We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel that knows to entertain its guests”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Icon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Icon
Ranked #97 of 474 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hotel that knows to entertain its guests”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Hotel Icon sebenarnya tidak terlalu besar. Lokasinya juga agak tersembunyi di gang kecil tidak jauh dari stasiun metro Anguk. Untuk pengunjung yang baru dan yang tidak punya keahlian membaca peta, mencari lokasi hotel ini akan terasa sulit dan karenanya tidak usah merasa malu bertanya kepada orang-orang disekitar. Daripada tersesat bukan? Tantangannya mungkin kemampuan berkomunikasi dengan orang Korea. Saya dan beberapa teman sangat beruntung karena dengan bahasa Inggris yang perlahan-lahan, seorang petugas metro yang masih bertugas tergerak untuk menelepon pihak hotel dan salah seorang staf hotel bersedia menjemput kami.

Sisi luar hotel tidak terlalu menarik. Tapi begitu masuk ke lobby hotel langsung terasa hangat dan menyenangkan. 3 kamar yang kami sewa berukuran kecil tetapi tempat tidurnya terasa empuk dan nyaman. Penghangat ruangan memiliki sistim yang terintegrasi dengan pemanas air di kamar mandi yang cukup canggih. Kesulitannya ialah itu tertulis dengan huruf Korea (Hangul), jadi lebih baik tidak menyentuh switchboard karena Anda bisa terpaksa berakhir mandi air dingin, seperti kami di awal kedatangan kami.

Pemilik hotel ini sangat ramah dan menyenangkan. Kami memanggilnya Mrs. Chong walaupun sebenarnya bukan. Saking baiknya, Mrs. Chong memberi kami free breakfast selama 4 hari kami tinggal, walaupun katanya: "just simple breakfast". Mrs. Chong bahkan meminta stafnya untuk membantu kami mencari informasi untuk membeli tiket kunjungan ke Nami Island dan Everland. Bahkan Mrs. Chong sendiri mengantar kami dengan mobil sedannya ke tempat bus ke Everland. Oh apakah saya sudah menceritakan bahwa tiap ruangan kami diberikan karangan bunga segar? Sangat menyenangkan bukan? Tapi tentunya anda butuh keahlian untuk berdiplomasi dengan Mrs. Chong. Oh bukan saya, tapi teman sekamar saya :) Atau bila anda baik hati, ramah dan tidak sombong mungkin akan mendapat keberuntungan juga seperti kami.. (hhmm.. kedengarannya seperti Santa)

Hotel ini sangat dekat dengan pasar tradisional Insadong (인사동) yang oleh Tripadvisor review berada di ranking no. 20 dari 548 tourist attractions di Seoul. Ada beberapa money changer dan mini market di sekitar hotel, jika Anda ber-eksplorasi sedikit.

Saya sangat menikmati Hotel Icon, dan mungkin Anda juga. Bagi Anda yang akan berlibur ke Seoul, Hotel Icon sangat-sangat direkomendasi.

Room Tip: Staf hotel sangat membantu tetapi kemampuan bahasa Inggris mereka agar terbatas, sehingga berbicaral...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IconSeoul, Owner at Hotel Icon, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Linda

Thank you very much for your deep interest at our hotel.
We strive to achieve the highest level of quality services and experiences and will continually put forth our best endeavor to provide exceptional experiences to all of our guests.
We would like to thank you for choosing hotel Icon as your accommodation.
Thank you very much for sharing your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor
I extend the very best wishes and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Icon in the near future.

Best regards,
Hotel Icon / C.E.O. Eun-Gyo Jung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    101
    32
    17
    8
See reviews for
84
104
40
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The location of the hotel is not very obvious but once you know where it is, it is not difficult to find. Location wise is great as it is few minutes walk away from the busy insadong street and it is also quite near to Hanok Village. The rooms are clean and quite spacious.

You can take the airport limousine bus to incheon airport. The bus stop is near Exit 2 of Anguk Station

Although there is on-going construction next to the hotel but we are okay with it since they stop the construction early in the evening and starts late in the morning.

One minor inconvenience is we were asked to stay in another hotel nearby on our 1st night.Apparently, there is a mistake in their reservation and the owner of the hotel apologies for error.. My suggestion is to confirm your stay with the hotel prior to your stay.

Thank you to the owner of the hotel in offering us complimentary home cook beef bulogi dinner and the lady owner's home made kimchi is superb!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwinlyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IconSeoul, Owner at Hotel Icon, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Edwinlyc

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Icon.
We strive to achieve the highest level of quality services and experiences and will continually put forth our best endeavor to provide exceptional experiences to all of our guests.
A reservation is usually completed before two months.
We are very sorry for the over booking for the said date.
I am sure that this valuable feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
We would like to thank you for choosing hotel Icon as your accommodation.
We will do our best to make sure that your next visit will be much more pleasant than the previous one

Best regards,
Hotel Icon / C.E.O. Eun-Gyo Jung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
80 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I was a littlebit dissapointed having read the reviews in tripadvisor. The whole hotel seams to be a bit disorderly: E.g. something here, something there. The breakfast is very poor. And there have been construction works at the time I was there. Staff is very friendly and location is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ittam-81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IconSeoul, Owner at Hotel Icon, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Ittam

We appreciate your valuable comments regarding your stay at our hotel.
We are very sorry there is construction work near our hotel.
The construction work will be finished within few months
We strongly ask the person in charge to do the work as quietly as possible and finish by 5 P.M everyday.
We will more put our efforts to improve those problems.
We are continually working up a sweat to make sure our guests have a nice staying with us.
we are looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Hotel Icon / C.E.O. Eun-Gyo Jung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had difficulty locating this hotel initially. After we settled down, it is a good location to be in. Hotel Icon is near Angul and Jongno 3 station. There are many eateries nearby, all within walking distance, including a 24 hours mart just around the corner. And yes! Insadong is just 10-15mins walk away.
The room looks new and is clean. There is elevator for every floor, which is good for baggage/stroller. Roof garden looks good. If only we can have barbeque there. Haha!
There is a washing machine in basement 1. You can do your laundry for free. The staff was more than glad to assist me on how to operate it. Yes, the staff can converse in English.
There is this particular section where I have to mention about the owner of this hotel –Mr. Baek & Mrs Jung.
We were caught by surprised when Mr. Baek & Mrs. Jung offered to upgrade our room from a Queen to King size bed so we will have more bed space with our 2 year old child.
The following day, we shared our literary with Mrs Jung and she offered to drive us to Lotte World. We felt so bad that she cancelled her appointment to give us a ride. On top of that, she managed to get for us a super good Lotte World discount!
To Mr. Baek & Mrs Jung,
Thanks you for inviting us for dinner. It’s a pity that we could not make it. You showed us your hospitability by preparing a fruits platter for us and even had to trouble Mrs Jung for bringing the laundry up to our room.
Thanks to Mr.Baek for driving us to the airport bus pickup point.
We have been to many hotels but never have we experience such kindness and home feeling. We were treated more like family members rather than normal guests in this hotel. Thumbs up. Will definitely stay at Hotel Icon when I visit Seoul again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IconSeoul, Owner at Hotel Icon, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Terrence

Thank you very much for your kind and wonderful comments with the deep interest.
We are extremely happy to read that you had a wonderful time with us.
I am sure that your valuable feedback will encourage all of our staffs to further develop our service.
We will continue to provide most warm, caring and personalized service at all times.
Once again thank you very much for choosing the Hotel Icon and taking the time to leave a warm review. I hope your previous stay and experience will bring you back to our hotel.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
Best regards,
Hotel Icon / C.E.O. Eun-Gyo Jung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The room tends to be more spacious than average Asian hotels. The hotel is kind of in a hidden area but just follow the direction provided by the hotel website and you'll have no problem finding it. There are at least 3 convenient stores nearby. The location is within a 2 minute walk to Insadong, where you'll find traditional Korean culture and crafts. The bed was a bit too hard for us; however, we still slept good due to walking many kilometers a day. The owner invited us to dinner the day before we checked out but our evening was occupied. It was unfortunate that we didn't get a chance to meet the owner. There is complimentary breakfast in the basement serving coffee, tea, cup noodles, toast and muffins. Don't forget to try their hanboks and check out the beautiful garden roof top.

Going to Hotel Icon from Icheon Airport was easy. 8000 Won to take the airport express train to Seoul station then 1750 Won to Jongro 3 ga station (you get 500 Won back when you return the transportation card). Duration from airport to hotel is approx 1 hour and 15 min

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IconSeoul, Owner at Hotel Icon, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Amanda

We very much appreciate your valuable comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Icon
We will continue to provide most warm, caring and personalized service at all times.
We would like to deeply thank you for staying with us.
We will do our best to make sure that your next visit will be much more pleasant than the previous one.
It would be appreciated if you could kindly give us another opportunity to welcome you again in the future, and we will ensure to take great care of you.

Best regards,
Hotel Icon / C.E.O. Eun-Gyo Jung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

- Stayed 5 nights there, love the place! Hotel is short walk to the metro station, Insadong street area and super near to both palaces (5mins from secret garden). Everything is accessible here.
- Rooms are super clean, albeit the bathrooms are smaller than we expected. Wifi there is super fast, we have 3 users streaming movies at the same time and it didn't affect it at all.
- The staff and owners were very friendly to us throughout the whole time, even offered us a ride in her car to the palace and showed us where all the attractions were.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenjaminScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IconSeoul, Owner at Hotel Icon, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Benjamin

Thank you very much for staying with us at Hotel Icon.
I am extremely glad to hear that you had nice staying with us
We strive to achieve the highest level of quality services and experiences and will continually put forth our best endeavor to provide exceptional experiences to our guests.
We appreciate you attaching great importance to good location.
Thank you again for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor.
We are looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Hotel Icon / C.E.O. Eun-Gyo Jung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had mixed feelings about our stay here. It is definitely a budget location, with a very good price for a night or two, but you get what you pay for.

Once we had found hotel which is a little hard to find and in a slightly run down area, we saw that next door is a building site where they are building a new block very close to the hotel so we had to navigate around the workmen.

There wasn't really a welcome from the guy behind the desk and he wasn't very helpful.

The room was OK, a bit sterile, with old furniture, harsh lighting, hard beds and a wet room. All a bit dreary really.

It was noisy at night with people coming and going and noise from upstairs.

We went for breakfast on a first morning and everything was empty and the staff were just chatting in the kitchen.

We were a bit despondent but then we met the owners who came to say hello and were very nice and helpful, offering to do some washing for us, so we didn't have to spend lots of money at the local laundry. This went some way to make up for our view of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IconSeoul, Owner at Hotel Icon, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear James Owen

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Icon.
First of all, please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay.
Over 50% of our guests are Japanese.
Our front desk staff can speak Japanese fluently ,but English is a little bit limited.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
It is said that hard bed is goof for backbone.But we will prepare soft pad for the guest who like soft bed like you
I will get my staff trained not to chat in the kichen.
And I will have staff training continuosly to provide our guests with great service by showing proactive attitude.
We will more put our efforts to improve those problems.
I extend the very best wishes and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Hotel Icon / C.E.O. Eun-Gyo Jung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
HOTEL GS
HOTEL GS
#79 of 474 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Doulos Hotel
Doulos Hotel
#85 of 474 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
AMASS Hotel
AMASS Hotel
#115 of 474 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Makers Hotel
#45 of 474 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Nafore
Hotel Nafore
#68 of 474 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Icon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Icon

Property: Hotel Icon
Address: 20, Samil-daero 32ga-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 474 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Icon 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Icon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing