We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small room for 2 but clean and convenient”
Review of Prince Hotel Seoul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Prince Hotel Seoul
Ranked #45 of 504 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Was a little shocked by the size of the room. Literally our two twin beds were against the wall and the window just separated by a table. Having said that, since we didn't have a lot of luggage, the room was fine. Seems like it is a pretty new hotel so everything is new and clean. First night, our room was pretty stuffy. This is a decent and functional hotel so don't expect new slippers they often provide at international hotels. Bring your own if you don't want to walk barefoot. Bathroom was tiny but is clean and has everything you need. Airport bus takes over an hour to get to Sejong hotel across the road. We had a bit more luggage on the way back and the hotel arranged a staff to help us bring the luggage over to the bus stop. A car could be arranged as well if necessary. Location of Prince is across from Uniqlo in Myongdong. Very convenient and there's a starbucks 3 minutes away. Free wifi and pretty good connection. I will come back again.

Room Tip: Apparently there are larger corner rooms......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jipkipdipmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sun-ah1005, 매니저 at Prince Hotel Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear lokseenfung ,

Thank you for your good review on Tripadvisor.
Regarding your comment, we'll share with our team.
We're sure that your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services & facilities.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Warm regards,
Ms.Lily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

350 - 356 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel on our first trip to Seoul. The staff was very polite, professional and checked us in and out very quickly. They had conversational English skills and I believe Japanese too. The hotel rooms are on large size for Asia, rather small by American standards. The bathrooms were the very small and compact Asian type with a Japanese style toilet. The shower had fantastic water pressure. Only one at a time in there except if one is showering. A small refrigerator was in the room and 2 bottles of water were provided everyday. The room was well cleaned every day. A good sized flat screen tv that we never turned on. The bed was king sized but it was 2 small mattresses put together and pushed into the corner. A little unusual but we got used to it.

The location of the hotel is PERFECT. The metro stop is a few steps from the front door. The metro app is so easy to use, all of Seoul is at your doorstep. If you take the bus from the airport, it has a stop across the street about half a small block away. In the morning they even have 2 attendants there to assist you. Just across the street, the shopping and food heaven area called Myeongdong starts. I was amazed by how good some of the restaurants are there. Many cosmetics stores are located there and compete fiercely. It might not be the lowest price area in Seoul but not much higher than other areas. The cable car for the N. Seoul tower is only few blocks walk from this hotel, about 10 or so minute walk. Very pretty location and worth going to even if you don't watch the K-dramas that have filmed there.

We were very happy with this hotel and its ideal location. We did not eat in the hotels food outlets or use any other amenities during our trip because so many close options all around this hotel. We eventually will be repeat customers!!!

Room Tip: In the front, rooms number 8, you face the street and can hear some street noise but you located ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sun-ah1005, 매니저 at Prince Hotel Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Steven W,

Thank you for precious feedback on your experience during you staying.
Your kind words have been passed on to our team and this will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.
Once again, I much appreciated on your feedback and look forward to welcoming back at Seoul in the future.

Warm regards
Ms.Lily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We chose this perfectly located hotel for our 9-day Seoul immersion. Myeongdong subway station was only a few steps on your left as you exit the hotel. Cross the road in front (Toegye-ro) and this is your gateway to the lively Myeongdong shopping and gastronomic galore. This hotel is reasonably priced and very convenient because it's strategically located, plus it comes with a daily buffet breakfast. All the staff were friendly but we will give exceptional points to Ian Cho (Cho, Young-Rae). He made us feel very welcome and took an extra mile to make our stay a very pleasant one. We also like to mention Park, Soo-Hyun who always greeted us with a smile during breakfast ; and surprisingly drove us to Seoul Station ( on our trip back home ) .
Thank you so much for making our Seoul adventure a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Delux Blue Twin is comfortable enough for a family of 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventure Time F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sun-ah1005, 매니저 at Prince Hotel Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Adventure Time F,

Thank you for precious feedback on your experience during your staying.
Your kind words have been passed on to our team, specially to Mr. Ian & Mr.Park. and this will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.
Once again, We much appreciated on your feedback and look forward to welcoming back at Seoul in the future.

Yours sincerely
Ms.Lily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Selection of breakfast buffet is the same for our 4 nights day; room size and location are decent for the room rates; staff are attentive to enquiries and welcomes with a big smile.

Plus point for almost instant hot water despite the cold weather; fast check in and confirmation via email and phone prior 24 hours check in.

Staff attends to email enquiry promptly and internet booking was done at ease.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fen-sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sun-ah1005, 매니저 at Prince Hotel Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Fen-sg ,

Thank you for choosing our hotel & kind review on Tripadvisor.
We're so glad to hear that you were satisfied with our location & service.
Your comment will be shared with all our staffs & we'll do our best to provide more kind service.
Really we appreciate you again & look forward to meeting you in near future.

Yours sincerely
Ms.Lily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The hotel is a very central location and walking distance to many sites in Central Seoul.

I found the room on the small side but it was enough for us and very clean and tidy with a really powerful shower.

The staff were really nice and our room always clean.

My only complaint would be that the A/C didn't work very well but the hotel is very good value for money in what is a fairly expensive city.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TheMilkMan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sun-ah1005, 매니저 at Prince Hotel Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear TheMilkMan2000 ,

Thank you for your valuable review on Tripadvisor.
Regarding your comment, we'll share with our team.
We're sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services & facilities.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Warm regards,
Ms.Lily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed 5 nights here.
Good:
1. Very very good location. Only 1 min walk from Myengdong subway Exit 2. Hotel on your right. Very close to all famous local restaurants and the shopping areas in Myengdong, just accross the street. Only 10 mins walk to Namsan cable car to N seoul tower. Also close to many attractions.
2. Attentive and friendly staff. Able to communicate in good english. They helped us to book our shuttle bus from insadong to Nami island (because the bus company speak korean) and after that helped us to cancel the trip as I was sick. They greet you every time you enter or leave the hotel, fast and clean room service.
3. Fast internet speed in the room.

Bad:
1. Small room - We do not have space to put our 2 backpacks.
2. No coin washing machine. They charge laundry from underwear 4000 krw to teeshirt 7000 krw.

Afterall, we like the hotel's location very much despite the small size room. very good choice among the hotels in Myengdong areas, affordable price as well. The furniture not fantastic new but it is a clean room. It would be perfect for longer stay if they provide the coin washing machine and dryer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slchew720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sun-ah1005, 매니저 at Prince Hotel Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear slchew720,

Thank you for choosing our hotel & good review on Tripadvisor.
We're so glad to hear that you were satisfied with our location & service.
Your comment will be shared with all our staffs & we'll do our best to provide more kind service & facilities.
Really we appreciate you again & look forward to meeting you in near future.

Warm regards,
Ms.Lily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We initially booked 1 night at this hotel due to the mixed reviews, we thought we would check it out before booking more nights. It was a good location, but it was the last stop on the airport bus and having waited outside the Lotte for 15 minutes (don't know why) we realised after we would have been better off getting off then and walking to the hotel for the time it took to do the loop. It did however stop outside the hotel, just across the road. The hotel was also across the road from the shops of Myeong-dong and right above that sub-way station, so well located and actually quiet given it was on a main road.
We were upgraded to a superior corner room, lots of room, 1 double and 1 single bed. By accident I didn't specify non-smoking room and due to the ash tray realised this room was smoking, but the bed linen didn't smell and there was only a very slight musty smell of smoke from the air con - it was fine and clean. As we had a day trip already booked to the DMZ the next day we decided it was easier to stay in the same hotel so tried to extend. We were told that if we kept the room we were in it was actually more than twice what we paid, which was not good value for the 2 of us. We moved to the standard room we originally booked for 1 night. The staff were great and we left our bags in the old room and returned to them in our new room that evening. This was a non-smoking room and there was no smoke smell, but the room was like a cupboard, and really only enough room to put down 1 of our bags. The rooms are simple and a bit tired. I would have stayed here for our final 3 nights, but we would have needed to change room again and my partner didn't really like the hotel due to the size of the room and it was a bit old. We moved to the Shin Shin because we got a good deal, which more or less meant the extra we paid there was for the breakfast that was included and the hotel was modern. I think this is a good budget choice hotel, but it might be possible to get better value from other places, especially if you are willing to pay an extra $20- $40 a night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenniveve200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sun-ah1005, 매니저 at Prince Hotel Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Jenniveve200 ,

Thank you for your valuable review on Tripadvisor.
Regarding your comment, we'll share with our team.
We're sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services & facilities.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,
Ms.Lily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Nine Tree Hotel Myeong-dong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Myeongdong III
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Central Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Metro Hotel
Metro Hotel
#12 of 504 in Seoul
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Hotel Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Hotel Seoul

Address: 130, Toegye-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04629, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Seoul
#40 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#45 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price Range: £58 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prince Hotel Seoul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Prince is blessed with the most convenient location for business travelers and tourists, and we offer free door-to-door service between the hotel and Seoul Station and the airport bus stop in front of the Sejong Hotel. We hope you find lifelong memories during your stay in Prince Hotel, which offers customer-only lounge rooms where you can rest and enjoy chatting with your acquaintances on a comfortable sofa, or use the high-speed internet service for your business needs, all in a fresh and attractive modern interior design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Prince Hotel Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seoul Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing