We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly budget stay”
Review of K Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
K Hostel
Ranked #302 of 587 Speciality Lodging in Seoul
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The 5 of us stayed from 11th - 16th Oct 2013. We had 2 rooms and were both upgraded to a 3 bedded and a 4 bedded.

My mum and me stayed in the 3 bedded which is spacious enough for us as the extra bed is really useful for packing/unpacking from the luggage. The ensuite room has a mini fridge and a window but it opens up to face another wall which is about an arm's length? so no point, just pull down the blinds. Aircon and water pressure in the bathroom is strong. Would be nice if there's a floor mat outside the bathroom. Floor wasn't quite clean so we wore slippers everywhere.

The 4 bedded room has 2 sets of bunk bed and their window has breeze coming in when opened.

Simple breakfast is included which offers bread, jam, coffee, butter, egg. There's a big fridge if you need to store fruits or items not possible in the room's mini fridge. Hosts were all very friendly and there's an uncle to help us with the luggages. We were very grateful for that cos there's no lift up the 3-4 storeys and when the luggages got so heavy on the trip home.

Airport bus 6002 is just a lane in front of the hostel so it is very convenient from/to airport. It took about 2 hours drive from the airport (betw 3pm-4pm depart) and 1 hour's drive to the airport (12noon+)

Most of the taxis, except 1-2, have no problem going back to the hostel with the address given. About 15 mins drive from myeongdong and 8-10mins drive from dongdaemon.

Have reasonable expectation of a hostel and you won't be disappointed with your stay.

Side note: There is a pharmacy nearby the hostel and they are cheaper than most places, if you need to get medical stuff. Sinchon should be cheaper than dongmyo if you pass by there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank slp2L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

My mother (who is Korean) went to Seoul for the first time in a decade or so this past April. She was supposed to stay with family so we didn't setup any accommodations for her. She decided to stay a little longer and ended up at K Hostel. She wanted me to write this review because she was quite impressed with their hostel. I was hesitant that she stayed at a hostel for the first time at her age (in her 60s), but she found it comfortable, clean and convenient.

It was a very central location and they really took care of her. My mom keeps our house immaculately clean and is very critical when traveling about cleanliness and smells. She said that the hostel was quite clean: the bed, linens, room, and even the bathroom!

To Zoe and Kun, my mother wanted to say thank you very much and that she hopes you two are doing well. Your service was excellent and made her feel well-taken care of, like family. She invites you to come visit her cafe when you visit Los Angeles for a meal on the house!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neatniche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

My travel was with My beloved wife and 3-years old great daughter. We stayed at 3rd floor with 3 beds a room. The beds were spacious, but the room itself was small, can open 2 big luggages but we can not sit freely :-). For us, it was acceptable.

The bathroom was spacious, complete with washer and shower plus hot & cold water always ready for us. it help us a lot since we stayed during winter :-D

The receptionist were very helpful yet friendly. For younger perople, you can stayed at the living room and meet many people from many countries.

THe location is a so-so, 300m to reach the MRT but we had plenty restaurant around the Hostel . The special restaurant for us the Kyochon Chicken. You may ask the receptionist to call and order the chicken, and then have them in your room. Very convenient :-D. Dont forget to drink soju while eating Spicy Kyochon Chincken ;-)

We enjoyed staying there, and gone home with a smile.

Room Tip: Choose 3rd floor. 2nd floor a bit noisy, And 4th floor too high (considering the hostel do not equip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsykariH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

i have visited Seoul on February 19 to February 25 and we stayed in K Hostel.
i like the service for pick up and drop off to airport since we arrived late and back home very earlyin the morning..
i like my room, even tiny but warm (it was winter, and so cold for us) and we have private bathroom.
we can use kitchen and made eggs as we like for breakfast. They also have fast wifi and made us happy to upload photos to out social medias..
Staff are friendly and helpful especially when we arrived we had difficulties to lift up our luggage..
For sure i will come back here again whenever i vist Seoul
Ohya, one more thing is this hostel is near by metro (subway) station

Room Tip: clean and have private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TariSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

The location of the hostel was pretty near the subway, dongmyo station and the bus stop. It's a 10min walk to dongdaemun market.

There are a few mini mart nearby if you need to buy toiletries. They only provide toilet rolls. The towels they sell are pretty small so I recommend you to bring your own. The bad side of the hostel is that it can get pretty noisy at night because my room is facing the road but it didnt really affect me because im too tired to even care. As for the cleanliness is pretty clean from the outside and neat but i find it a little too small. I took the family room. Ah, and the toilet was really small. The bathroom "flooded" when we arrived in the first night because the floor drainage was filled with hairs from the previous customer. And i've to endure the torturous shower with water that reached as high to my ankle. We informed the staff and was really glad that he helped us. The bathroom could have been more spacious.

Most of the staff are friendly and helpful. The decoration of the common room is pretty nice and cozy. There are some travel books available and a few brochures mainly about how to get to DMZ. It would be better if they could provide more brochures of different places to visit in Korea. Didnt really dare to use the kitchen as it looks a bit dirty.

Aside from the horrible experiences with the bathroom and the noise level, if Im not staying in Seoul for long I wont mind staying there again. It's still bearable to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbigailToh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

It was my first time in Seoul and I didn't know what to expect. I was w/ 2 friends for this trip. The only thing I know is that it would be cold and that the city center would be far from the airport (allocate 1hr 30mins by train). Although transportation is seamless, it is worthy to take note since it would be a pain to miss your flight due to miscalculations of travel time.

K Hostel can be reached via Dongmyo station. Just a station away (same subway line) from Dongdaemun which is a main shopping area. Just 2 blocks from the actual subway station and about a 10min walk. The area, though commercial, is quiet enough so that you can relax after a hectic day touring the city. There are lots of small very useful shops around the hostel, bake shops, convenience stores, noodle shops, bargain stores and some street vendors that sell almost everything (from jackets to kitchen equipment).

The hostel itself is designed nicely. Clean bright colors that seems to make it more spacious than it is. We were greeted by "Kun" who is the manager there around 12 mn. They can only receive guests up to 12mn. Very nice, handsome fellow who helped my 2 friends w/ their bags (I'm the 3rd guest and he can only carry so much luggage). One tip, this hostel doesn't have elevators, pack light if you can. You may carry a backpack upstairs or you may wheel your luggage up using their ingenious inclined floor side by side the stairs. We boooked via Agoda so our reservation is confirmed outright. If you will reserve via their own website, they need a confirmation email again a week prior to your check in.

Our room is the 3 bed ensuite w/ private bath. Although they offer cheaper "dorm" type rooms, there is still something when you have your own bath and privacy. Airconditioning is disabled starting the autumn months to save on cost since the weather is already chilly. (note the quiet environment). There were 3 single beds side by side which made the bed a bit bigger. Although the bed may not be enough for bigger framed people. You can book the 3 bed even if you're a couple. The room was very plain. Simple lines for the design, wall covered w/ wallpaper, an LED tv w/ a hunderd cable channels, a mini fridge, and some wall mounted hooks to put your jackets and some clothes on. No closet, dresser, shoe rack or vanity mirror.

The bath is small, suitable for small to medium framed people. Toilet and shower area doesn't have any divider. You can literally take a shower sitting on a toilet since it is a handheld shower. You may opt to hang the shower on its cradle to free up your hands but you have to "angle" yourself so that the water stream hits you where you need it. The missing vanity mirror is located inside the bath which is awkward using since it would be wet already after you take your shower.

Hot water is only available from dispensers located at the 2nd floor (common area) and the 4th floor. Since we were on the 3rd floor, had to go out our room and go up the stairs to get hot water. Not very convenient I must say. They do offer free breakfast starting 8 am. Consists of some toast, jam, and eggs. I honestly never took advantage of this since we already bought our own breakfast and brought it inside our room the night before(remember the bake shops w/in the area? they close late at night).

P.S.
Our trash were never collected for the duration of our stay. I guess you have to segregate your trash (e.g. cans, plastics, paper, refuse) and bring it down to the common area. There are different trash bins there. This was never explained to us properly though.

Bottomline? I'll stay at K Hostel again when I go back to Korea. ^_^

Room Tip: If you have some leeway regarding your budget for accommodation, get the ensuites. The place may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uwantmebad17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Staff are nice and helpful.
The first room we were in, it sucks. The wall is mold and disgusting. We asked for room change. It's a bit better. But the floor drainage in bathroom was very slow! No shower curtain in bathroom, it will get wet everywhere.
I personally won't recommend this place, although the price is cheap.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iFung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Hostel Korea
#99 of 587 in Seoul
66 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hostel Korea 11th - Changdeokgung
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#13 of 504 in Seoul
3,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong
Namsan
The Shilla Seoul
The Shilla Seoul
#17 of 504 in Seoul
1,588 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K Hostel

Address: 384, Jong-ro, Jongno-gu, Seoul 03115, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #302 of 587 Speciality Lodging in Seoul
Hotel Class:2 star — K Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your K Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing