We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Guesthouse The Hill
Ranked #28 of 959 Seoul B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I travelled with a group of friends to Seoul onJune 2014. We were recommended to stay at Guesthouse The Hill by a friend. I will definitely introduced this place for those who are visiting Seoul because :

#1 The owner, Mr Baek is a really nice person. He was not only fluent in English, he was also helpful in many things such as teaching us how to use the washing machine, getting us a transport to the airport and also treat us some delicious seafood pancake.

#2 The place is really clean and equipped with toaster and pan for breakfast.

#3 Everyone in the guesthouse is very friendly including Mr. Baek parents.

#4 Mr Baek even introduced us to good eating places and gave us tips on travelling in Seoul.

#5 Good location : few mins walk to Myeongdong and subway station. There were also some convenient stores located along the way to the station.

Despite the need to climb a slope before reaching the guesthouse, we had no regrets in staying at the place. Would definitely comeback when I visit Seoul the next time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pineapplegang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

We Stay for 4nights at Guesthouse the Hill during our trip to Seoul on April 2014.
I choose Guesthouse the hill as the deal is good and the good feedback from travelers at TripAdvisor.
I would say this is a very nice guesthouse to stay which you will feel like staying at home with the value that we paid.
Everything are so convenience 5 mins walk to Myeongdong Station and surrounded by eateries and cafe.
The owner - Kidae are very friendly, helpful and fluent in English.
I stay in the top floor room ( do note that if u have big luagage and u will find a little bit difficult to carry up, so do let the owner know that u might birng a big luagage and try to arrange for rooms at lower floor.
The Space for bed and bathroom consider spacious (if compare to other guesthouse in this city). Most important is VERY clean.
Guest House the Hill provided simple breakfast, this is good enough for us to start our days in Seoul.
Free Wifi at room and common area.
If you prefer a guesthouse away from the noise and crowded yet very convenience, definitely Guesthouse The Hill is the choice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SweeTat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Given that this is my husband and I's 2nd stay with Guesthouse the Hill, there is no doubts on our satisfaction with Guesthouse the Hill. The next time we visit Seoul, we will definitely be staying with Guesthouse the Hill still.

Below are the reasons why Guesthouse the Hill is attractive to us.

Firstly, the owner, Kidae, is really nice and helpful. He is able to converse in fluent English, help make booking/reservations to attractions and gives good recommendations on eating places.

Next, the location is great with many eateries nearby that you are spoiled for choices. Not to mention that it is within 5-10mins walk to the metro station and buzzing area of Myeongdong.

Now, with the above plus clean and cosy rooms, the room rates offered are super competitive and attractive. So what's more is there to say.

The service is perfect, the rooms are good, location cannot be any better and comes at a great price. So why would you choose anywhere else?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsChen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

All the reviews made about this place is very true! The place is very cozy. The owner, his father, and mother are very accommodating. U can do all ur kitchen stuff here. Cook brekky, lunch and dinner anytime. This is truly a great place away from home. I will truly recommend this place to my friends and when i plan to come back i will surely stay here for the second time. No regrets! Its all worth it.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Yoyo1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed May 6-14, 2014..Best guesr house I have ever stayed in..Owner will help you with everythins, speaks good english, went out of his way to amke you at home..5 minute walk to local restaurant, great shopping..10 minute walk to big must see market , 15 minute walk to Seoul train station for all over the country..It is a little difficult to find..Behind The wll know Pacific hotel that taxia will know3 minute walk..it is up a steep hill, but then you get a nice downhill walk to spots mentioned above. Great view of huge Seoul Tower.Ralph Gebhard

Room Tip: Room has nice new tv. is small but only sept there..nice mattress on wood platform(there is suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rgebhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

I and my husband spent 6 nights there. The owner Mr. Baek was very helpful. Although the room us a bit small, it is clean, cozy and comfortable. The most important is ...Mr. Baek speaks good English and he is very willing to offer help once we are in need. This is such a great place for budget travellers.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peggy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stay in this guesthouse for 2 nights.

Owner is able to speak fluent English and he help me to locate my hotel in Gangnam on my last day of my stayed there.

A conducive guesthouse with a nice security guard to watch over the night with CCTV installation.

Best place for late night shoppers who plan to shop till all stores closes in Myeong Dong.

Provide necessarily kitchen utilities to cook if you plan to cook your home cook meal for breakfast.

(Oven, Microwave, electric cooker, Toaster)

Room and toilets was well maintain.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celsiustan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
YE'4 Guesthouse
#47 of 959 in Seoul
30 reviews
Wooju House
#24 of 959 in Seoul
38 reviews
Big John's Place
#45 of 959 in Seoul
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hongdae
Mr. Comma Guesthouse
Mr. Comma Guesthouse
#16 of 959 in Seoul
100 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
STEP INN Myeongdong 1
STEP INN Myeongdong 1
#11 of 959 in Seoul
126 reviews
Sinchon / Ewha
Chocolate Tree
Chocolate Tree
#13 of 959 in Seoul
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse The Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse The Hill

Address: 31, Toegye-ro 20na-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 04630, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 959 B&Bs / Inns in Seoul
Price Range: £30 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Guesthouse The Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse the hill is a brand new guesthouse and closely located to the various tour attractions of Seoul, making it one of the best accommodations to stay in, for both shoppers and travelers. Attractions such as Myeongdong,Namdaemun market and N-Seoul Tower are all within walking distance. Guesthouse the hill offers a claen,comfortable and high quality stay at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Guesthouse The Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing