We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art Seoul
Save
Seoul Private Tours by Locals: 100% Personalized, See the City Unscripted
3

Book in advance
from
£158.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art Seoul
from £158.00
More Info
from £93.27
More Info
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
114
99
30
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
114
99
30
5
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2016

The repurposed ship's hull at the entrance is intriguing and inviting, and the gift shops full of well-designed traditional and modern goods are good hunting ground for souvenirs. But check the current exhibitions carefully before paying to see inside. There is no standing collection and when we went the temporary exhibitions were extremely sparse and underwhelming - just one work worth seeing, and room after corridor after atrium of empty space.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank underw00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2016

This big impressive looking complex is located opposite Gyongbokgung Palace, around the corner from the main entrance. It seems to be a big white empty space without much in it. We wandered around looking for exhibits but it seemed that most of the galleries were closed so perhaps they were in the process of changing. Found it difficult to navigate and to work out where to go (even with the map).
We saw a huge installation, by a german artist, of 4 shipping containers frames with fountains coming out that spelled random words (very interesting), a room full of balls of clay on a table and a young architects exhibit (mildly interesting), a few sculptures outside and that was about it. Just had a coffee and moved on.
Plenty of Koreans there with kids running around. probably just enjoying the airconditioning.

Date of experience: August 2016
2  Thank Globerwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

More than a museum this place looks like a big art gallery. If you like contemporary art, you will find beautiful and stunning works. 1.5 hours to see it all. Cafe for food on site. Open from 10-6pm (tickets will stop selling 1 hour before closing time - Wednesday closing time is after 6pm and admission is free every last Wednesday of the month). 500m walk from Anguk Station Line 3 exit 1. Closed mondays.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank rafaelsZ5696HX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 August 2016

You never know what to expect with a contemporary art museum. It seems like each one I visit around the world exhibits something completely different from each other one. It's the uniqueness of a museum that makes it stand out from the predictable.
There's only two floors to this museum, and it only took an hour to see it all, but I found it to be quite addictive. Rather than spoil it, I'd recommend people just check it out for themselves.

The pieces that stood out for me were photos that artists took by examining children's drawings made with crayons and turning them into real-life photographed copies down to each tiny detail to reflect the original drawing, not to mention the fact it was so bizarre and adorable it made me laugh in amazement. I'd never seen anything like it in my life.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank jebskulker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 July 2016

This museum opened in 2013 and is a major asset to Seoul and fits well in to the cultural atmosphere of the Bukchon area.

The building complex is large and very easy to find with the entrance opposite the palace.

Most of the gallery space is under ground but is large well lit and easy to navigate.

The exhibits had ample English to explain their context.

With an entrance fee of 400 won this is very good value.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank Stewart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews