We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and exceptional location”
Review of Kimchi Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kimchi Guesthouse
Ranked #120 of 959 Seoul B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 December 2013

If you are considering a trip to Jongno, the historical center of Seoul, you will find this guesthouse to be exceptionally well-situated (a 3 minute walk to the subway and a 10 minute ride to the center of Seoul). The guesthouse was built in the early 20th century so it has a traditional floorplan, and it is kept clean and comfortable. I traveled with a friend and our room during our late autumn trip was small but cozy and warm: as it is a traditional house, you sleep on a roll-away mattress on the heated floor (ondol). There are three bathrooms on the premises which were upgrades or additions to the original floorplan, so they are small and have a Western toilet, sink, and handheld showers. I had no problems with noise as the guesthouse is half a block removed from the lively food/restaurant alley it is close to. Wi-Fi, TV, coffee/toast as well as a kitchen are also available. The hostess was also wonderfully kind and responsive! I thought that I got a very authentic taste of Seoul, thanks in large part to this guesthouse. I would definitely go back, and I also recommend this to my friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stanford09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

The guesthouse is very accessible to the metro train stations. The surrounding area has plenty of restaurants. It has quite and safe neighborhood. The owner of the guesthouse is so accomodating and helpful. Overall, we enjoyed our experience in the traditional korean house! Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinkvanilla12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

It is a very nice and cute house. There are 5 rooms in the house, the guests here are like families.
The hostess is very kind. The whole house is very clean and tidy. Though the room is a little bit small, but you get a house but not only a room. You can sit outside the room and talk with your feirnds. How wonderful!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank shiwen z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed at the Kimchi guest house in october an really enjoyed out stay with my hometown friends from China. The guest house is well located from airport bus stop and subway station. And host is very kind and nice as well. Room is not that big but cozy and beautiful, enough to feel a taste of Korean traditional house.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chen1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Ms S H Kwon, hostess of the guesthouse, always put every effort to provide information promptly and in detail whenever we sent her e-mails or asked her advice during our stay. The guesthouse is entirely clean and tidy. Its atmosphere is warm and friendly. She took us to a Korean spa (찜질방 "jjimjilbang") nearby in order to release our tiredness of taking midnight flight. She is very helpful indeed. The guesthouse's location is right in central Seoul and is just two blocks from Gyeongbokgung (경복궁), a famous ancient palace. It is also close to an airport bus stop (#6011) and a subway station (stn#327; route #3 = orange).

Room Tip: Rooms other than #2 and #3 (which are adjacent to the living room and the open kitchen) are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank louyaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: お客様が居ない時には1人と言う事も有るようですが、一人だとつまりません。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank himeja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank iriishin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Samcheongdong / Bukchon
Doo guesthouse Bukchon
Doo guesthouse Bukchon
#61 of 959 in Seoul
101 reviews
Samcheongdong / Bukchon
Raon Guesthouse
Raon Guesthouse
#10 of 959 in Seoul
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Big John's Place
#42 of 959 in Seoul
34 reviews
Sinchon / Ewha
Roi House
Roi House
#51 of 959 in Seoul
30 reviews
Samcheongdong / Bukchon
Bukchonmaru Hanok Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimchi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimchi Guesthouse

Address: 45-10, Jahamun-ro 1-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul 03041, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 959 B&Bs / Inns in Seoul
Price Range: £31 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kimchi Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimchi guesthouse is... - Korean traditional style room. - located in a place easy to get to. (near subway station, bus stop) - within walking distance to many tourist hotspots in the city such as Gyungbokgung, Gwanghwamun, Insadon. - giving visitors a chance to taste what life is like in a Hanok, or traditional Korean house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kimchi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing