We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed”
Review of Hotel Icon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Icon
Ranked #110 of 493 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Kigali, Rwanda
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I was a littlebit dissapointed having read the reviews in tripadvisor. The whole hotel seams to be a bit disorderly: E.g. something here, something there. The breakfast is very poor. And there have been construction works at the time I was there. Staff is very friendly and location is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ittam-81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IconSeoul, Owner at Hotel Icon, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Ittam

We appreciate your valuable comments regarding your stay at our hotel.
We are very sorry there is construction work near our hotel.
The construction work will be finished within few months
We strongly ask the person in charge to do the work as quietly as possible and finish by 5 P.M everyday.
We will more put our efforts to improve those problems.
We are continually working up a sweat to make sure our guests have a nice staying with us.
we are looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Hotel Icon / C.E.O. Eun-Gyo Jung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    102
    33
    17
    8
See reviews for
84
106
40
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had difficulty locating this hotel initially. After we settled down, it is a good location to be in. Hotel Icon is near Angul and Jongno 3 station. There are many eateries nearby, all within walking distance, including a 24 hours mart just around the corner. And yes! Insadong is just 10-15mins walk away.
The room looks new and is clean. There is elevator for every floor, which is good for baggage/stroller. Roof garden looks good. If only we can have barbeque there. Haha!
There is a washing machine in basement 1. You can do your laundry for free. The staff was more than glad to assist me on how to operate it. Yes, the staff can converse in English.
There is this particular section where I have to mention about the owner of this hotel –Mr. Baek & Mrs Jung.
We were caught by surprised when Mr. Baek & Mrs. Jung offered to upgrade our room from a Queen to King size bed so we will have more bed space with our 2 year old child.
The following day, we shared our literary with Mrs Jung and she offered to drive us to Lotte World. We felt so bad that she cancelled her appointment to give us a ride. On top of that, she managed to get for us a super good Lotte World discount!
To Mr. Baek & Mrs Jung,
Thanks you for inviting us for dinner. It’s a pity that we could not make it. You showed us your hospitability by preparing a fruits platter for us and even had to trouble Mrs Jung for bringing the laundry up to our room.
Thanks to Mr.Baek for driving us to the airport bus pickup point.
We have been to many hotels but never have we experience such kindness and home feeling. We were treated more like family members rather than normal guests in this hotel. Thumbs up. Will definitely stay at Hotel Icon when I visit Seoul again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IconSeoul, Owner at Hotel Icon, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Terrence

Thank you very much for your kind and wonderful comments with the deep interest.
We are extremely happy to read that you had a wonderful time with us.
I am sure that your valuable feedback will encourage all of our staffs to further develop our service.
We will continue to provide most warm, caring and personalized service at all times.
Once again thank you very much for choosing the Hotel Icon and taking the time to leave a warm review. I hope your previous stay and experience will bring you back to our hotel.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
Best regards,
Hotel Icon / C.E.O. Eun-Gyo Jung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The room tends to be more spacious than average Asian hotels. The hotel is kind of in a hidden area but just follow the direction provided by the hotel website and you'll have no problem finding it. There are at least 3 convenient stores nearby. The location is within a 2 minute walk to Insadong, where you'll find traditional Korean culture and crafts. The bed was a bit too hard for us; however, we still slept good due to walking many kilometers a day. The owner invited us to dinner the day before we checked out but our evening was occupied. It was unfortunate that we didn't get a chance to meet the owner. There is complimentary breakfast in the basement serving coffee, tea, cup noodles, toast and muffins. Don't forget to try their hanboks and check out the beautiful garden roof top.

Going to Hotel Icon from Icheon Airport was easy. 8000 Won to take the airport express train to Seoul station then 1750 Won to Jongro 3 ga station (you get 500 Won back when you return the transportation card). Duration from airport to hotel is approx 1 hour and 15 min

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IconSeoul, Owner at Hotel Icon, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Amanda

We very much appreciate your valuable comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Icon
We will continue to provide most warm, caring and personalized service at all times.
We would like to deeply thank you for staying with us.
We will do our best to make sure that your next visit will be much more pleasant than the previous one.
It would be appreciated if you could kindly give us another opportunity to welcome you again in the future, and we will ensure to take great care of you.

Best regards,
Hotel Icon / C.E.O. Eun-Gyo Jung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

- Stayed 5 nights there, love the place! Hotel is short walk to the metro station, Insadong street area and super near to both palaces (5mins from secret garden). Everything is accessible here.
- Rooms are super clean, albeit the bathrooms are smaller than we expected. Wifi there is super fast, we have 3 users streaming movies at the same time and it didn't affect it at all.
- The staff and owners were very friendly to us throughout the whole time, even offered us a ride in her car to the palace and showed us where all the attractions were.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenjaminScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IconSeoul, Owner at Hotel Icon, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Benjamin

Thank you very much for staying with us at Hotel Icon.
I am extremely glad to hear that you had nice staying with us
We strive to achieve the highest level of quality services and experiences and will continually put forth our best endeavor to provide exceptional experiences to our guests.
We appreciate you attaching great importance to good location.
Thank you again for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor.
We are looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Hotel Icon / C.E.O. Eun-Gyo Jung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had mixed feelings about our stay here. It is definitely a budget location, with a very good price for a night or two, but you get what you pay for.

Once we had found hotel which is a little hard to find and in a slightly run down area, we saw that next door is a building site where they are building a new block very close to the hotel so we had to navigate around the workmen.

There wasn't really a welcome from the guy behind the desk and he wasn't very helpful.

The room was OK, a bit sterile, with old furniture, harsh lighting, hard beds and a wet room. All a bit dreary really.

It was noisy at night with people coming and going and noise from upstairs.

We went for breakfast on a first morning and everything was empty and the staff were just chatting in the kitchen.

We were a bit despondent but then we met the owners who came to say hello and were very nice and helpful, offering to do some washing for us, so we didn't have to spend lots of money at the local laundry. This went some way to make up for our view of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IconSeoul, Owner at Hotel Icon, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear James Owen

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Icon.
First of all, please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay.
Over 50% of our guests are Japanese.
Our front desk staff can speak Japanese fluently ,but English is a little bit limited.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
It is said that hard bed is goof for backbone.But we will prepare soft pad for the guest who like soft bed like you
I will get my staff trained not to chat in the kichen.
And I will have staff training continuosly to provide our guests with great service by showing proactive attitude.
We will more put our efforts to improve those problems.
I extend the very best wishes and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Hotel Icon / C.E.O. Eun-Gyo Jung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed here for a night en route from Busan to Seoul Airport. It's very conveniently situated, close to a couple of the well known palaces and Insadong, so we were able to get in an afternoon/evening's sightseeing. The room was small but clean, and fine for one night's stay, although the beds were particularly hard. The wet room is a really wet room - the shower is over the sink - and no safe, but it was fine for the price, which was very reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank empty_nesters_cambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IconSeoul, Owner at Hotel Icon, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Empty Nesters cambs

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Icon.
You liked the central location which allows our guests enjoy the heart of Seoul.
Hotel Icon is located on the middle of Seoul and connected to the Subway Station and many tourist attractions .Thanks for your great attention on our hotel
We will continue to provide most impeccable service to all our guests.
Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us, and we sincerely look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
Hotel Icon / C.E.O. Eun-Gyo Jung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed in a twin room at the Icon Hotel for four nights. The hotel is located out of the way on a small Jongno / Insadong side street. It is very convenient for seeing the surrounding sights, as well as for catching the subway to other parts of Seoul. I liked that it quickly felt like we were "living" in the neighborhood. Lots of shops, restaurants, money exchange, etc. just a few meters from the hotel.

We liked our third floor twin room (couple with small child). It was quite small (normal for Korea), yet very comfortable. The bed was large and firm, good pillows. WiFi worked great. Nice flat screen TV with many channels. Hot water jug and tea. The usual room amenities were all good. Bathroom is tiny (Korean style with integrated shower), but workable. Hotel staff did a good job keeping it clean.

The accommodating owners are extremely nice people. I agree with all the other reviews about this. They were very helpful in arranging transportation to and from Incheon Airport. Wonderful people.

Downsides? Lots of cigarette smokers (including staff who smoked near the front door). Weak breakfast offerings. We bought extra noodles at a shop around the corner to fill in the gaps.

Overall, this was a good experience for us at a good value.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a no smoking floor if you don't like cigarettes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onomataho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IconSeoul, Owner at Hotel Icon, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Onomataho

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Icon with deep interest.
I am sure that your valuable feedback will encourage all of our staffs to further develop our service.
I was much pleased to know that you had a great stay at our hotel.
We will continuously provide most personalized and detail oriented service to all our valuable guests
We would like to deeply thank you again for staying with us.
We sincerely appreciate your effort to write fabulous review on the Tripadvisor.
We are looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Hotel Icon / C.E.O. Eun-Gyo Jung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
HOTEL GS
HOTEL GS
#93 of 493 in Seoul
230 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Staz Hotel Myeongdong II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Insadong
Saerim Hotel
Saerim Hotel
#158 of 493 in Seoul
88 reviews
Hill House Hotel
#145 of 493 in Seoul
303 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Makers Hotel
Makers Hotel
#28 of 493 in Seoul
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Icon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Icon

Property: Hotel Icon
Address: 20, Samil-daero 32ga-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 493 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Icon 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Icon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing