We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Seoul
from US$11.00
More Info
from US$8.00
More Info
from US$15.00
More Info
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
3
7
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
7
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

As others have said tricky to find. Use google earth to help and zoom right in to pinpoint it. IBK is a big building to look for! It also has ‘the tea company’ with ‘beautiful tea room’ in smaller letters underneath. It is in Insadong-gil, road 19, house 11.

The tea choice is brilliant and the waitress pours your water, strains into another jug and pours - so not really a ceremony.

Couldn’t see anywhere to tell me the difference about Chinese v Japanese v Korean tea ceremonies as per web details.

Was very pretty and the tea was delicious- we tried blossom and chrysanthemum, both wonderful.

Visit as a lovely little tea shop with good displays of tea/crockery - both available to buy. Not a museum though so if you are going out if your way to visit you might be disappointed.

Quality of tea was excellent hence 4 rating.

Thank Believe_It
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

We had a fantastic traditional tea experience at this place like never before. The tea comes in a tiny carefully presented tea set and lasts for 5 cups, tasting really extraordinary.
The name of the place is a bit misleading - we expected a little museum but it's more a tea room & shop where you can buy teas and ceramics. Also the signs were not so visible so that we almost passed it without noticing. I highly recommend to stop by for a cup of traditional tea!

1  Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

Although the museum is small and not much. Experiencing different teas is worth it! The presentation and atmosphere is beautiful. It is a little hidden off of Insadong, so make sure to bring a map!

Thank TravelingSarah35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016

While we had halfway planned to this place, oddly we happened across it by accident while wandering down an alleyway in Insadong. It is a quaint place that considers itself a steward of the tea-brewing and tea-drinking tradition. You can probably spend 10 minutes tops looking at the beautiful displays of tea, but there isn't a ton of information printed. Wander through, then drink a cup of the most expensive tea you will ever drink. Steep yourself in the tradition of Korean tea drinking, and make the most of this quiet, lovely little tea house.

Thank MichaltheGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

Great little find for a brew.

Price 6krw and up. English menu plus description of use or assumed ailment cures for your tea of choice.

Thank Phuzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2015 via mobile

I thought it was a museum so i went there in a side street in insadong and took some effort to find the place where I found that it is a tea house with a collection of porcalain and they sell different kind of teas with prices on the high side . I bought some teas as gifts but did not have any in the tea house althought it seems very peacful and staff are friendly. You can buy some of the tea cups they sell they look nice but I was going on a long walk and could not handle extra weight.

2  Thank Suad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015

Nice museum and finally a location in Seoul not inundated with coffee houses. Passionate about artisan teas the variety was descent, though the prices of teas quite expensive. The Jakseol green tea was incredibly delicate as well as sweet and very smooth to the palate.

Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2015 via mobile

I'm not a big tea person, but my boyfriend convinced me to try this place, and they had a super tasty Apricot Iced Tea that was fantastic! :)
This place is also great to rest and take a brief respite while shopping in Insadong. Lovely atmosphere, although, as another reviewer has said, not that much of a museum :p

1  Thank Mindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The shop/museum is quite neat as it is as the end of a side-street in Insa-dong. The tea selection was quite good and there is a nice quiet cafe to sit and enjoy the diversity of selection. I don't quite understand the museum aspect but I would go there if you want some great local, loose-leaf tea and a quite spot in hectic Insa-dong to get away and relax.

1  Thank Shelliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Welcomed break from the crowds of Insadong, great for chilling out after a long day of shopping and sight seeing.

Teas are exotic but expensive...

1  Thank CTYY
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews