We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Personal Touches”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bukchonmaru Hanok Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 932 Seoul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Personal Touches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed one night in the family room. It was an intimate space with very nice inlaid wall unit and dresser. Ondol floor heating kept us cozy. Best experience was next morning with our hostess serving wonderful Korean breakfast and dining with us to talk about the food and Korea. We then dressed in traditional Hanbok clothes and took many pictures. She was very nice and made us feel welcome in her home. Highly recommend staying at Bukchon Maru.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank myreview657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckhonmaru, 매니저 at Bukchonmaru Hanok Guesthouse, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Thank you very much for your great review. We are pleased that you enjoyed Korean breakfast and traditional costume(Hanbok) wearing. Please do visit us again whenever you wish to come to Korea. We will be very happy to see you again. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    35
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
50
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saitama, Japan
Level Contributor
147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is a traditional Korean house with all that implies, both positive and negative. The young couple who run are very keen on their job, full of energy and cheerful. Their real second language is Mandarin Chinese, bit the woman can speak careful simple English. My Japanese friend spoke to her in English without a problem. They have three rooms: family, double and single and breakfast is served at 8:45 in the hallway between the rooms. The breakfast is simple and tasty. The house is at the top of a hill in the Bukchon area, along with many other guest houses, and very convenient to explore this fascinating culturally rich area. The building is old but solid and well maintained. NOTE: the double room was just that - a room with a shelf and a small stand for a bottle of water and some tissues - there was no other furniture: no TV, no kettle, no bed, no closet. At night we just rolled out the mattress on the heated floor and slept like logs. The two compromises to modernity are an air con unit (which you could unplug and use the socket to recharge stuff) and Wi-Fi. The shower is attached to the hot tap in the sink in the toilet - we went to a sauna each both night we were there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StewieTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckhonmaru, 매니저 at Bukchonmaru Hanok Guesthouse, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Thanks for your great review. We are very pleased that you actually enjoyed your stay at our place. Yes, we do not have much stuff in our guest rooms and our shared bathrooms are not as big, but we have to say that we tried to fit things that are needed. Now we have managers and honors who both speak good English and Chinese. Please do visit us once more and hope you have another chance to travel Korea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

The owners were very nice and they speak good Mandarin! They have this interesting way of locking the wooden sliding doors. Can't say how; gotta go and try it. The breakfast was great. It rained the night before and woken up to hot yummy Korean breakfast was really satisfying. Great place to stay if you love the traditional stuffs. The hanok village area is walking distance from this guest house. The Winter Sonata high school is only a few meters away

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virlinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckhonmaru, Manager at Bukchonmaru Hanok Guesthouse, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hello ,
Thanks very much for your nice and wonderful reviews about our bukchonmaru guesthouse !!!
we are very happy to hear from you !!!
It was a honor to stay with you !!!
welcome to our guesthouse next time !!!
Have a nice day !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipoh, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Good room services provided to travellers. Owner of the guest house has been so warming. Breakfast was simple but made enjoyable by the company of our host. part from the great scenery from the guest house, Bukchon area is really traditional. The bus stop is just opposite the guest house so it is very convenient and you do not need to worry to carry your heavy luggage. A true Korean experience. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank CYM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckhonmaru, Manager at Bukchonmaru Hanok Guesthouse, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hello ,
we are bukchonmaru ,thanks so much for your helpful reviews !!!
It was a wonderful time to be with you !!!
We are so happy to hear about you like the Korean breakfast !!!
Thanks again .
Welcome to our guesthouse next time !!!
we will do our best to serve you !!!
Have a nice and sunny day !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed at Bukchon Maru for 2 nights. The Guesthouse is located on a street full of traditional houses. We enjoyed the excellent service provided by the staff in the Guesthouse. Breakfast was simple but made enjoyable by the company of our host. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Muck1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckhonmaru, Manager at Bukchonmaru Hanok Guesthouse, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Hello ,
Thanks very much for choosing our guesthouse !!
We are so happy to read your reviews ,thanks for your helpful and useful reviews !!!
Welcome to our guesthouse next time !!!
We will remember you and miss you !!!
Have a sunny and nice day !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puchong, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

A very peaceful place for staying which located in South Korea. Good room services provided to travellers. The owners are very kind and friendly to us. Delicious breakfast was provided during our stayed especially the "Kimchi" prepared by Ahjuma. We will recommend this nice place for friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bingzai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckhonmaru, Manager at Bukchonmaru Hanok Guesthouse, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Hello ,
How are you ???
Thanks very much for your helpful and wonderful reviews !!!
It was a unforgettable time to be with you !!!
Hope to see you again !!!
welcome to our guesthouse next time !!!
Have a nice and sunny day !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Annyeong Maru omma and Family!

This is the one of the most memorable stay ever for us. Owner of the guest house has been so warming. We stayed there for about 7 nights. Knowing that, Maru omma cooked for us a different breakfast every morning.
We even had opportunity to try homegrown pumpkin, and their homemade tengjang sauce and gukjujang sauce. Omma even taught us how to prepare pancakes from scratch and her family recipe for Sikae. Her food is the best, and it is hard to find a restaurant in Seoul which prepares better food! The whole family (host) treats us simply with so much warmth, and even sent us to the bus stop to catch the bus back to the airport on our last day.
Jeannie and I really miss our trip in Korea. I must say that Bukchonmaru made this holiday extremely fond.
Apart from the great scenery from the guest house, Bukchon area is really traditional. A true Korean experience.

We do hope to come back next winter to visit Maru omma and family. We truly miss you all.
-Jeannie and Khee

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KHEE_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckhonmaru, Manager at Bukchonmaru Hanok Guesthouse, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Hello ,thanks very much for your helpful and wonderful comments !!!
we all miss you too ,thanks for helping us wash the dishes !!!
It was really an unforgettable time to be with you !!!
Hope your family will happy for ever !!!
welcome to our guesthouse again next time !!!
Have a nice and sunny day!!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Hongdae
Come Inn Guesthouse
Come Inn Guesthouse
#1 of 932 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Samcheongdong / Bukchon
Sopoong Guest House
Sopoong Guest House
#3 of 932 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Bukchon Guesthouse
#13 of 932 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Samcheongdong / Bukchon
Raon Guesthouse
Raon Guesthouse
#8 of 932 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Hongdae
Rio House Hongdae
Rio House Hongdae
#6 of 932 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Samcheongdong / Bukchon
Doo guesthouse Bukchon 1
Doo guesthouse Bukchon 1
#51 of 932 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bukchonmaru Hanok Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bukchonmaru Hanok Guesthouse

Property: Bukchonmaru Hanok Guesthouse
Address: 152, Changdeokgung-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul 03051, South Korea
Phone Number:
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Samcheongdong / Bukchon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 932 B&Bs / Inns in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bukchonmaru Hanok Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bukchon Maru Hanok Guesthouse is located in the heart of the Bukchon Hanok residential area in Seoul. Bukchon (meaning North Village in Korean) has the highest concentration of Hanoks, the traditional tiled-roof Korean buildings. We are a family run guest house, having owned this property for over 30 years. Due to its proximity to the local palaces, Bukchon has been home to high government officials and prestigious families of the late Chosen Dynasty, who needed to commute to the local palaces often. The name "Bukchon" was synonymous with status and class in the era no more than 100 years ago. Along with the tumultuous modern Korean history, the quiet neighborhood of Bukchon also underwent significant changes. Modern buildings began to appear, and with the elimination of traditional class system, more and more people swarmed in to the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bukchonmaru Hanok Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing