We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff and Boss!”
Review of Crib 49 Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crib 49 Guesthouse
Ranked #115 of 986 Seoul B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The staff are very efficient and approachable. Many necessities and breakfast are provided. The place and room are clean and tidy. The view at the rooftop is nice! Location wise is very convenient and accessible to transportation and convenience store.
Overall the stay is great!
Would go back there again.
However there is a minor con of that area is have to climb quite a few steep slope to get there.
But if you are on diet, I'm sure the climbing of slopes will help you burn the calories that you gain.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LithiumSodium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

Good location at Myeong-dong. Futon tatami style of sleeping. Rooms are clean. The slope to the guesthouse is steep at certain location.

Try the famous Namsan Pork Cutlet, very near about 3 mins walk.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Chimera08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This was a great find for this part of Seoul.
Location made for easy access in and about - even with the gentle hill climb to Crib 49.
Rooms basic and yet with everything, very clean and quiet.
Hosts were excellent and plenty of good advise and help.
It is a basic budget travelers location with everything one would need and certainly exceeded expectations. Very realistically priced.
So many options within easy walking distance or subway easy to access and travel around.

Room Tip: Some shared bathroom facilities which worked surprisingly well otherwise select an en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My friend & I stayed here for 8 nights until 19 oct 2013. Everything is great except the slope or the hill which is really steep / quite high..good for exercise & for your heart though..hehhehhe

Our room is spacious..the futon is really comfortable..it's clean..they have every basic thing budget traveler like us need such as microwave, washing machine & oths..near my favourite shopping area which is myeongdong...& really near to Namsan cable car station...you just can walk to the cable car station from the guest house..

they also provide free breakfast..the have bread, jam, tea & toaster..

Mr Kooik & Kristine was really friendly & helpful..thanks to Mr Kooik recommendation to the Cacaogreen cafe in Myeongdong, I get to taste the best hot chocolate that I ever taste..heheheh

Being here is such a wonderful experience & memory...i'm surely gonna miss this place & the people there...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chocoluv86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I had a great first impression of Crib49 when communicating with Kristine over email about my booking. Very friendly, prompt and helpful. Due to tyhoon Usagi, my connecting flight was cancelled so I had to arrive a day late. They assured me my room will be available and did not charge me for that night I missed.

The rooms were clean and really comfortable, and the bathroom had really strong hot showers. Do note the hill is really quite steep, so it will be a daily exercise to climb up. The location was awesome, cross the main road and you are at the myeongdong shopping belt. I stayed at 201A and 201B. A is our fave.

Most importantly, Kooik, Mild and Kristine were so helpful and hospitable.Made me feel I was staying at a friend's house. If you want to eat where the locals do and avoid all the tourist traps, be sure to ask Kooik.

My first trip to Seoul was great, but it was even greater to make new friends at Crib49.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herbiebabie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed in Room 301 for 3 nights, with toilet ensuite. It was our favorite accommodation out of the 5 places we stayed in across Seoul, Busan and Jeju.

Great location
About 5 mins walk to the cable car station leading up to N Seoul Tower. Within 15 mins walk to the Myeong Dong metro station, Myeong Dong and Namdaemun. Very accesible, though the walk up the hill may prove to be a workout especially when you are towing a luggage.

Tasty food in the hood
Right at the foot of the hill is the original Two Two fried chicken store, and this fabulous toast called Issac (go for the MVP!). With the many choices in the Myeong Dong and Namdaemun area, you get quick access to yummy food every meal of the day.

Warm and helpful boss & crew
Kooik and his team make you feel at home. The thoughtfulness and generosity are also reflected in the guesthouse, such as all-day breakfast with free-flow of bread and cup noodles.

Convenient features
- Washing machine + Dryer: Pleasant surprise, really appreciate this on our 2-week long trip. The crew helps transfer the laundry to the dryer, and send it to your room while you are out
- Printer along with computer station: Superb for printing our last min discount coupons and checking itinerary
- Face and bath towels: Fresh towels daily, so long as you bring down the last set

Thank you Crib 49 for the fond memory (:

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Syan203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

It's a very central guesthouse, not far from the metro station Myeongdond, the Namdaemun market, the haert of shopping in Seoul and the cable car to Namsan Park.
Although the day we arrived in Seoul it wasn't easy to find and we had to search for a while for the guesthouse, but when we arrived we liked it immedialely. It's in a
We stayed in a Korean style room, which was really confortable and clean.
Kooik and his staff is very nice and helpfull.
t's definitively the place to stay in Seoul.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dodi1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#15 of 542 in Seoul
3,426 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Ocloud Hotel
Ocloud Hotel
#37 of 542 in Seoul
334 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Royal Hotel Seoul
Royal Hotel Seoul
#39 of 542 in Seoul
1,035 reviews
Jamsil
Lotte Hotel World
Lotte Hotel World
#10 of 542 in Seoul
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crib 49 Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crib 49 Guesthouse

Address: 49, Toegye-ro 20na-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 04630, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 986 B&Bs / Inns in Seoul
Price Range: £35 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Crib 49 Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CRIB 49 is less than 10 minutes walking from Myeongdong station.We offer a Rooms that you can choose to ranging from what you like, what fits you and what can afford you. Serving a free breakfast and an Internet Room where you can search where else to go in Seoul. CRIB 49 has 8 Private Rooms with 8 Bathrooms too. We offer free washer, dryer for doing laundry. Crib 49 has a 24hours open Kitchen and Internet Room. Wifi is offer free. Roof Top is open for Occasions too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Crib 49 Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing