We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Namhyundang Guesthouse
Ranked #38 of 948 Seoul B&B and Inns
1 review
“Memorable stay!”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Lovely Hanok accommodation. Wonderful owner and his sister was also very nice. This Hanok is very close to Anguk station, 2 palaces, Insadong, as well as the Bukchon Hanok Village. I highly recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Popoy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    11
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
12
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I was persuaded by some Korean folk I know in the UK to extend my stay in Seoul from a 19 hour stopover to 3 nights. I was apprehensive about it but thanks mainly to the wonderful hospitality I received from Mr. Lee & his sister I now wish that I had stayed longer. As all the reviews suggest nothing was too much trouble and Mr. Lee even came down to the subway to help me purchase a tube ticket having given me a lift all over the city to transfer my luggage somewhere. The room might have been small but I slept unbelievably well. Must have been all the Feng Shui. Definitely worth trying even if you like your creature comforts.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneyB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Experience: I think it was a good experience! Wanted to stay in a hanok when i visit korea so much and finally get to stay at one! It was fun sleeping at the thick mattress and the common area which is the dining area is fun as well. Although would be even more interesting if they had the "low table" where i've seen alot of koreans sitting and eating BBQ on it.

Location: Absolutely great location! Although the hanok is a little difficult to find, the location is ideally in Insadong. Just 2 minutes walk to insadong old street, such a pity, my friend and I only found out the short cut to the shopping streets on our 2nd last day. Anyway, Insadong is a perfect place for tourist, the famous gyeonbokgung and Cheongdukgung are just walking distance! UhnHyeongGong is just beside the Hanok! On that day we check out, there is a wedding reenactment of Gojong? King... Went there too late, it was crowded, couldnt see a thing. Would be really awesome if i had came ealier! Anyway, this shows how fun this area is....
It is also walking distance to Bukchon Hanok and in between both Jonggak and Angguk station.

Service:
Mr Lee is so hospital towards us even though we're just staying at his hanok for a day. (we moved to crown insadong which is just next street because we're saving cost on accommodation). Our room was not suppose to have private toilet and instead a shared toilet. Since there's no one staying at the bigger room with private toilet, he free upgraded us! On the first day we check in, we're not suppose to have breakfast but he offered us coffee and toast knowing that we did not have breakfast! On the 2nd day breakfast, it was awesome, although simple, Mr Lee brought many stuff on the table for us to eat. Toast, coffee, orange juice, egg, different spreads, yoghurt, fruits etc... After we checked out, he even asked us to come back for breakfast because crown hotel does not include breakfast! We didn't but really appreciate him for being so hospital toward us...

How to reach there: After UhnHyeongGung, you'll see a school, after that, you'll see a really small alley. Turn in and continue walking. the hanok is at the end.

Other than the hanok being a little difficult to find, all is good. Perhaps, Excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NgSinLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

i went to seoul at first time in my life. I make everything feel dangerous in there. however the family make me have courage.
And when i leave the place, i come to put down my jacket. also the owner send me one by no cost

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank sie9942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

wonderful warm hearted people - a slight hiccup with agoda meant we didnt have a room when we turned up, so the owner rang around and made sure that we had an alternative hanok to stay in nearby.
His sister made us lots of cups of lovely rice tea, and took us to the historical 'fashion show' nearby which was very interesting.
room was nice and clean, warm and quiet. We had a nice chat to the owner, who seems to be well travelled and knowledgeable.
FInding the place is a bit of fun, we were helped by a chap who went out of his way to take us to the doorstep - if you cant find it, just ask someone as they are all so helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Mr Lee was an awesome host. Our first night we arrived at 1am and he was there at our point of a arrival. Very quickly settled us down and made sure we had all we need before leaving us for the night. Next morning, when we woke up, we had a very simple breakfast, hard boiled eggs and toast but it was enough. Location of Hanok is good. About 15mins walk to Gyeongbok palace and it is near 2 stations, Anguk & Jongno3(Sam)-ga station. So traveling around was relatively easy. That said, our first night we took some time to find the place as our map was not detailed enough. So make sure you hold a map that shows the smaller streets. The night before we checked out, We were given a box tea from Mr Lee. Really sweet of him. On top of this, the morning that we were to check out, Mr Lee was very kind to call us to wake us up knowing that we had a morning flight to jeju. (He was not in the Hanok, called our mobile) He was afraid we overslept! Great place to stay for your stay in Seoul, reasonably priced and mr Lee's sister was also a great help being the housekeeper of the Hanok. Their level of English was also decent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HangLoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Great traditional hanok stay...the service was great..warm and can get 'famili-fell' in here^^ even in the cold weather, the room still warm...love it^^ stay here and feel the great environment..really great especially for who want to visit korean palace^^

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chika_blu19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Sopoong Guest House
#4 of 948 in Seoul
174 reviews
Samcheongdong / Bukchon
Bukchon Guesthouse
Bukchon Guesthouse
#13 of 948 in Seoul
37 reviews
Samcheongdong / Bukchon
Cheong Yeon Jae Hanok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Samcheongdong / Bukchon
Raon Guesthouse
Raon Guesthouse
#8 of 948 in Seoul
60 reviews
Samcheongdong / Bukchon
Doo guesthouse Bukchon
Doo guesthouse Bukchon
#57 of 948 in Seoul
98 reviews
Samcheongdong / Bukchon
Bukchonmaru Hanok Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namhyundang Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namhyundang Guesthouse

Property: Namhyundang Guesthouse
Address: 446-15, Samil-daero, Jongno-gu, Seoul 03132, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Insadong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 948 B&Bs / Inns in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Namhyundang Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As soon as you step into the Namhyundang gate, a spacious courtyard greets you with such a peaceful and tranquil atmosphere that makes you feel like time is standing still when you are sitting on the wooden porch and watch the clouds above floating by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Namhyundang Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing