. Concierge Michelle, especially went out of her way to plan my trip to Jeju Island, making several reservations.

We did not have any meals at the hotel, but prices from their menu were, as with all hotels, very pricey, especially for breakfast. Eat out, ask the concierge for the help.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaMarketing, 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Mario L,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your recent experience about THE PLAZA. We love receiving feedbacks from our guests.

Your comments on our location, room, and services help readers here, Tripadvisor, to make a right choice. The plaza is located in the heart of Seoul: easy access to historical areas such as palaces and other major Seoul's popular attractions. I am delighted that you were satisfied with our staff and services; especially Michelle's service was helpful to your trip to Seoul and Jeju.

Thank you again for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely yours,

Yong Woon Kim,
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Small room- booked through Expedia. everything was just fine...the in-room breakfast? uh, $36 for 6 pieces of fruit two croissants and small pot of coffee..beware of the costs - I was more than surprised.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwi400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaMarketing, 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear kiwi400,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about your recent stay at THE PLAZA. We understand that our room is definitely more modern than hotels around downtown Seoul. However, we take pride in providing something unique to our guests as a luxury boutique hotel in Seoul. We always strive to satisfy all the needs for our guests, but we sometimes fall short of perfection.

Thank you again for staying with us and we will be looking forward to your next stay in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Yong Woon Kim,
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed 3 nights in November 2013, club deluxe double room
Pros: Central location opposite city hall, close to shopping (Myeongdong) and major sights, first class service and facilites, elegant interior (hall and public areas), back exit with direct metro access
Cons: Overpriced, club deluxe rooms far too small, bathroom too small, weird interior design, no luggage rack, crazy automatic lighting and curtains, breakfast in exec lounge not quite up to the standard

Room Tip: Nearby Lotte hotel is even more expensive, but could be a better alternative
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Herbert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaMarketing, 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Herbert E,

Thank you for your review about our hotel even though there were some less satisfying experiences during your stay. It is always good to hear that our services and convenient location met our customers’ satisfaction. We understand that our rooms seem more distinctive and high tech than other hotels, and we hope to provide something truly unique to our guests because the hotel concept is unique, modern, and stylish as a luxury boutique hotel.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and we hope we have an opportunity to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Young Woon Kim,
Director of rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#13 of 500 in Seoul
3,329 reviews
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
JW Marriott Dongdaemun Square Seoul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Aloft Seoul Myeongdong
Aloft Seoul Myeongdong
#3 of 500 in Seoul
306 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Courtyard Seoul Namdaemun
Namsan
The Shilla Seoul
The Shilla Seoul
#18 of 500 in Seoul
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THE PLAZA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE PLAZA

Address: 119 Sogong-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04525, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#9 Business Hotel in Seoul
#14 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#15 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#16 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range: £132 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — THE PLAZA 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Nov. 2010, THE PLAZA, the newly renovated hotel features aesthetic interior designs, impeccable personalized customer service, and ultimate convenience for conducting international business. Ideally located in the heart of downtown Seoul, THE PLAZA is optimized for business convenience with free internet service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your THE PLAZA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaza Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing