We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business purpose hotel in Gangnam destrict(Yoeksam Station)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Seoul Ambassador Gangnam Sodowe

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mercure Seoul Ambassador Gangnam Sodowe
Ranked #70 of 468 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Business purpose hotel in Gangnam destrict(Yoeksam Station)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel
Is suitable for business purpose. The reason is it provides all necessary stuff with a pretty small room even it is on excutive floor. When you are working on the wall side desk it is hard to watch TV. Best place is to watch TV is on the bed. The overall hotel is matched a 4 star one. The breakfast is a bit boring. Basic american breakfast everyday was my option for five day stay.
One of the good thing is that the hotel is very near to the last limousine bus from airport number 6020. So it is convenient to take luggage from hotel to the airport bus stop. I did not have a chance to use 5he gym, it is located underground so could not expect any view outside.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank kobchula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front Office Ma... K, 프론트 매니저 at Mercure Seoul Ambassador Gangnam Sodowe, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
First, thank you for your comments left on tripadvisor site. We have shared your comments with concerned departments and try to apply them to the operation over here. We can't make the room size bigger but we can offer you better service with our staffs for your next visit. hope to welcome you back soon here at Mercure Ambassador Gangnam Sodowe.

Thank you and have a pleasant day!

Jenna JUNG
Asst. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    351
    97
    25
    17
See reviews for
46
133
78
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singaopre
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Smack next to the Yokesam-dong train station and with a direct limousine bus service (albeit another 2 mins walk from the hotel to the bus stop) makes this a convenient location for business travel.

Back to the hotel:
- Rooms are small but they are modern and clean and well maintained. No complaints at all from a business traveller. I would consider booking the hotel for a leisure trip.

- Breakfast was a tab basic - breads, cereals, and a selection of cooked / grilled foods and salad. Sufficient, but probably not if you are a 'breakfast person' used to the spreads offered in larger hotels.

- Plenty of restaurants right across the hotel down the many back lanes that make up the Gangnam area. The main road serves a large number of offices with plenty of sky scrappers. However, all it takes is a short walk in the direction of the Gangnam station to a nice 'shopping' district. It is certainly not myeung-dong but the street (togeher with the Gangnam station and its underground shops) certainly kept me occupied for 1 or 2 evenings.

- Didn't manage to use the pool or gym, but it does appear well maintained.

- Staff are courteous and try their best to help.

- The hotel is set back just off the main road so I had a few cab drivers who did not manage to find the hotel. On 1 occassion, the cab driver was not able to locate the hotel on his GPS! However, this was solved after a quick call to the hotel and the hotel staff guided the taxi driver accordingly.

Cons:
- long travel to Myeungdong (if thats what you are looking for) as the Gangnam area is set below the river and gets pretty crowded due to the number of offices - my guess is that its probably Seoul's commercial district?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jules_s13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mercure_mkt, Manager at Mercure Seoul Ambassador Gangnam Sodowe, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you very much for your postitive review! It was great to have you here in Mercure SODOWE. You'd better try our sauna and get relaxed! :) We'll look forward to having you here again to serve you with impressive service again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed at Mercure Seoul Ambassador Gangnam for business. hotel location is very good location & very good view. after work can walk to Gangnam junction in 10 mins and then relax with bar & restaurant, shopping too.

Room Tip: Room on the front of hotel very good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank saknark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front Office Ma... K, 프론트 매니저 at Mercure Seoul Ambassador Gangnam Sodowe, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your recent comments left on Tripadvisor site. We, all the staffs, would like to welcome you back here soon with better service and facilities.
Thank you & have a pleasant day!
Jenna JUNG
Asst. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldives
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I had this hotel recommended by a colleague who regularly stays here whilst on business and the hotel didnt disappoint!

I arrived after a 27 hour long journey and was warmly greeted by the Front Office team who made me feel very welcome and expedited the check in when they saw that i was ready to drop where i stood.

The room was really clean and was very functional and comfortable, but if you have a lot of luggage, then it might get a bit cramped. Housekeeping Team should be commended as they were very concerned about making sure that I had enough water, even though the "Do Not Disturb" sign was on. My main concern was wifi and it worked seamlessly in the rooms and didnt ask for passwords repeatedly like in some other hotels.

I was disappointed about the lack of choice on the room service menu, but with so many options to dine out just a few steps from the hotel, it didnt really pose as a problem.

All in all, very friendly and patient service and a great choice if you are travelling for business.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExitedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front Office Ma... K, 프론트 매니저 at Mercure Seoul Ambassador Gangnam Sodowe, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Seoul Ambassador Gangnam Sodowe. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Jenna JUNG
Asst. Front Office Manager
Mercure Ambassador Gangnam Sodowe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ahmedabad
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed hear for 5 days. I was warmly welcomed but within few minutes they surprisingly reject us that your room is not booked with us even though we have voucher print out regarding my booking. We request them to find out the booking but staff said very arrogantly that it is your problem and talk to your travel agent in India. They didn't offer any help. Ultimately, I have made talk with an agent and He solved the problem and ultimately we got the room.

I really surprised after seeing Room, as it end before it starts. Very small room and it can accommodate only 1 guest and hotel had given for Double occupancy.

Definitely Hotel is very near to Yeoksam station and Bus station, and also very near to airport shuttle(6020) bus stand.

Hotel served breakfast almost nearly same on all days. We stayed here for 5 days and I found same breakfast through out my stay. Hotel is not having anything veg in breakfast except Aloo Ticky and bread.

Even in dining also, they don't have Veg menu.

I think this hotel only believe in Non-Veg food.

Be careful before staying.

Room Tip: Choose different Hotel, This is the best suggestion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohan291178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front Office Ma... K, 프론트 매니저 at Mercure Seoul Ambassador Gangnam Sodowe, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Warm greeting from Mercure Ambassador Gangnam Sodowe!

First, thank you very much for your recent stay and the comment left on tripadvisor site. Regarding the comments, we will have the meeting with concerned departments to improve our service specailly staff's attitude and variety of food. In case for the next visit, if you inform us in advance we will try to prepare more vegitarian food selection.
We appreciate sincerely for your stay and hope to welcome you again here at Mercure Seoul in the near future.

Thank you.

Best regards,
Jenna JUNG
Asst. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here for a few days in June, and had a really good experience. Location-wise, the hotel is handy for the bright lights of Gangnam, and there are oodles of restaurants, coffee shops and shops in easy walking distance. Yeoksam subway station is just around the corner. Note though that Seoul is a big, sprawling city, and getting to the main tourist attractions north of the river can take 40-50 mins on the (busy) subway (including a couple of changes). Getting to the hotel from Incheon and Gimpo airports is easy, as there are direct Limousine buses that stop at Yeoksam station (it's Limousine bus 6020 from Incheon airport, leaves from stop 5a or 11 at Incheon, get off at the last stop (Yeoksam) which is announced in English. From Gimpo airport, it's bus 6000).

Hotel is modern and well-equipped. I booked a superior room, which wasn't massive, but was spotlessly clean and furnished in a modern oriental style. Comfy bed, good shower, complimentary bottled water, decent air-con and reliable free Wi-Fi all made for a comfortable stay, and I didn't get any noise disturbance during the night.

Didn't use any of the restaurants, but I did sample the Kloud bar on the top floor a couple of times. This has a great atmosphere and some stunning (indoor and outdoor) views over Seoul. Drinks are (predictably) expensive though, and I found was the service was somewhat lacking in attentiveness (a couple of times I sat for a while with an empty glass on the table, which the waiters didn't pick up on).

All in all though, a really great stay - would definitely stay here again if I was visiting this part of the city. If you're going to be spending a lot of time north of the river though, I would look for something a bit closer, as the subway journeys can get tiring.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyI2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mercure_mkt, Manager at Mercure Seoul Ambassador Gangnam Sodowe, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you Andy for taking your time to write this great review! It’s nice that you liked your stay at Mercure SODOWE. Also, Thank you for understanding generously that our waiter was busy and kept you waited. We've already shared your opinion and we'll try harder to take care of each of our guest! Hope we can have you back here to show you better service :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

If you visit Seoul for business purpose, I believe Mercure is a good choice. It located strategically at the heart of business district therefore easily accessible by subway ( Yeoksam station exit 4), taxi, or bus.

Hotel lobby and rooms are very modern and well designed. Room was a bit small especially the toilet and bathroom. Iron and iron board were avialable upon requested. Lot of facilities, though i not visited them, including gym, sky lounge and sauna rooms. Additional charges were applied for using the facilities. Breakfast selections are satisfied.

Many shops, restaurants and plastic surgery clinics surrounding Mercure. Always crowded. Shuttle bus service available to Icheon (bus 6020) and Gimpo (bus 6000) airport. Bus ticket was 15,000 Won, could be paid cash to driver directly. The driver was very kind!

Highly recommended for business trip!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SiangSia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mercure_mkt, Manager at Mercure Seoul Ambassador Gangnam Sodowe, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Glad that you had a pleasant stay with us! Thank you for the positive review and your recommendation. we hope we can have you back here in the nearest future. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Ocloud Hotel
Ocloud Hotel
#29 of 468 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Hotel Cappuccino
Hotel Cappuccino
#75 of 468 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Novotel Ambassador Seoul Gangnam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
BEST WESTERN Premier Gangnam
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Shilla Stay Yeoksam
Shilla Stay Yeoksam
#74 of 468 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Seoul Ambassador Gangnam Sodowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Seoul Ambassador Gangnam Sodowe

Property: Mercure Seoul Ambassador Gangnam Sodowe
Address: 10, Teheran-ro 25-gil, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 06132, South Korea
Phone Number:
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 468 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Seoul Ambassador Gangnam Sodowe 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Ambassador Gangnam SODOWE is located in the heart of the business and fashion center of Gangnam. It is the first mercure hotel in Korea. This modern deluxe hotel has 288 rooms, and offer exclusive services for our guests, such as a fully-equipped sauna and gym, a business center, a family center, and many high quality dining, lounge and bar options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Mercure Seoul Ambassador Gangnam Sodowe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing