We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel but Quirky incidences to boot!”
Review of Hotel At Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel At Home
Ranked #176 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Decent hotel but Quirky incidences to boot!”
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Lees Hotel is strategically located near the Jongno 5-ga station. Once you see the Family Mart in front of you turn right into the lane and walk straight on past many restaurants (about 3 mins). The hotel is on your right. The airport limo will drop you at Jongno 4-ga. It's about 15mins walk to the hotel. The Gwangjang market is directly opposite the subway and makes for a great breakfast place before you start your day. Attractions nearby are Dongdaemun within walking distance and Insadong (just a few subway stops away).
Innostel's rate for Lees was very good thus making it pretty worth it. I would rate it around 2 stars and it's clean and comfortable. The heating does get very hot at night. Free Internet access is useful and the many restaurants nearby are pretty good and competitively priced.

The downside of the hotel are:
- Pretty reserved and unfriendly staff who speak very minimal English and despite the efforts of our language book, they don't appear to want to help much.
- A couple of weird incidences ie. my friend's plastic bag of dirty clothes was removed by the cleaner. After a lot of angst in trying to communicate this to the hotel, they retrieved very smelly clothes from the thrash. Even then some pieces were missing. Do not leave your stuff lying around or it might get thrown away.
- Wild goose chase just to get 1 loo roll. Had to speak to an interpreter over the phone who then proceeded to tell me that I was not to throw the loo roll into the toilet! Never quite made out why. In the end I had to follow the hotel staff around the hotel waiting for him to search for the loo roll for me.
- There is no luggage room so you will have to leave your bags in the foyer at the front of the reception. We left it for 1 night and it was still there when we returned :)
Having said all that, I would stay here again for the price and excellent location. There is a police station nearby so it's really very safe.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CowsinPink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    36
    30
    6
    4
See reviews for
17
12
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2010

Decent hotel with lobby internet -- helped us save money for visit to Tokyo. Room was fine for 2 people and near markets and bus stops/subway. Frequented French Baquette nearby for breakfast each morning. Starbucks also nearby. Market too - which meanders forever is fascinating. Visit nearby Tapgol park where hundreds of men play board games throughout the day.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nissaKnoxville_Tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We made reservations through Agoda after reading reviews here and on their website. We actually stayed there 5 nights, traveled a bit, then went back there for our last night. We loved that it was on a neighborhood type street, lots of food nearby, coffee shop next door and 2 others on the little street. We followed directions found on the forum and also on the Agoda site, taking the 6002 bus from the airport and walking the short distance to the hotel. Nice subway access and can walk to many sights. Rooms were simple but very comfortable with hot water pot (bring your own coffee/tea), great a/c, good shower and large TV.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

At this price you can’t expect ”the Ritz”, however Hotel Lees offers very good value for money. Hotel Lees is quite centrally located with an easy access to any part of the city. It is just a short walk from the nearest subway station (Line 1, Jongno 5-ga, Exit 1). There are many small restaurants, cafés and grocery stores in the neighbourhood.

I stayed couple of nights in a standard single room. The room was smallish but equipped with an air-conditioner, huge flat-screen TV, and refrigerator. Despite some minor annoyances (low water pressure in shower, hard bed, no international TV channels...), I would recommend Hotel Lees to anyone who is looking for a reasonably priced hotel with a good location.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janne_HEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Vision
Hotel Vision
#269 of 472 in Seoul
137 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Atrium
Hotel Atrium
#119 of 472 in Seoul
217 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Benikea Noble Hotel
Benikea Noble Hotel
#144 of 472 in Seoul
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Grid Inn Hotel
Grid Inn Hotel
#168 of 472 in Seoul
8 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Tong Seoul Dongdaemun
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
AMASS Hotel
AMASS Hotel
#117 of 472 in Seoul
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel At Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel At Home

Property: Hotel At Home
Address: 40, Jong-ro 31-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul 03129, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel At Home 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel At Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lees Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing