We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guesthouse The Hill
Ranked #22 of 932 Seoul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed 6 nights in a Family Room. The owner Mr. Baek greeted us right at the door step when we arrived & rushed down to help my wife pushed her luggage up the slope, and also carried it up to the 3rd floor where our room was. He is always helpful & polite, and speaks very good english. He is a good sorce to give recommendation of where to eat & visit.

The room size is sufficient for the 4 of us (with 2 kids), the TV has many channel options (english/korean), and toiletries are provided (towels/shampoo/bathgel/conditioner/toothpaste). Simple breakfast of bread/jam/butter/cheesespread/egg/juice/coffee is provided (which is good enough for us). Location of guesthouse is superb since it is close to Myeongdong Shopping paradise & subway.

We enjoyed our stay here!

Direction from Incheon-Airport by subway:
Take Airport Railroad line to Gongdeok, at Gongdeok change to Line6 to go to Samgakji, at Samgakji change to Line4 to reach Myeongdong. This route has a lot of staircase to climb/decent in-between changing of lines, if you are carrying a heavy luggage, suggest you purchase separate tickets & transfer thru Seoul station where there is more escalators:
Take Airport Railroad line to Seoul station. Get out of station, go thru the huge Seoul station, as the Line4 is at the other end. Purchase ticket, get on Line4 from Seoul to Myeongdong.

Exit Myeongdong station thru exit3. Turn left & walk towards Pacific Hotel. At the folk road of Pacific Hotel, take the left & continue walk up until you see Mini-Stop convience shop on your right. Turn right and walk up the road, and Guesthouse The Hill will be on your left.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikelin70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    33
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
27
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights after getting recommendation from a friend and his wife.

For a local, Mr Baek can actually converse in English pretty well so it's definitely a plus point for foreigners like us who can't understand their language. He's very welcoming, helpful and attentive. We were surprised when we saw our luggage already back in the room when we checked in again after our Jeju trip and were definitely impressed to find that Mr Baek actually remembered our request for two blankets! He bought us dinner as an appreciation for staying many nights and also drove us to the nearest stop for airport limousine bus when our luggage got too heavy for us to handle. He's probably the most helpful and friendly guesthouse owner we've ever met.

No doubt the rooms were small, but we had pretty good sleep everyday due to the comfortable bed and blanket, which was really soft and good at keeping warmth.
Room came with basic necessities like medium sized towels, shampoo and soap, toothpaste (toothbrush not provide though), hair dryer and clothes hanger. Water dispenser's available at the common area on ground floor. Toilet was small but clean. Strong WiFi signal was available 24/7 at each floor. There's no daily room make up service available but that was not an issue for us.

As mentioned by many, the guesthouse is literally on "the hill" so be prepared to walk up a slightly steep slope. It took us 2 - 3 minutes to walk from the guesthouse to Myeongdong subway exit 3 (which is the nearest to the guesthouse) and along the way you will pass by a few eating places, including the forever delicious smelling Twotwo fried chicken and A Twosome Place cafe with the handsome So Ji Sub poster. Myeongdong shopping district is just across the road from exit 3, that's HOW NEAR it is!!! We loved the location despite the slope, we took it as a form of exercise after all the good food~

Overall experience was a really good one and we will definitely come back again.

Room Tip: The room on top floor is relatively bigger than the rest but it got bothersome that we have to climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wenxiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed in the room for 5 nights. The owner Mr. Kidae & family have been very kind and helpful! The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Location are perfect as it is very near from Myeongdong metro station. There are also a few restaurants and convenient stores nearby. However this place is quite hard for taxi driver to find therefore I suggest if you are taking taxi back to the guesthouse, please take a name card of the guesthouse and show it to the taxi driver. Overall it has been a pleasant stay in Guesthouse The Hill. I will strongly recommend all to stay in this guesthouse!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liyeen1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

First of all this gusethouse's location is really good! Close to the Myeong Dong that you can shopping later don't worry about the way back. Also its close to the Nansam Tower which is one of typical buildings in Seoul.
And the boss is good at english that helped us a lots.
It was very comfortable for my famliy to stay at the triple room better than the big hotels.
I will choose this guesthouse again when I come the seoul next time! I would recommend this guesthouse to my friend,too.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are quieter and bathroom is bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaoxinlei0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed in the triple room for 3 nights. It was a comfortable stay and Mr. Kidae was very friendly and helpful. The rooms and toilet are very clean. The location of the guesthouse is perfect, just 5 minutes walk from Myeongdong subway station and from the shopping streets. There are a few convenient stores nearby if you need anything. The neighbourhood area is very quiet and rather dark at night, but the area seems to be very safe.

We took a taxi from Seoul Station to the guesthouse and it took some time for the taxi driver to find the place. I would suggest if you are planning to go there by taxi, remember to jot down Mr Kidae's phone number and the address of the guesthouse (preferably in korean language because some taxi drivers can't read English)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JY_Wong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

The location of the guest house is centrally located in the shopping area, Myeong Dong. Its about 7mins walk from the train station. And easy access to airport (with airport shuttle bus/ airport train). However, do take note that it is located on top of a hill. So u might need to exercise abit. Other than that, everything is amazing. There are many local restaurants and cafes between the train station to the guest house, dont worry if you get hungry.

Our flight arrived around 2230hrs. So by the time we reached Myeongdong station, it was quite late and dark. But i felt safe in that neighbourhood. It might be abit challenging to find the place for the first time especially if you are holding on to a big heavy luggage. But just follow the instruction indicated on the map/ website. Go up the slope with the italian pizza place on your right and also a mini mart on your left. There is a small road uphill in between these two shops. Go up and walk for about 4 mins and you will then see the guesthouse on the left.

The rooms are very clean, equipped with clean towels, bedsheets and basic toiletries. The rooms are newly furnished as well. Most importantly, the owner, Kidae is a very nice and friendly. He is able to give us plenty of good tips.

For most of us who will shop alot in seoul, i will suggest you to take the airport limo bus infront of Sejong hotel. This will save you alot of hassle from interchanging at the train stations to the airport. Overall, highly recommend you to stay at Guesthouse The Hill. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank socialitebutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is my first trip to Seoul, Korea with my family. We had a problem in finding this guesthouse but we are lucky to have a korean friend who fetch us up from airport and sent us to the guesthouse. The guesthouse is very near to Namsan Tower and up the hill as it was named this "Guesthouse The Hill".

The location is superb and very near to Myeondong subway station which is very convenient to travel anywhere in Seoul. The owner, Mr. Kidae is a very helpful and kind person and he can speak english very well. We are happy during our stay for 5 nights and the room is very clean. Breakfast is provided but have to make our own. (Simple breakfast.. bread,butter and jam, orange juice and coffee/tea are provided). Cooking utensils and microwave oven are extra points for cooking. Nearby guesthouse there are many food restaurants and has GS25/ministop (convenient shop) as well. Overall, we have a very pleasant stay here and we will come back for sure..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Bodeum Guest House
#42 of 932 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
YE'4 Guesthouse
#31 of 932 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Wooju House
#21 of 932 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zaza Backpackers Hostel
#32 of 932 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Hongdae
Come Inn Guesthouse
Come Inn Guesthouse
#1 of 932 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Hongdae
Duriworld House
Duriworld House
#23 of 932 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse The Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse The Hill

Property: Guesthouse The Hill
Address: 31, Toegye-ro 20na-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 04630, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 932 B&Bs / Inns in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Guesthouse The Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse the hill is a brand new guesthouse and closely located to the various tour attractions of Seoul, making it one of the best accommodations to stay in, for both shoppers and travelers. Attractions such as Myeongdong,Namdaemun market and N-Seoul Tower are all within walking distance. Guesthouse the hill offers a claen,comfortable and high quality stay at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guesthouse The Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing